• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I know if my PC has PCI-Express?

Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Houston, Texas
#1
I'm sure there is a way to find out, but I do not know how. I'm looking to get a new graphics card and I want to make sure if my PC supports PCI-E.

Thanks in advance.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,479 (0.92/day)
Likes
2,213
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X 4.15GHz @ 1.44V (or 4.0 @ 1.33V for WCG)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero <3
Cooling 2x 240mm rads, Corsair ML fans, EKWB pump/res and GPU block. XSPC Raystorm pro CPU block
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466-3600MHz CL14 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE. WC'd & TDP limit increased to 360W. 2088mhz
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux) + WD Black 2TB storage drive.
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) Phillips Fidelio X2 headphones
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.3
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/infrared
#3
Just take the side panel off and look lol



^ The blue and black ones are pcie slots, the color isn't important though.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,875 (1.25/day)
Likes
683
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#5
First of all, welcome to TPU forums, i hope your knowledge of your PC environment grows, which it will massively if you stick around.
Look inside of your computer:
will be a long slot, with a divider 1/2 inch from the back of the computer.
a regular PCI slot has the divider at the other end.

TIPS: usually the PCI-E slot is the closest to the cpu.
PCI-E is usually included on most computers from 2005 and on.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Houston, Texas
#6
Thanks for the welcome, here are the results-

I bought my PC in '04 so it's "aged." I'm looking to buy more RAM since it'd be a cheap upgrade that would improve performance noticeably. :)
 

Attachments

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.29/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#7
I appreciate the prompt responses. I will look up my motherboard model and post back.

EDIT: Here are the results-

Yes you have a PCI-Express slot as shown by that screenshot. But also I know that the 915g chipset does as well.

http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/915g/index.htm

If you want more details, click on the pci-express bus on that page within pc wizard. It will tell you what version it is as well as how many lanes it has electrically.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Houston, Texas
#8
Yes you have a PCI-Express slot as shown by that screenshot. But also I know that the 915g chipset does as well.

http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/915g/index.htm

If you want more details, click on the pci-express bus on that page within pc wizard. It will tell you what version it is as well as how many lanes it has electrically.

Thanks.

Now that I know my PC supports PCI-E, I can upgrade my video card and RAM to finally be able to play CoD4 on my PC. :cool: I've been playing it on my PS3 for a while but have wanted to buy & play it on PC for a long time.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,477 (2.28/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
Look at your board and make sure it has a physical pci-e slot,before you buy a card.The software says you have pci-e but it may be an onboard device using it,and not a physical slot.Best to be certain.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,800 (9.57/day)
Likes
18,720
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#10
Look at your board and make sure it has a physical pci-e slot,before you buy a card.The software says you have pci-e but it may be an onboard device using it,and not a physical slot.Best to be certain.
I was about to say that even though the chipset supports it, the Asus Goldfish 2 board may not have a pci-e slot. Deffinitely have a look inside.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.44/day)
Likes
620
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#12
Yep the Aus Goldfish 2 motherboard does not have PCIEX16 or any PCIE period, it only has PCI

you could just replace the motherboard and with one that has PCIE though, its not as hard as it sounds

BTW thats a beautiful dog in your sig
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,446 (5.40/day)
Likes
11,743
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
Look at your board and make sure it has a physical pci-e slot,before you buy a card.The software says you have pci-e but it may be an onboard device using it,and not a physical slot.Best to be certain.
Smart man here, definitely look at the board and make sure it physically has a PCI-E slot. Even though the software detects a PCI-E Bus, you might not have a PCI-E graphics slot, it could be picking up a PCI-E x1 slot, or something onboard using the PCI-E Bus.

Or it could be that the Bus it here, and the connectors for the slot are on the board, but the physical slot is not actually there. A lot of pre-built manufactures do this.:banghead:

Edit: Ghost101 already beat me to it. This is exactly what HP has done here, the PCI-E bus is on the board, but the phsysical slot is not. So software will pick up that you have PCI-E, but you really don't.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,875 (1.25/day)
Likes
683
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#14
you could get an AGP 3850, that would run CoD4.
ive also got a gaming computer for sale, if you are interested.
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.29/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#15
you could get an AGP 3850, that would run CoD4.
ive also got a gaming computer for sale, if you are interested.
Doesnt even have AGP if the above pic is correct. No mention of one in the pc wizard screenshot either. It's one of those PCs targetted at the office environment and hence graphics is crippled I think.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.58/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#16
hey, DntMssWthTx, sorry about your dog, he or she looks beutiful. what kind was it?
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Houston, Texas
#17
Just googled the board. Doesnt actually have it. :eek: HP cutting costs. Sorry on getting your hopes up.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&docname=c00300057

Should be where I've put the red box. Double check just to be sure.

Thanks for the clarification, I'll be sure to look into upgrading my motherboard as well.

Yep the Aus Goldfish 2 motherboard does not have PCIEX16 or any PCIE period, it only has PCI

you could just replace the motherboard and with one that has PCIE though, its not as hard as it sounds

BTW thats a beautiful dog in your sig
Would replacing a motherboard be as easy as adding RAM?

Thanks, she was my best friend in the world.

Doesnt even have AGP if the above pic is correct. No mention of one in the pc wizard screenshot either. It's one of those PCs targetted at the office environment and hence graphics is crippled I think.
Yeah, my PC has a generic graphics card and I would assume all the other components would be for office/home use, not directly inclined to supporting games. :(

hey, DntMssWthTx, sorry about your dog, he or she looks beutiful. what kind was it?
Black german shepherd, about 2 years old.

--------------------------

Thanks for the replies everyone, is there a certain motherboard I should look into getting?
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.29/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#18
It depends on whether the mounting holes are standard atx holes which they should be. BUT you also have to check if the PSU is standard ATX design. Some OEMs used to switch the the wires around in the 24 pin connector to stop you from replacing motherboards and PSUs easily. Don't know about HP, but Dell started using standard ATX PSUs and motherboards only after around 2004.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#19
Thats an ugly mobo.:laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
574 (0.15/day)
Likes
124
Location
Alberta, Canada
System Name Custom FX
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 3
Memory G.SKILL F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL Ripjaws 8GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R927XOC-2GD Radeon R9 270X 2GB
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SSD OS Drive/Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS VE228H 21.5 inch
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Window Edition
Audio Device(s) Built in HD
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 750 Plus 750W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#21
Well according to that pic it looks like a slandered M-ATX board so i think if he gets a M-ATX board he should be fine the only thing that looks a little different is that little half circle cut out at the top right hand corner about an inch down don't know why its like that
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,477 (2.28/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#22
The screw pattern is standard though,so any m-atx board should fit.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Houston, Texas
#23
I really appreciate the replies everyone, gonna head on over to Fry's or ComputerUSA and see if I can find parts there, if not, Newegg it is.
 
Top