• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can I convert only Audio from any video file??

Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
118 (0.08/day)
Location
India
System Name R&B
Processor Intel i7 7700k Kaby lake
Motherboard Msi z270 gaming m3
Cooling Deepcool Assassin 2 Air cooler
Memory 16 gb G skill trident z 3200mhz ddr4 ram
Video Card(s) MSI Gtx 1070 Gaming X
Storage 2 TB SEAGATE SSHD FIRECUDA, 1TB WD BLUE, 1 TB EXTERNAL WD MY PASSPORT AND 500 GB SEAGATE
Display(s) ASUS VX279H-White 1080p
Case Cooler master masterbox 5
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M 80 plus bronze
Mouse logitech g402 hyperion fury
Keyboard Asus cerebrus gaming keyboard
Software WINDOWS 10 pro 64 BIT
Benchmark Scores N.A
Hi,

I have HDTV which can only play almost all video formats but there is a limitation to audio formats...So I can't watch the movies which is in AC3 format (I think).Means Video keeps playing but there is no audio.
So, I want any software or method to convert only audio not video i.e video must be untouched and audio must be convert to any format eg.mp3,aac etc.
Any... guys...??...
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,166 (0.99/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"| Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305 | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
Can ur HDTV play mkv and mp4 files?

if yes, look for MKVextract and MKVmerge bcs then u can just extract the contain of the mkv file, convert the audio and re-compile it all into a mkv file.

I do this myself a lot just converting the audio from wav or another uncompressed format to like mp3, aac or smth like that depends on if it's 2.0, 5.1 and so on.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,533 (6.30/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
A DLNA server should be able to convert the audio on the fly to a format the TV can accept. My receiver can only handle audio and, when playing videos (e.g. MP4), it converts the audio layer to MP3. The source would stay AC3 and your HDTV would have to support DLNA.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2012
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Location
Hamburg,Germany
System Name My PC/My son's PC
Processor I7 2600k /I5 2500K
Motherboard AsRock z77 extreme 4/GB Z68-UD4-B3
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Advanced/SCYTHE Ninja 3
Memory 16GB Vengeance 1600 CL9/16GB 1600 geil
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080 turbo /Asus 670 directcu
Storage LiteOn 256GB SSD,Seagate 2TB+WD 1TB/WD 1TB
Display(s) LG 29UC97C-B/Samsung 24'' fHD
Case CM Storm Sniper Black/Sharkoon Vaya
Audio Device(s) Onboard/Onboard
Power Supply XFX Core 750W sleeved/Seasonic 420w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Avidemux,from Klite video conversion pack.I'ts free.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,556 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (4.36/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
118 (0.08/day)
Location
India
System Name R&B
Processor Intel i7 7700k Kaby lake
Motherboard Msi z270 gaming m3
Cooling Deepcool Assassin 2 Air cooler
Memory 16 gb G skill trident z 3200mhz ddr4 ram
Video Card(s) MSI Gtx 1070 Gaming X
Storage 2 TB SEAGATE SSHD FIRECUDA, 1TB WD BLUE, 1 TB EXTERNAL WD MY PASSPORT AND 500 GB SEAGATE
Display(s) ASUS VX279H-White 1080p
Case Cooler master masterbox 5
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M 80 plus bronze
Mouse logitech g402 hyperion fury
Keyboard Asus cerebrus gaming keyboard
Software WINDOWS 10 pro 64 BIT
Benchmark Scores N.A
Thanks to all, I tried avidemux....Its good n easy....But i will try them all and compare which one takes less time.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
118 (0.08/day)
Location
India
System Name R&B
Processor Intel i7 7700k Kaby lake
Motherboard Msi z270 gaming m3
Cooling Deepcool Assassin 2 Air cooler
Memory 16 gb G skill trident z 3200mhz ddr4 ram
Video Card(s) MSI Gtx 1070 Gaming X
Storage 2 TB SEAGATE SSHD FIRECUDA, 1TB WD BLUE, 1 TB EXTERNAL WD MY PASSPORT AND 500 GB SEAGATE
Display(s) ASUS VX279H-White 1080p
Case Cooler master masterbox 5
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M 80 plus bronze
Mouse logitech g402 hyperion fury
Keyboard Asus cerebrus gaming keyboard
Software WINDOWS 10 pro 64 BIT
Benchmark Scores N.A
One more thing(question)
As we all know when we download n play some movies even that says 1080p or 720p resolution....N when we check and realised that were actually encoded in 1280x536 (something like that) resolution. So by the time playing these they were not cover the entire screen of tv/monitor(I tried 32 or 43 inch hdtv) .
So how can we do this to watch movies in full size without zooming or without those black spaces on top and bottom.
I tried converting from video converters with full resolution,it takes so much time to convert exactly 1080p/720p resolution and also size increased to almost 3x/4x/5x of that one.
So is there any way to convert/change the only the part of resolution without encode the entire movies in a quick way.
Again Thanks to all.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
768 (0.23/day)
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel® Desktop Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel® Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2070 AERO
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD x2
Display(s) LG 32UL750-W
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic® Prime Fanless Titanium 600W
Mouse Dell™ KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell™ KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Simplest ans is to get a wider aspect retio screen or convert the video to fit the aspect ratio you want though that will shade some qualit.

Essentialy the video was made like that in a specific aspect retio eg it is a 16:9 and you are using a 16:10 screen, if so the cinema bars will be there by defult
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
118 (0.08/day)
Location
India
System Name R&B
Processor Intel i7 7700k Kaby lake
Motherboard Msi z270 gaming m3
Cooling Deepcool Assassin 2 Air cooler
Memory 16 gb G skill trident z 3200mhz ddr4 ram
Video Card(s) MSI Gtx 1070 Gaming X
Storage 2 TB SEAGATE SSHD FIRECUDA, 1TB WD BLUE, 1 TB EXTERNAL WD MY PASSPORT AND 500 GB SEAGATE
Display(s) ASUS VX279H-White 1080p
Case Cooler master masterbox 5
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M 80 plus bronze
Mouse logitech g402 hyperion fury
Keyboard Asus cerebrus gaming keyboard
Software WINDOWS 10 pro 64 BIT
Benchmark Scores N.A
Simplest ans is to get a wider aspect retio screen or convert the video to fit the aspect ratio you want though that will shade some qualit.

Essentialy the video was made like that in a specific aspect retio eg it is a 16:9 and you are using a 16:10 screen, if so the cinema bars will be there by defult
No, i have Two 1080p hdtv both set to 16:9. If I convert the video to fit the aspect ratio, it will take hours to convert to 720p, that is the problem.
 
Top