• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How am I doing so far?

Hermskii

Today I got an Sapphire ATI Radeon X800 GTO 256mb DDR3 AGP video card to replace an old G-Force ti4200 AGP 128mb DDR video card. I am a total newb when it comes to ATI so please assist me.

My system is a XP2600 on a EPoX 8K3A+ mobo with 1gb PC2700 ram at 2-2-2. I installed the new video card after uninstalling the Nvidia drivers and shutting down the PC. I put in the new card and used the driver CD that came with the new video card to install it so now I have ATI Catalyst drivers version 5.8 on my computer.

I installed the Trixx overclocker utility that came on the driver CD and have also downloaded and installed ATI-Tool ver 0.24. The ATI-Tool says that I have the R430 core on this card. It also says that 16 pipes are active. I then ran the Trixx program and told it to give me my max core and mem settings. It came back with the following results:

Mem Clock = 507
VPU Clock = 399

As you can see, these settings didn't change much from the stock settings of 490/400. My scores in benchmarking programs have all more than doubled which is great. Here come my questions:

Is the R430 core the good one for this model card?
Shouldn't this overclock more than it did?
Will newer Catalyst drivers improve the overclock at all or is overclocking strictly on the physical layer?
I hear arguments abouts more pipes being better than higher clock speeds. Is that true?

In short, should I be happy with what I have so far? What would you do if you were me? Thanks!

i_am_mustang_man

Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
welcome welcome welcome!