• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How do I find out if my parts are DOA?

balls

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I ordered parts a week ago from newegg to do my first build. The parts came, and the installation went off without a hitch (other than figuring out how to mount my harddrive). Anyways, I hooked everything up today, and plugged in the PSU into the wall. I got a Standby light on the motherboard. A good sign, right? Well, I go to power on the machine, and nothing happens. Nothing at all. All that happens is an orange LED right next to that standby LED lights up. Since none of my fans did anything, I thought maybe my PSU was dead, but then how would my mobo be receiving power to light up those LED's? Also, for the fans, I have 4 pin plugs hooked up to the PSU itself, and also the fan headers on the mobo. I talked to my INSANELY tech savvy friend who has build at least 20 computers, and he said that I've done everything right. I think I'm gonna cry. If anyone has any advice on finding out if maybe one of my parts is DOA, then I would really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Specs:
Raidmax Smilodon case w/ 500W PSU
EVGA 680i Mobo
Patriot DDR2 800 Memory
GeForce 7600GT
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400
Seagate 320GB Sata 3.0GB/s
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#2
have you remembered all the power connectors man, especially the little 4 pin P4 connector??
 

balls

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
If I were to unplug all the fan headers in the motherboard, and then try to boot up the computer, would that show if my PSU was shot?
 

balls

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Well guys, I unplugged everything except the mobo power, cpu power, and graphics external power, and my computer posted! I guess I did something wrong with the fans then... I'll keep trying. Thanks for your help.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#6
might just be a shorted fan keeping PS off, try em 1 at a time to find the bad 1
 

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785 (0.72/day)
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#7
it's possible that you have your power switch (the one on the case) plugged in backwards.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#8
it's possible that you have your power switch (the one on the case) plugged in backwards.
they can go on either way, the switch just shorts 2 pins together
 

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785 (0.72/day)
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#9
but if it's backwards for example my mobo is this direction for the switch: -+ but if I try the switch like this +- it wont work