• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Houston, We have A Problem (memory speed)

Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.20/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#26
maybe the timings were incompatible, i always add more voltage on every component just increases stability at higher clocks

congrats on getting it stable :rockout:
Kind of, lol

Those timings are not ideal for 1600Mhz RAM.

I wonder if I screwed something up on the board itself or the CPU?

For the life of me I CANNOT get anything over 1600 without blue screen or not starting up at all. :confused:

Anyway, this is going back to Microcenter for an exchange for another board and CPU.

Heck, maybe I will trade up and get the 6300? :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.20/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#27
Okay here is an update :)

Could NOT...no matter what I did take the RAM over 1600Mhz.

Took the Motherboard, RAM and CPU back to Microcenter and exchanged for the same parts, except the CPU.

For $20 difference I got the FX 6300 Vishera and so far so good :)
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
959
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#28
I've got the same motherboard and it sucks. I'm on my second one after having the first one repaired already.

Tonight, I just noticed that my memory was running single channel. I had to fiddle around with it for about an hour to get my dual channel back.

Never again will I buy an asrock board
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.20/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#29
I've got the same motherboard and it sucks. I'm on my second one after having the first one repaired already.

Tonight, I just noticed that my memory was running single channel. I had to fiddle around with it for about an hour to get my dual channel back.

Never again will I buy an asrock board
What did you do to get the Dual Channel back?
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
959
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#30
What did you do to get the Dual Channel back?
First, I up-dated the bios which didn't help the problem. Then, I basically just tried different combinations till it worked. I'm running the same combination I had when it was in single channel but it recognized it as dual finally.

I've had the same problem that you were having with the memory with 2 Asrock boards. At a certain points the memory just won't overclock no matter what you do. They have very weak memory controllers I think.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#31
i noticed this on my board too. dont use XMPs turn that off from the bios. instead use the speed selector right below it. that should work.

the bios options are a bit iffy if you ask me. all the things you said have happened to me too,

here is the current OC i am running at.
anymore and it switches to single channel with 4GB.

hosshuge they asrock cant have poor memory controllers, as that is in the CPU itself. unlike intel.


lazzermonkey, try using the asrock tuneup utility thingy, it seems to be better at making stable clocks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
959
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#32
FUCK. Now my motherboard is being a bitch again..........:mad:
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#33
lolwut.
i have a friend with the 970 extreme 4. he hasnt had any issues.