• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How acurate are LCD displays with thermal probes

marlin1856

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor P4 775 3.0 @ 3.63
Motherboard 8IPE775-G
Cooling Arctic freezer pro
Memory 2x512 GEIL
Video Card(s) x850xt agp
Storage 2x 120 sata
Display(s) 19" BENQ
Case 1 with the lot
Power Supply 430w TR2
Software XPpro SP2
#1
As my vid card has no temp moitoring feature I am forced to use an LCD display with temp probes. I have slid 2 probes under the VF900cu (1 either side) hard up to the gpu but not obstructing the HSF GPU contact at all. This gives me an idle temp of 23 and full load of 42, can any one please tell me how close this temp would be to actual core temp.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#2
check what your temps are in the overdrive section of the catalyst drivers, and see how far off you are...... your temp probes probably arent 100% accurate, but at least it will give you a good idea.
 

W2hCYK

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
907 (0.21/day)
Likes
96
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard P5WDG2-WS Pro, need new chipset cooler.
Cooling Dangerden TDX-775
Memory OCZ 2gb PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM 4-5-4-15
Video Card(s) X850XTPE 256mb @ 585/640
Storage 2x 250gb Perpendicular SATA3.0, 2x Maxtor DiamondMax10 160gb SATA-150 drives
Display(s) Sceptre 19" 8ms LCD
Case Lian-Li PC-65
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700w 18a 12v, Quad Rail
Software Windows XP SP2
#3
As my vid card has no temp moitoring feature...
He has no built in temp monitor for catalyst to detect.

I'd say the probes are fairly accurate. They should be detecting it very close to 100% if mounted properly. Put them on the core's corners to get the most accurate temp without losing thermal transfer capability.
 

marlin1856

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor P4 775 3.0 @ 3.63
Motherboard 8IPE775-G
Cooling Arctic freezer pro
Memory 2x512 GEIL
Video Card(s) x850xt agp
Storage 2x 120 sata
Display(s) 19" BENQ
Case 1 with the lot
Power Supply 430w TR2
Software XPpro SP2
#4
Thanks for the replys, yes your right, my vid card has no LM63 temp mon kit onboard (Xpertvision cost cutting) but i will try to get the probes even closer to the corners of the core. Again thanks for the advice.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#5
hey ... just a thought...although i have no experience or knowledge of probes

if you wanted to work out their accuracy why wouldnt you get a household thermometer (a mercury one) and stick it in a glass of water. When you get a stable temperature reading, stick your probes in there and look at the difference in readings?

or would this damage the probes?
 

marlin1856

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor P4 775 3.0 @ 3.63
Motherboard 8IPE775-G
Cooling Arctic freezer pro
Memory 2x512 GEIL
Video Card(s) x850xt agp
Storage 2x 120 sata
Display(s) 19" BENQ
Case 1 with the lot
Power Supply 430w TR2
Software XPpro SP2
#6
Thats a good idea, thanks but its not the accuracy of the sensor i need, its the temp difference between the probe and the actual core temp or at least as close a guess as i can get eg.5,10,15 deg difference then i can add it to the probes temp and i should have a reasonably close reading.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#7
hmm
if your heatsink was 100% effective at transferring heat (from core to the air via fan) then you would have no problems as you could mount the probe through contact with the heatsink.

But im guessing no heatsink is anywhere near 100% (imagine how expensive...) so you might have to make do with the reading you have now. If the probe is touching your heat sink or the base of the core i cant see why your reading would be far off. But there it probably still be at least 5 degrees off the actual temperature (with an accurate probe).

I dont know how far off youd be if your probe is cheaper.

The X850 is a good card, ive got a x800 pro and i have temperature readings on my card :S
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,927 (1.35/day)
Likes
820
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#8
the probes are fairly accurate.. but unless u mount it at exactly the same spot the card sensor is the reading isnt gonna mean much..

quite what bit of a card gets measured i dont know.. i can guess buts that all it would be a guess..

trog
 

W2hCYK

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
907 (0.21/day)
Likes
96
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard P5WDG2-WS Pro, need new chipset cooler.
Cooling Dangerden TDX-775
Memory OCZ 2gb PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM 4-5-4-15
Video Card(s) X850XTPE 256mb @ 585/640
Storage 2x 250gb Perpendicular SATA3.0, 2x Maxtor DiamondMax10 160gb SATA-150 drives
Display(s) Sceptre 19" 8ms LCD
Case Lian-Li PC-65
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700w 18a 12v, Quad Rail
Software Windows XP SP2
#9
in extreme cases, i've seen people use thermal epoxy and a file, etch out a groove in the heatsink, place the probe in it, 'cement' the probe into the groove, and lap it smooth after it hardens. This will help you get near 100% readings. maybe it will be 1 or 2 degrees off.

If you feel like doing that, i'd recommend doing it on a practice heatsink first, with a practice "Probe" such as a regular piece of wire or something. Maybe give this process a shot.
 

marlin1856

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor P4 775 3.0 @ 3.63
Motherboard 8IPE775-G
Cooling Arctic freezer pro
Memory 2x512 GEIL
Video Card(s) x850xt agp
Storage 2x 120 sata
Display(s) 19" BENQ
Case 1 with the lot
Power Supply 430w TR2
Software XPpro SP2
#10
Thats a cool idea, sounds like i may need to tinker a little bit more but i don't want to have to hack into my new VF900 unless its going to work but thanks to all for your input.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#11
Thats a cool idea, sounds like i may need to tinker a little bit more but i don't want to have to hack into my new VF900 unless its going to work but thanks to all for your input.
shizer
i wouldnt even think of touching my mobo, especially not with something sharp :p....
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
564 (0.14/day)
Likes
97
Location
QLD, Australia
Processor i7 7820X (undervolted)
Motherboard MSI X299M Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory Corsair Vengance 3400MHz (4 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 500GB + Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) AOC U3277PWQU 32in 4K
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX TG
Audio Device(s) Onboard - SPDIF Out - Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850i 850W
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB Cherry MX Silent
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#12
I currently use a Cooldrive 6 with provided thermal probes (RTD's). By nature, as the temperature increases the resistance output decreases and vise versa, so unless the probe tip or lead has sustained any mechanical damage the only inaccuracy reading obtained will be a result of the monitoring device itself. The calibration of accuracy can and will almost change over time also. To be sure I advise to compare the readings of your probe against a known temperature and at the end of the day you are only after an indication, there will always be a tolerence of accuracy.
 

marlin1856

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor P4 775 3.0 @ 3.63
Motherboard 8IPE775-G
Cooling Arctic freezer pro
Memory 2x512 GEIL
Video Card(s) x850xt agp
Storage 2x 120 sata
Display(s) 19" BENQ
Case 1 with the lot
Power Supply 430w TR2
Software XPpro SP2
#13
That all makes perfect sense, I did not think of it in that way so thanks I will take your advice on board and try to calibrate the probe with a known temp and run with that,Cheers.