• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How can I get better frame rates on GTA IV?

Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#1
I know this thread is like 2 years late :p
but I adjusted the graphics settings to use about 998/1009 mb of my graphics card and it's running slow

I thought it would run fine as long as it doesn't go over 1009 in the settings?
But I heard you can edit config files to get better frame rates etc. etc.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Rebuild the game from the ground up and it should help. Other than that, lower settings, perhaps try some visual mods.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#3
Rebuild the game from the ground up and it should help. Other than that, lower settings, perhaps try some visual mods.
Oh I installed it and it runs alright with some stuff reduced
but just thought seeing as you can edit the command files there would be tweaks and stuff, much like fallout had that .dll file that gave you better performance
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,740 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
overclock alot GTA IV is cpu limited most of the time crank the clock speed up and you will see an improvement keeping slighly lower settings will help as well.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#5
overclock alot GTA IV is cpu limited most of the time crank the clock speed up and you will see an improvement keeping slighly lower settings will help as well.
o i thought my cpu was rad and could handle it :(
I might overclock
any idea which settings give the biggest hit to performance?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC / EVGA GTX 960
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD + 2x Dell 22" LED S-IPS 1080p / LG 37" 1080p S-IPS
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 7 64bit Professional
#6
View distance if I remember takes up alot of Vram and CPU power. 4GHz should have been on the recommended list for the game o_O
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#7
Get a second HD5770 and run crossfire ? I love mine and they are great in crossfire .
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,740 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#8
nope i dont remember for the life of me, but i do know more cores and more mhz = more fps usually with GTA IV, going from say

3400 on the cpu 2000 on the nb to

3800 2400 i saw an average frame rate increase of 6fps on average and minimum frame rate jumped 4 fps so it alls relative whatever extra performance you can squeeze out will help

and GTA IV dosent support multi gpu in fact with 2x 6970s the game refuses to allow me to change any GPU settings in game period it sits red lined at 200mb out of 2048 and im stuck at 800x600
if i turn crossfire off all is well every setting works and game plays fine.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#9
Game works for me in SLI.

That card isn't powerful enough to run modern games by itself, you need at least another.

This game was designed to run around 30 FPS on modern high end systems @ max settings. It is one of those "games for future PCs". Rockstar actually stated that.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#10
Game works for me in SLI.

That card isn't powerful enough to run modern games by itself, you need at least another.

This game was designed to run around 30 FPS on modern high end systems @ max settings. It is one of those "games for future PCs". Rockstar actually stated that.
There's no performance increase by having more than one card SLI or CF as the game don't support it.

GTA is tricky to get perfect and like some have said overclocking the cpu will help and it surly does. The other thing you can do is each time you change the settings restart the game as i found out the game don't give the true performance of the new settings all the time and some times can be really bad.
 
T

Taskforce

Guest
#11
Game works for me in SLI.

That card isn't powerful enough to run modern games by itself, you need at least another.

This game was designed to run around 30 FPS on modern high end systems @ max settings. It is one of those "games for future PCs". Rockstar actually stated that.
Worst PORT for the PC evar! even in the future you wouldn't want to be playing such a ugly game, Rockstar did a shit job no excuses will fix that.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#12
Game works for me in SLI.
It is one of those "games for future PCs".
Hah. Don't fall for that bs.

I haven't tried that game yet since having crossfire again. I should give it a whirl soon...
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#13
There's no performance increase by having more than one card SLI or CF as the game don't support it.

GTA is tricky to get perfect and like some have said overclocking the cpu will help and it surly does. The other thing you can do is each time you change the settings restart the game as i found out the game don't give the true performance of the new settings all the time and some times can be really bad.
Hah. Don't fall for that bs.

I haven't tried that game yet since having crossfire again. I should give it a whirl soon...
I just tested GTA IV with SLI both on and off and I can say with 100% confidence that both of you have no idea what you are talking about. They patched in SLI support with their patches. FPS is improved dramatically in SLI. Both cards are being utilized in Afterburner, I checked before I posted. Too bad SLI doesn't literally double the FPS or I would be locked @ 54, the max for this game.

Worst PORT for the PC evar! even in the future you wouldn't want to be playing such a ugly game, Rockstar did a shit job no excuses will fix that.
The city with all its massive buildings are a beast to render. The slowest part of Just Cause 2 BY FAR is the Panau City area. My framerate drops off from locked @ 60 to even as low as 15 FPS there. Makes me realize what Rockstar had to work with. GTA IV looks nice at max settings. Playing @ 1920x1200 helps with the lack of AA support.

This is the reason I wonder if BF3 will run for anyone any higher than 30 FPS. You play in cities with massive buildings that are fully destructible. Destructible environments always bring framerates down. That and it looks photo realistic. Look forward to benchmarks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
592 (0.22/day)
Likes
89
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W @4.3GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 PRO (REV 3.1) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan
Memory (16Gb) G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G GeForce GTX 970 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage (2X) Kingston 120GB SSD in RAID 0 & WD Caviar 640GB & Samsung Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) VIZIO M321i-A2 32-Inch 1080p 120Hz Smart LED HDTV
Case NZXT Source 210 ELITE Midtower Case with 3.0 USB - Black
Audio Device(s) Creative 7.1 PCI Express Sound Blaster X-FI Titanium
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
Software Windows 8 Pro 64Bit
#14
GTA IV has such a horrible engine. Kinda remind me of the Crysis 1 engine. hehe.
Frames are almost never good in that game unless you have a $3000 PC it seems. :/
Correct me otherwise :)
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#15
GTA IV has such a horrible engine. Kinda remind me of the Crysis 1 engine. hehe.
Frames are almost never good in that game unless you have a $3000 PC it seems. :/
Correct me otherwise :)
Everyone wants this game to run locked @ 60 FPS (54 is the max actually). It is a quad core game and you need a high end card for it to run okay, they tell you that up front with the system requirements. It is one of those "Games for future PCs" as previously stated. Latest nVidia WHQL drivers help the FPS department. Actually, Rockstar did a great job with the port and the patches improved performance more than significantly. They are rendering a truckload of data onscreen all at once. PC version runs better than the console versions, everyone's expectations of how PC games should run are much higher.

