1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How are Intel motherboards?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ShadowFold, May 19, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I was thinking of using stock intel boards(like this one) for HTPC or Internet builds. Thanks :toast:
     
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,872 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,671
    Location:
    Ohio
    it's the chipset not the board that matters in most cases
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  3. Dr. Spankenstein

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    I've found them to be EXTREMELY solid and stable. Not great clockers, but for your application I think it would be perfect.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,239 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I agree with spanky. They're definitely not for OCing, but they're not crap that's gonna die on ya.
     
    ShadowFold and Dr. Spankenstein say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yeah intel made boards are stable abovve all else. performance is often lower due to a few things, the only concern i would have is ram.

    If you use ram that requires custom timings (say the ram is 5-5-5-15 but SPD says 5-7-7-21, you're screwed for setting the timings manually in most cases) or ram that needs above stock voltage (1.8v for DDR2)

    Just got for plain old boring hardware and you will have no problems whatsoever.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Think DDR2-800 Kingston Value RAM would work? I know my pair pretty much works with every board ive ever had.
     
  7. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,239 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I don't see why not.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,890 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    they are good motherboards but they cost alot more.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    on the ram: its not that it wouldnt work, but those mobos tend to stick to whatever the SPD values say. So if you throw high performance ram in there (particularly ram that needs extra voltage) you wont get the full speed.

    Check your ram in CPU-Z - whatever is on the SPD tab, is what your ram will run at.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    yeah, the Kingston Value RAM will work. :)
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What about 5-5-5-5-18? Thats the timing on the set I was gonna use.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    if thats what the rams timing is on the SPD, yeah. if you had to manually change to that on another system, then no - it will stick with defaults.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,239 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    5-5-5-5-18 might be tough, but 5-5-5-18 should be fine ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ummmm? typos?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,239 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    He wants to run:
    5
    5
    5
    5
    18

    Unless he's referring to the two timings that are usually grouped, I was pointing out his oopsie.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Last edited: May 19, 2008
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I only trust a few brands and there arent any ones that I would get besides Foxconn and now Intel for the G3X series.
     
  18. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This is very true. Shadow, why an Intel board?
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    oh right there was a bonus 5 in there. didnt see that.

    Biostar have been getting a good reputation lately to be honest, so i'd at least consider it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Its not for me, kinda. Its for me and my mom. Im gonna use it as storage/server and my mom can use it when she wants. I want to go with a G3X board cause I dont think the 95X ones support the E2200 out of the box cause they are kinda old.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yeah reliable is a must there.

    Just so that you're aware, i had a storage system like that for a while - unless your mum is tech savvy, things could go bad. i had people deleting/cutting/over-writing all sorts of data, one day i lost 400GB because someone 'got confused' and formatted that instead of their 4GB flash drive.

    Just a friendly warning from someone who went that route.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    She knows enough to not delete my stuff. She just goes on the internet anyway and her HP is reallly slow.
     
  23. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I see you're using a DFI p35 board. Why not pick up a Blood Iron for $15 more than the Intel?
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Im reusing my old micro ATX case otherwise I would do that.
     
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Heres pretty much what I was gonna get.

    DVD
    Card(gonna be hooked up to a HDTV)
    PSU
    RAM(for me, it gets my old Kingston)
    Board
    Gonna use my old Western Dig. and E2200.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)