• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How do I know if my cable is a SATA 3 cable?

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#1


my new 1 TB HDD storage, are these speeds normal for a sata 3 HDD? or do I need a new SATA 3 cable? :confused:
 

Soup

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
159 (0.07/day)
Likes
71
Location
'merica
System Name Bebop
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133MHz
Video Card(s) 2x SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 CF
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SATA III x2 Raid 0
Display(s) Asus VG236H 23" 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Antec Eleven Hundred
Power Supply Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
I don't think any mechanical hard drive out there will even saturate SATA 2, so I doubt there is an issue with the cable... though I am also foggy about SATA2 vs. SATA3 cables... gimmick?
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#3
I don't think any mechanical hard drive out there will even saturate SATA 2, so I doubt there is an issue with the cable... though I am also foggy about SATA2 vs. SATA3 cables... gimmick?
Thanks, it seems to be working fine, so I guess I just am not going to worry about it. /shrug
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#4
Agreed. SATA II can do up to 3 gigabits a second, or ~375 megabytes a second. You're seeing transfer speeds of about half that (peak) so you're well within the limit of what SATA II can do. You'd need a modern SSD to take advantage of SATA III.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#5
Agreed. SATA II can do up to 3 gigabits a second, or ~375 megabytes a second. You're seeing transfer speeds of about half that (peak) so you're well within the limit of what SATA II can do. You'd need a modern SSD to take advantage of SATA III.
Yeah, I have my Samsung using a SATA3 cable, and it gets about 410 on read, so cool deal, glad this worked out :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#6

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#7
topic can be closed Ion answered it perfectly. sata3 on my ssd, sata2 on any hdd /cheers
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#8
For the record unless the cables are poorly made there is no difference in sata 2/3
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
160 (0.07/day)
Likes
33
Location
Indonesia
System Name No need for skylake, will wait for pascal.
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD80 (B3)
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory Corsari Vengeance 16 Gb
Video Card(s) Digital Alliance GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Storage 3x 2 Tb WDC Green, 2x 1 Tb WDC Black
Display(s) Dell U2312HM
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200
Software Windows 10
#9
For the record unless the cables are poorly made there is no difference in sata 2/3
i buy a usual red $1,- sata cable, i bet that's sata 2 right ?? what's the 'fair' price for a sata 3 cable ??
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,854 (0.66/day)
Likes
507
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#10
i buy a usual red $1,- sata cable, i bet that's sata 2 right ?? what's the 'fair' price for a sata 3 cable ??
I think te red cable can do SATA 3 fine, as I am using one, all those expensive "SATA 3" cables are just marketing B.S.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,590 (0.74/day)
Likes
527
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Thermaltake Gravity i1
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) RX 560 2 GB Gigabyte Gaming Edition
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Deepcool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Benchmark Scores Superposition benchmark : 1080p Medium - 4270 pts.
#11
I watched the Linus Tech Tips extensive testing for the difference betwen SATA2 and 3 cables and the conclusion after all teh tests was, that there is no difference between the cables labelled as SAtA 2 or 3. So yeah, a red one will do perfectly fine I think.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,377
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
The cable standard did not changed between SATA2 and SATA3, so the cables are identical. In fact I don't believe the cable has changed since SATA1.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#13
I think the only thing that changed is the latch. Older SATA cables don't have them.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,377
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
I think the only thing that changed is the latch. Older SATA cables don't have them.
I think the latch is optional, a lot of newer cables don't have them. Even cabled labeled "SATA3". I don't think the latch even even part of the standard, just something additional some manufacturers added because people were complaining SATA cables came out too easily.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
351 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#15
Latches on SATA cables were around years before SATAIII was released, but as a standard, I think newtekie is right, most manufacturers just decide to use cables with latches, I know Gigabyte has always preferred them even back before SATAIII.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#16
I think the latch is optional, a lot of newer cables don't have them. Even cabled labeled "SATA3". I don't think the latch even even part of the standard, just something additional some manufacturers added because people were complaining SATA cables came out too easily.
Latch IS part of the standard.;) I'd love to see an unlatched SATA 6Gb/s cable...



...so I can avoid them :p
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
351 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#17
Latch IS part of the standard.;) I'd love to see an unlatched SATA 6Gb/s cable...



...so I can avoid them :p
Most SATAIII cables have latches, but you can find SATAIII cables without latches, Newegg sales them, I don't think the industry standard for SATA cables has changed, I could be wrong, but if you mean that it is just common then yea.

