• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How can you check if your RAM is dead?

MikeJeng

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
551
Likes
23
Location
United States - CA
System Name Nerd Command Center
Processor i5-2500K 3.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD55
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600 (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570
Storage Ocz Vertex 2 60GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343bwx 2048x1152
Case CM Cosmos 1000: Matte black + window
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 700W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#1
I have 4 GB of RAM. Just recently, Things were slower than normal and I decided to check system properties.

RAM: 2.00GB

I have no clue what has been happening.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,936
Likes
5,044
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
How much memory does your MB detect during POST? How about in BIOS? I'd say power down, ensure all the RAM is fully seated, it might be only making partial contact...maybe remove all the memory and re-install.

Google and run Memtest to ensure your RAM is stable. Usually if you have bad RAM it results in massive crashes, instability, BSOD's, bad writes to the HDD, etc.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,137
Likes
1,633
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#3
erm... and you have all 4gb in? i didnt think MB would boot with a bad ramstick in. check to make sure it didnt come loose maybe?
 

FooArm

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
99
Likes
4
Location
Near lake Erie
#4
i remember that happened to me in my laptop

so i opened the memory area box think and removed the RAM and reinserted it and it should up has 4
 

MikeJeng

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
551
Likes
23
Location
United States - CA
System Name Nerd Command Center
Processor i5-2500K 3.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD55
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600 (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570
Storage Ocz Vertex 2 60GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343bwx 2048x1152
Case CM Cosmos 1000: Matte black + window
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 700W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#5
Thanks for the help. I'll try this in a few minutes.