• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How can i use a Surface Pro 3 as a secondary monitor with my gaming laptop?

Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
2,046 (1.29/day)
Likes
943
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#1
basically want to use a surface pro 3 as a second monitor for productivity --- laptop is a gtx 1070, bought a mini DP port to HDMI, plugged mini DP into Surface Pro 3 and HDMI into laptop... doesn't work... any other thoughts?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,053 (4.83/day)
Likes
10,679
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
2,046 (1.29/day)
Likes
943
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#3
Yes, I tried that method and found it very laggy and not well-refinded. I'd much rather use a cable setup, which I know is possible but just am not quite sure what cord I need. I have a Surface Pro 3 and a docking station which supports external monitors

edit: i think i figured it out, i need to buy a mini DP to mini DP cable. my bad.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
977 (1.49/day)
Likes
458
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Yes, I tried that method and found it very laggy and not well-refinded. I'd much rather use a cable setup, which I know is possible but just am not quite sure what cord I need. I have a Surface Pro 3 and a docking station which supports external monitors

edit: i think i figured it out, i need to buy a mini DP to mini DP cable. my bad.
No. A display output is not a display input - connecting a cable between your other PC and your surface will do nothing at all. The SP3 (and most other PCs) lacks the hardware necessary for the display outputs to function as inputs. Apps or network-based solutions are the only option. Anyone telling you anything else is mistaken or misleading you.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
2,046 (1.29/day)
Likes
943
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#5
No. A display output is not a display input - connecting a cable between your other PC and your surface will do nothing at all. The SP3 (and most other PCs) lacks the hardware necessary for the display outputs to function as inputs. Apps or network-based solutions are the only option. Anyone telling you anything else is mistaken or misleading you.

but i have a docking station for the surface pro 3. so it actually should work mini DP to mini DP
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
977 (1.49/day)
Likes
458
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
but i have a docking station for the surface pro 3. so it actually should work mini DP to mini DP
Doesn't matter. The docking station doesn't magically give it a video input - quite the opposite, it likely gives it more outputs. You're still lacking necessary hardware for anything to work as an input.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
2,046 (1.29/day)
Likes
943
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#7
Doesn't matter. The docking station doesn't magically give it a video input - quite the opposite, it likely gives it more outputs. You're still lacking necessary hardware for anything to work as an input.
can you tell me how to do it then? do i use ethernet cable? or does it have to be the laggy wifi method mentioned in post 2?
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
234 (0.06/day)
Likes
123
Location
Western NC
System Name dell beast
Processor dual Xeon x5675
Motherboard dell t7500
Cooling stock
Memory 36gb ecc ddr3
Video Card(s) quadro 4000
Storage 2x100gb hp ssd
Display(s) asus 23.8" 1080p
Case t7500
Audio Device(s) some old sound blaster
Power Supply 1200watt dell
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software win10x64
#8
what he is saying is the surface pro 3 can't become a monitor, only screen mirroring over wireless is your only option. the internal connections for the mini dp only work as outputs not inputs
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,883 (5.35/day)
Likes
12,278
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
can you tell me how to do it then? do i use ethernet cable? or does it have to be the laggy wifi method mentioned in post 2?
WiFi is the only option to do what you want.

Upgrading your WiFi to allow faster connections might make it less laggy.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
977 (1.49/day)
Likes
458
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
can you tell me how to do it then? do i use ethernet cable? or does it have to be the laggy wifi method mentioned in post 2?
Apps or services that allow it to function as a secondary display over WiFi is the only cheap and easy solution - and lag is unavoidable, as the video signal not only has to pass through at least one, possibly two wireless signals (source -> router -> SP3), but also has to be compressed at the source and decompressed on the SP3. Every additional step introduces more lag, and WiFi is notoriously unstable and sensitive to interference.

Something that might allow you to do this with less lag and compression is to use a USB capture device. I just tested my Elgato HD60s, and when connected to my desktop I can extend its desktop to my laptop's display by using Elgato's capture utilities (without actually recording anything). Lag was perfectly acceptable, couldn't see any perceptible lag when typing on the secondary display - but then the HD60s is advertised as giving "instant capture previews", so that's part of what it's made for. Of course, this is a costly solution - the HD60s is $180 on Newegg, and the cheapest thing I can imagine working with the full resolution of the SP3, the Cam Link 4K, is $130.

It's also worth noting that just displaying a static, empty desktop at 1080p60 on my laptop from the HD60s represents a ~20% CPU load and a ~20% GPU load on my laptop's i7-8650U in the standard capture utility that AFAIK only supports up to 1080p60. In the 4k capture utility, GPU load for the same stream hit 70% for some reason. A Surface Pro 3 might struggle with resolutions matching its native resolution, in other words.
 
Last edited:
Top