As for the point of this thread.

http://www.sata-io.org/documents/SATA-Revision-3.0-FAQ-FINAL.pdf
SATA-Revision-3.0-FAQ-FINAL said:
9: Does SATA 6Gb/s require different connectors and cables to support the higher
transfer speed?

A9: The same cables and connectors used for current SATA 1.5 and SATA 3.0 Gb/s
implementations can be used to connect SATA 6Gb/s devices, although SATA-IO recommends
quality components be selected to ensure data integrity and robust operation at the faster SATA
6Gb/s transfer rate. Keeping the existing SATA connector form factor enables SATA 6Gb/s to
be designed into the same cost-conscious hardware architectures while minimizing
infrastructure changes.

Q14: Were there any attenuation or jitter issues that had to be addressed with the jump to
6Gb/s?

A14: Ensuring signal integrity was the primary challenge in doubling the SATA transfer speed
for a second time while using the same cables and connectors that were originally defined for
the first generation 1.5Gb/s version.
http://www.sata-io.org/
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,377
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#19

That's not a SATA 6 Gb/s cable. A SATA 6 Gb/s cables says "SATA 6 Gb/s" on it(also as a requirement), not just SATA like those do. ;)


Latches are required, and that's why the connectors on motherboards have the ability to use the latches in the first place.


However, I never said that regular SATA cables would cause any performance issues.. that depends on cable quality and length.

SATA6RA1 = SATA, 6-inch, Right Angle 1-side. ;)


With all the motherboards I've reviewed, I've seen 'em all(I mean SATA 6 Gb/s cables).

Most SATAIII cables have latches, but you can find SATAIII cables without latches, Newegg sales them, I don't think the industry standard for SATA cables has changed, I could be wrong, but if you mean that it is just common then yea.

As for the point of this thread.

http://www.sata-io.org/documents/SATA-Revision-3.0-FAQ-FINAL.pdf

http://www.sata-io.org/

Yeah, pointedly, it says any cable can work fine.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,377
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
That's not a SATA 6 Gb/s cable. A SATA 6 Gb/s cables says "SATA 6 Gb/s" on it, not just SATA like those do. ;)


Latches are required, and that's why the connectors on motherboards have the ability to use the latches in the first place.


However, I never said that regular SATA cables would cause any issues.. that depends on cable quality and length.

SATA6RA1 = SATA, 6-inch, Right Angle 1-side. ;)
Read the specs. Type: SATA III

You're nuts if you think all SATA 6 cables have to say SATA 6 on them.

As TheOne pointed out, even SATA-IO says the cables didn't change since SATA 1.5, that includes the latch being required.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#21
Read the specs. Type: SATA III

You're nuts if you think all SATA 6 cables have to say SATA 6 on them.
:shadedshu

http://www.sata-io.org/developers/naming_guidelines.asp


Explains how WRONG that newegg listing is. There is no such thing as "SATA III"

Do not use the terms "SATA II" or "SATA III," which are incorrect and have no meaning.
EDIT:

As TheOne pointed out, even SATA-IO says the cables didn't change since SATA 1.5, that includes the latch being required.

NO, it says :

"can be used to connect"

can be used...CAN..not that nothing has changed..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,641
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#22
The cables are the same. If your just running a platter drive there is no difference

Did Phusius get banned?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,655 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#23
From my understanding (reading the "Serial ATA Revision 3.1 Specification") for a single lane cable; they can be:

A. cables can be what ever color they want.
B. "ClickConnect" is optional. (what everyone calls latches)
C. connector labeling is optional.
D.The cables/connectors meets the electrical characteristics requirements of the spec.

However, I am sure there may be vendors/manufacturers out there that turn out cables with SATA 6 Gb/s stamped all over them and they may not meet the spec of the Serial ATA International Organization.

This has nothing to do with the Serial ATA International Organization, but it's my view of cables... Cables should be stamp with the specs of the cable itself from the cable manufacturer (Except for the few who have specialized cable, but it should still be on the packaging or available).

So, you may want to check the specs of cables from the manufacturers you plan on getting them from to see if they fall into the proper specs.

And, I use the latch-less connectors in some areas that are hard to access quickly; or, if I have a need for tight spaces (I have found that an angled connector with no latch takes up less height than a latch one).

EDIT:
Did Phusius get banned?
Says "Banned"... I would hazard a guess... that he is.
 
Last edited: