• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How do i get true dolby digital or dts5.1 through hdmi on pc?

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#1
Is it possible to get dolby digital, or dts 5.1 through hdmi on the pc? i have a radeon 5770]
my receiver is the yamaha HTR-6063
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#2
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#3
games more like, games like black ops 2 supports dolby digital apparently. Im looking on the back of the black ops 2 box right now and it shows dolby digital. I would love to also use dolby digital on battlefield 3 as well. DTS 5.1 surround sound would also be awesome.
 
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
376 (0.11/day)
Likes
63
Location
South Jersey
#4
I believe AC3 is what you are looking for. Bitstream I believe is LCPM which is supported only on high end devices and only necesary for Blu-Ray.

I use AC3 in FFDshow and get dolby and DTS audio passthrough on my IGPs to my receiver (It supports both) for the last few years. I am currently using monitors inbuilt speakers and/or a cheap pair of desktop speakers so audio is not really a consideration right now (my onkyo/polk setup is crying as it gets covered in dust :( )

Also you can set Dolby in your audio drivers, if not, then try using windows audio service to show available options, you can test Dolby, DTS and IIRC Pro audio (a microsoft thing that I have never seen anything support). You can test bit rates and sample sizes as well to find comparable unit to your receiver/monitor. (IF you are not using a receiver and separate speakers, then do not even worry about what sound is going through your card).
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#5
is it possible to get it for gaming?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#6
No, the HDMI port on the graphics card only has passthrough capabilities. If the content is natively encoded in 5.1, the card will pass a 5.1 signal, if it's encoded in stereo it will pass an stereo signal. Some games have 5.1 audio some don't.

To get 5.1/7.1 in all your games you'll need a sound card with DTS Neo or Dolby Digital Live.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#7
so my radeon 5770 won't be able to do it?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#8
Is it possible to get dolby digital, or dts 5.1 through hdmi on the pc? i have a radeon 5770]
my receiver is the yamaha HTR-6063
No, no, no, use 7.1 PCM. Dolby is encoded, PCM is not. If you can set the HDMI audio output to 7.1 LPCM, that's all you need to do. The computer/receiver should take care of the rest. That's the best possible signal to send on HDMI.


AC3 is the encoding used on DVDs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#9
No, no, no, use 7.1 PCM. Dolby is encoded, PCM is not. If you can set the HDMI audio output to 7.1 LPCM, that's all you need to do. The computer/receiver should take care of the rest. That's the best possible signal to send on HDMI.


AC3 is the encoding used on DVDs.
With his receiver, using bit stream would be better since it can decode everything being sent at it. LPCM is essentially decoded in the machine then the sound sent to the receiver. If the goal is to get to 7 speakers somehow, then LPCM can work if he's got some virtualization for his sound, but if accurate and good sound is the target with the hopes of game makers utilizing the best available, Bitstream all the way.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
Yes the 5770 will do it. Just have to set the audio as HDMI in the sound preferences in the control panel. As far as Black ops having DD or 5.1 not sure about that
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#11
games more like, games like black ops 2 supports dolby digital apparently. Im looking on the back of the black ops 2 box right now and it shows dolby digital. I would love to also use dolby digital on battlefield 3 as well. DTS 5.1 surround sound would also be awesome.
No they are not Dolby Digital despite any images at the back of the box. They have 5 audio streams which can be encoded to Dolby Digital with the aid of a soundcard that supports Dolby Digital Live Encoding or DTS Connect Encoding.

So to answer your question you need a specific soundcard.


so my radeon 5770 won't be able to do it?

Your 5770 will only plackback Dolby Digital from pre-encoded material DVD, Blue Ray discs, AC3 movies formats.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#12
With his receiver, using bit stream would be better since it can decode everything being sent at it. LPCM is essentially decoded in the machine then the sound sent to the receiver. If the goal is to get to 7 speakers somehow, then LPCM can work if he's got some virtualization for his sound, but if accurate and good sound is the target with the hopes of game makers utilizing the best available, Bitstream all the way.
PCM is the raw wave. It is never encoded/decoded if the source is digital to begin with. Games prefer PCM because they can play a mono-sound through many positional channels. You lose signal quality when encoding decoding so it's best not to do it.

Dolby Digital only exists to turn 2 channels into more than 2 either due to the source only being stereo or the cable it is conveyed through not having enough bandwidth to handle many channels.

Inferior: Dolby Digital encoder (sound card) -> SPDIF cable -> Dolby Digital decoder (receiver)
Ideal: PCM (sound card) -> HDMI cable -> PCM (receiver)
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#13
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14
No they are not Dolby Digital despite any images at the back of the box. They have 5 audio streams which can be encoded to Dolby Digital with the aid of a soundcard that supports Dolby Digital Live Encoding or DTS Connect Encoding.

So to answer your question you need a specific soundcard.

Your 5770 will only plackback Dolby Digital from pre-encoded material DVD, Blue Ray discs, AC3 movies formats.
His receiver is better than any sound card and the GPU just passes it on. And you cant encode to DD you decode it
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#15
If his receiver has HDMI, it will support 8 channel PCM. Dolby Digital/SPDIF was pre-HDMI.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#16
His receiver is better than any sound card and the GPU just passes it on
I agree, but who cares. His objective is to playback his games in Dolby Digital. He know what he wants. Lets help him achieve his goal.

If his receiver has HDMI, it will support 8 channel PCM. Dolby Digital/SPDIF was pre-HDMI.
He can use both. Use an encoder soundcard for his games, and set up his video card for DVD and Blu Ray Playback in Media Player. That is the cheapest solution.

If he has money to burn he can get an encoder soundcard with HDMI out like the Asus Xonar HDAV 1.3 but it's an unnecessary expense

http://www.asus.com/Multimedia/Audio_Cards/Xonar_HDAV13_Deluxe/
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#17
Wow, no thank you or acknowledgement from the OP.

Then again I can't blame the OP for not returning because none of the geeks wanted to give the OP the solution he requested without bias.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#18
Make it easy on yourself.. I just did after spending years driving myself crazy.

Buy a home theater system..
I got a bluray one for like 200 bucks at Tiger Direct/ CompUSA.

Just run optical from the pc to the home theater system.

Run HDMI from the pc to the TV for video.
Done..

EDIT: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4953951&Sku=L47-1012
Something like that.
I went with the 1000 watt version, for a little more umph.
That is a 330 watt, still nice.

Just make sure it has an optical for HD audio.

I like to have one optical and one HDMI on it.
If it lacks either you loose.

Need the optical to run HD sound from the PC to the Theater system.
Need the HDMI to use the disc player that comes with the unit in HD.

Cheers and gl ^^
 
Last edited: