• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How bad is XP x64?

rakee18

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core2Duo E4400@3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q PRO
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Memory DDR2 2GB@800Mhz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7.10 250GB
Display(s) Dell E228WFP 22"
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair TX 650
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
#1
I have been using Vista x64 for 6 months but recently I switched to xp x86 and saw significant performance improvement in games like saints row 2, Gta 4. But I need all of my 8gb ram becasue I do some photo editing. So my question is should I move to xp x64 or is it too bad?
Here is my spec
E4400 3.1Ghz, 48701gb, 8gb ram.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.04/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#2
X64 is ok but I had a few compatibility problems but they should be gone now. I prefer x64 vista tbh its faster for me and more secure. One thing with x64 xp is you can't use your x86 key to install it.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3
I personally found it to be an unstable, un-enjoyable experience. I had a 4200+ X2, 4gb RAM, 7600GT/HD 3850 at the time and it was only last year so I don't think it would be any better honestly. But like DP said, Vista x64 is faster, more compatible and it's still supported with updates.
 

rakee18

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core2Duo E4400@3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q PRO
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Memory DDR2 2GB@800Mhz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7.10 250GB
Display(s) Dell E228WFP 22"
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair TX 650
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
#4
I personally found it to be an unstable, un-enjoyable experience. I had a 4200+ X2, 4gb RAM, 7600GT/HD 3850 at the time and it was only last year so I don't think it would be any better honestly. But like DP said, Vista x64 is faster, more compatible and it's still supported with updates.
For me games run faster on XP
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.04/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#5
For me games run faster on XP
Everyone has variable experiences but vista is faster than xp now. You could dual boot though with xp 86 and vista x64.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.92/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#7
If you can stand with DirectX 9.0c then switch to XP x64, but I think Vista is more stable and secure, even though I've been using XP x64 for 2 years now.
But everyone has their own opinions. And its been working fine for me since i first installed it.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.04/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#8
I think a dual boot with x64 vista and xp would be the best because then you can have both and shape them to your needs.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#9
There isn`t anything "really wrong" with xp 64. The only thing I dislike is having to go without some apps. I think you still can`t get Total copy for it and there are some others.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,794
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#10
I have been using Vista x64 for 6 months but recently I switched to xp x86 and saw significant performance improvement in games like saints row 2, Gta 4. But I need all of my 8gb ram becasue I do some photo editing. So my question is should I move to xp x64 or is it too bad?
Here is my spec
E4400 3.1Ghz, 48701gb, 8gb ram.
Only problem i have had with x64 were to installers not being made x64 compatible which in both times were changeable in Orca.

Tried Win 7 and Vista all though Vista is better much better now i like playing my games in x64 more. And that goes for both of the systems in my system details.

EDIT:

I personally found it to be an unstable, un-enjoyable experience. I had a 4200+ X2, 4gb RAM, 7600GT/HD 3850 at the time and it was only last year so I don't think it would be any better honestly. But like DP said, Vista x64 is faster, more compatible and it's still supported with updates.
XP x64 gets updates just as often as Vista.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.07/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#11
I used xp x64 for a couple months and I honestly had no problems at all with it. All of my hardware at the time worked fine with it and I didn't have any compatability issues. I just prefer Vista so thats why I am not using it right now.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.13/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#12
xp ftw
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
I used XP x64 for a quite a while, it's much better than XP x86, but Vista x64 with SP2 is much better than XP x64.

I'd never use XP x86 again...
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#14
I have XP x64 and the performance is great since it embraces memory over 4GB, compared to the 32-bit XP, and has better multi-tasking performance over processes. I did experience some compatibility issues however most of it can be solved by turning off the driver signing service as the OS can run 32-bit drivers using a 32-bit emulator. The performance is great though since I have been folding a lot ever since.

Drivers were found unstable at the start of the OS's life, however now there is barely any issues of it since drivers have been improving as well as updates.

However, it doesn't have SP3, so be careful when playing GTA4.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,794
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#15
I have XP x64 and the performance is great since it embraces memory over 4GB, compared to the 32-bit XP, and has better multi-tasking performance over processes. I did experience some compatibility issues however most of it can be solved by turning off the driver signing service as the OS can run 32-bit drivers using a 32-bit emulator. The performance is great though since I have been folding a lot ever since.

Drivers were found unstable at the start of the OS's life, however now there is barely any issues of it since drivers have been improving as well as updates.

However, it doesn't have SP3, so be careful when playing GTA4.
No problems here with GTA 4 :).
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,100 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,223
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#16
There are only three main issues with XP x64:
1) Driver Support - A lot of lowly manufacturers do not have XP x64 drivers. Just make sure to download drivers for all your devices prior to purchasing XP x64. If you can't find a driver for something, know that it is very unlikely for that device to function in XP x64.

2) Application Support - XP x64, like Vista x64, has zero support for 16-bit applications. If you have any old 16-bit games or programs, they will no longer function.

3) Installer Blacklisting - Some idiot installation developers have added operating system checks to the installers which blacklist any operating system not explicitly defined in the installer. Basically, that means the installer will refuse to install the software on XP x64 even though it works fine on XP x64. I know this is true for Beyond Good & Evil and XIII--the list is rather lengthy. You can work around this one by installing the application on a operating system that isn't black listed and then copy the files over to your XP x64 computer.


I have been using XP x64 since June 2005. Those are the only issues I have ever encountered. Other than that, it is practically the same as XP Pro.


Edit: GTA4 and Saints Row 2 run fine.

Server 2003/XP Professional x64 Edition service pack 2 is basically the same as service pack 3 on XP Home/XP Pro
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
There are only three main issues with XP x64:
1) Driver Support - A lot of lowly manufacturers do not have XP x64 drivers. Just make sure to download drivers for all your devices prior to purchasing XP x64. If you can't find a driver for something, know that it is very unlikely for that device to function in XP x64.

2) Application Support - XP x64, like Vista x64, has zero support for 16-bit applications. If you have any old 16-bit games or programs, they will no longer function.

3) Installer Blacklisting - Some idiot installation developers have added operating system checks to the installers which blacklist any operating system not explicitly defined in the installer. Basically, that means the installer will refuse to install the software on XP x64 even though it works fine on XP x64. I know this is true for Beyond Good & Evil and XIII--the list is rather lengthy. You can work around this one by installing the application on a operating system that isn't black listed and then copy the files over to your XP x64 computer.


I have been using XP x64 since June 2005. Those are the only issues I have ever encountered. Other than that, it is practically the same as XP Pro.


Edit: GTA4 and Saints Row 2 run fine.
1) I was using Vista drivers and manually installing them for my devices with now XP x64 specific drivers, worked a treat :)

3) Can also be got around by using Orca or one of the varying scripts that does it for you :)
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#18
So far the most dramatic compatibility problem is that I can't get Live Mail and Messenger :(, because I am on a 64-bit operating system.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
So far the most dramatic compatibility problem is that I can't get Live Mail and Messenger :(, because I am on a 64-bit operating system.
They work fine on Vista x64, but on XP x64 they don't because the installer program refuses to work on it, and this time Orca is of no help.

You have to find and download the separate installers (google). That's how I was doing it.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.01/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#20
sorry for my ignorance and askin a slightly of toppic question but what is xp x86? ive heard of x32 but not 64 or 86
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.23/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
sorry for my ignorance and askin a slightly of toppic question but what is xp x86? ive heard of x32 but not 64 or 86
32-bit is x86
64-bit is x64

:)
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,580 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,194
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#22
The only problem I faced in xp x64 was, for some reason there was no sound recording. No microphone, no "what u hear", no nothing. There was simply NO recording. I know for 100% certian that my microphone works, it was an oddity with xp x64. When I switched to Vista x64, my recording features worked again.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.01/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#23
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#24
x86 refers to the way intel used to make the chips (I think!) and means 32-bit.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,794
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#25
There are only three main issues with XP x64:
1) Driver Support - A lot of lowly manufacturers do not have XP x64 drivers. Just make sure to download drivers for all your devices prior to purchasing XP x64. If you can't find a driver for something, know that it is very unlikely for that device to function in XP x64.

2) Application Support - XP x64, like Vista x64, has zero support for 16-bit applications. If you have any old 16-bit games or programs, they will no longer function.

3) Installer Blacklisting - Some idiot installation developers have added operating system checks to the installers which blacklist any operating system not explicitly defined in the installer. Basically, that means the installer will refuse to install the software on XP x64 even though it works fine on XP x64. I know this is true for Beyond Good & Evil and XIII--the list is rather lengthy. You can work around this one by installing the application on a operating system that isn't black listed and then copy the files over to your XP x64 computer.


I have been using XP x64 since June 2005. Those are the only issues I have ever encountered. Other than that, it is practically the same as XP Pro.


Edit: GTA4 and Saints Row 2 run fine.

Server 2003/XP Professional x64 Edition service pack 2 is basically the same as service pack 3 on XP Home/XP Pro
I think XIII was one of my problem ones a long with Area 51 ( Which sucked ) in fact XIII was not all that either lol. But yes a simple ( ish) to modify the install or even look for one as some people put the modified installer on the net some times.

The only problem I faced in xp x64 was, for some reason there was no sound recording. No microphone, no "what u hear", no nothing. There was simply NO recording. I know for 100% certian that my microphone works, it was an oddity with xp x64. When I switched to Vista x64, my recording features worked again.
Thats weired lol. but is there not problems with vista and creative cards ?... When i could be bothered to use a Creative card ( only SB Live! ) i had no issue's in XP X64 and don't know about Visa as my onboard does a better job anyways.