• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can i bypass TDP on Gigabyte Gtx 970 G1 gaming?

Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Location
Athens
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI Z97A GAMING 7 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Cooling Swiftech H220-X 55.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler Custom Loop with EKWB fullcover Gpu block
Memory Kingston Savage 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 4GB WINDFORCE Video Card
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB ssd // Kingston Savage 240GB ssd //Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T 144Hz 24.0" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000G2 1000W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Mouse ROCCAT NYTH
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Trigger
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
I just setup my build and its time to overclock a bit!! I am not a veteran on that, i use guides and tutorials to do it. But i know that my GPU can go over 1600MHz boost clock. I use an Ek waterblock for the card and when i reach the limits of the allowable power from the manufacturer i get a drop on the boost clock , when the temp is just 58-63 celsius on full load!! My best stable result was 1337 MHz core clock /1524MHz boost clock, 8007 memory clock. How can i stop that think that dont allow me to give more voltages?

Thank you in advance.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
367 (0.07/day)
Location
Where the beer is good
System Name Karl Arsch v. u. z. Abgewischt
Processor i5 3770K @5GHz delided
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Professional
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 240
Memory 4x 4GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Samsung 830 - 512GB; 2x 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung T240 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Shinobie XL
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Cougar G600
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard CMStorm Ultimate QuickFire (CherryMX Brown)
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
via a Mod-BIOS

but pls - read up carefully on that topic before you brick your card.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,401 (4.99/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I assume you already upped the power limit in MSI Afterburner? I believe with the stock BIOS you allowed to up the power limit to 110%, beyond that you need to flash your BIOS to allow 125%. But honestly, you'll see no difference with an extra 75-100MHz it isn't worth it IMO.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Location
Athens
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI Z97A GAMING 7 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Cooling Swiftech H220-X 55.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler Custom Loop with EKWB fullcover Gpu block
Memory Kingston Savage 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 4GB WINDFORCE Video Card
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB ssd // Kingston Savage 240GB ssd //Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T 144Hz 24.0" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000G2 1000W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Mouse ROCCAT NYTH
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Trigger
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
I assume you already upped the power limit in MSI Afterburner? I believe with the stock BIOS you allowed to up the power limit to 110%, beyond that you need to flash your BIOS to allow 125%. But honestly, you'll see no difference with an extra 75-100MHz it isn't worth it IMO.
NIce where can i find the firmware to flash my bios??
The only thing i found was this one...
http://overclocking.guide/increase-the-nvidia-power-limit-all-cards/
That i must admit if i try it i am going to swim to deep waters.. :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,401 (4.99/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You have to dump your BIOS, modify it, and re-flash it. If you don't know how to do it, don't.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Location
Athens
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI Z97A GAMING 7 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Cooling Swiftech H220-X 55.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler Custom Loop with EKWB fullcover Gpu block
Memory Kingston Savage 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 4GB WINDFORCE Video Card
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB ssd // Kingston Savage 240GB ssd //Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T 144Hz 24.0" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000G2 1000W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Mouse ROCCAT NYTH
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Trigger
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Last edited by a moderator:

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
8,472 (2.12/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
No. Don't flash a BIOS from another model of card. OCN (that same site from the link) has some excellent guys and advice but be careful and if in doubt - don't bother! The problem is that you'll only get a few more fps from a diff BIOS and that will cause heat and noise issues. PLUS, if you mess with the BIOS and load too many amps (through current via voltage) you may damage your card. Unless you buy a specific card with a powerful voltage circuitry - stay away from BIOS flashing for increased performance.

The Lightning and Classified ranges from MSI and EVGA are better suited for this - as is water cooling.

My advice is to not bother - it is not worth it. FYI, both my cards have secondary bios switches and both are flashed but I game on the stock bios settings for normal use.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,971 (0.92/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 10 64-bit Core i7 6700
Processor Intel Core i7 6700
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Corsair AIO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Kingston DDR4 2666
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
No. Don't flash a BIOS from another model of card.
This million times. Use bios editor to tweak your own bios. Google nvidia bios editor maxwell.
 
Top