1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can I control Internet speed from DSL router?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by 7mm, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    113 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    INDIA
    Hi there, I have a ZXDSL 531B router from ZTE. I'm a network newbie here. Now here's the setup for the DSL router with 4 LAN ports, which all are connected to different PCs. And this happens to be the ONLY source of internet to all of us. Here's my needs, I want to control EACH LAN port speed, as it can be shared equally & not one stealing most / all bandwidth & rest left begging :banghead: . Every computer uses Windows 7. Please help!
     
  2. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    113 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    INDIA
    Ohh no, looks like I asked one of the toughest question in Networking section! Please, anyone can help me here?
     
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,224 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,552
    Location:
    Oregon
    You cant. It doesn't support bandwidth shaping. You would need a more expensive router or a router that supports DD-WRT firmware
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012
    7mm says thanks.
  4. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    113 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    INDIA
    Thank you "Jetster" for your reply :) . One more thing, How can I recognize this DD-WRT based device?
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,919 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    you know you dont need to have your stuff in bold. dd-wrt.com will have database of supported routers...
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012
  6. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    113 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    INDIA
    Thanx "eidairaman1" for the tip on WRT device. Like to ask you a question here, Is every Cisco Linksys router supports WRT OR just selected / more expensive ones?
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,919 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    my only conclusion is they are easily hackable, but bear in mind they are expanding the list of supported routers... Yours does look like a Trendnet Router...
     
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,224 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,552
    Location:
    Oregon
  9. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    113 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    INDIA
    Thank you "Jetster" for the very informative link.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)