Crysis was released before quads caught on. That is a shame because the game would be locked @ 60 FPS for a lot of people otherwise. Hopefully Crysis 3 will get back to the game's roots of innovation. If it is another console port, chances are it won't.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#16
Since you only have 4GB of ram I'd say it's rather important that you close as many background programs as possible before launching. Perhaps use a memory trimming tool, like mine :laugh:.

Overclocking your gpu a bit will help a lot. Also get that 1055T up around 3.2-3.4GHz. In my experience GTAIV uses about 3 cores max (though the threads may distribute evenly giving it the appearance that it's using all of your cores).

Since your system is so similar to mine, here's what my in game settings are:
1920x1080 @ 60Hz
Texture Quality: High
Reflection Resolution: High
Water Quality: Very High
Shadow Quality: High
Night Shadows: Off
Texture Filter Quality: Anisotropic x4
View Distance: 25
Details Distance: 31
Vehicle Density: 51
Definition: On
Vsync: On

I also use "Disable Desktop Composition" on the GTAIV executable to free up an extra one or two MB of video ram :laugh:.

There are also some command line options for the main executable that you can fiddle around with.

Frames are almost never good in that game unless you have a $3000 PC it seems. :/
Correct me otherwise
Plays fine on my PC and it looks brilliant too. When I played it on the PS3 and the 360 I was horrified by the terrible graphics and frame rates.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,372
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
I seem to remember turning off the recording feature seems to really help framerates, I can't remember what it is called, and I can be bothered to re-install to tell you, but I know that really helped performance.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#18
Since you only have 4GB of ram I'd say it's rather important that you close as many background programs as possible before launching. Perhaps use a memory trimming tool, like mine :laugh:.

Overclocking your gpu a bit will help a lot. Also get that 1055T up around 3.2-3.4GHz. In my experience GTAIV uses about 3 cores max (though the threads may distribute evenly giving it the appearance that it's using all of your cores).

Since your system is so similar to mine, here's what my in game settings are:
1920x1080 @ 60Hz
Texture Quality: High
Reflection Resolution: High
Water Quality: Very High
Shadow Quality: High
Night Shadows: Off
Texture Filter Quality: Anisotropic x4
View Distance: 25
Details Distance: 31
Vehicle Density: 51
Definition: On
Vsync: On

I also use "Disable Desktop Composition" on the GTAIV executable to free up an extra one or two MB of video ram :laugh:.

There are also some command line options for the main executable that you can fiddle around with.


Plays fine on my PC and it looks brilliant too. When I played it on the PS3 and the 360 I was horrified by the terrible graphics and frame rates.
oh that's where I might have been goin' wrong

"View Distance: 25
Details Distance: 31
Vehicle Density: 51"

I dragged my details and vehicle ones to 100 because it didn't show that it was using more graphics memory XD
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#19
GTA IV is all about the CPU. Get a Sandy bridge chip, clock it to 4.5GHz or over and it owns the game. I play at 2048x1536 with a HD 5870 . No stutters and framerate drops at all, smooth as silk. I only have a 2500K, I daresay a 2600K would decimate the game.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.04/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#20
<snip>It is one of those "Games for future PCs" as previously stated. </snip>
The PC version of the game is from December 2008. How much of a future PC do you want?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#21
I have a buddy who worked for Rockstar Toronto, and I've heard nothing but bad about the engine and how badly it is optimized for PC. It's just a badly made PC port, honestly. They didn't even add animations for some of the guns in certain scenarios. It's a half-assed port.

Even with my system it averages around 35 fps and dips sometimes, and that's with the view distance/detail distance sliders at under 33% and shadows at low lol, rediculous.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#22
GTA IV is all about the CPU. Get a Sandy bridge chip, clock it to 4.5GHz or over and it owns the game. I play at 2048x1536 with a HD 5870 . No stutters and framerate drops at all, smooth as silk. I only have a 2500K, I daresay a 2600K would decimate the game.
I also set the Detail distance and vehicle density to 100% but I do turn off the night shadows as the HD 5870 just can't handle it at my res with the 1.7 patch.

MLG - that sounds like really low fps tbh, I never dip below 45(normally always over 50fps)
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#23
Lucky you.

Edit: it's your processor. I probably need to overclock, although I don't think it's safe with the stock 1090T cooler.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#24
overclock alot GTA IV is cpu limited most of the time crank the clock speed up and you will see an improvement keeping slighly lower settings will help as well.
I played it with a GTX295, comming from a GTX480 way back just to test on same proc speed. It really chugged down even if I lowered the graphic settings to fit video mem spec :twitch:
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,198 (0.28/day)
Likes
130
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#25
GTA IV is all about the CPU. Get a Sandy bridge chip, clock it to 4.5GHz or over and it owns the game. I play at 2048x1536 with a HD 5870 . No stutters and framerate drops at all, smooth as silk. I only have a 2500K, I daresay a 2600K would decimate the game.
I can confirm this.

-I also noticed that the game does not support Xfire, because when its on, all of my settings go to lowest and my "available memory" goes red even though it says 200/4096 :p.