• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I know which Bios are compatible with my Graphics Card?

Sergiiitooooo

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Location
España
Hello!!

I'm just starting to learn about graphics cards and I'm even more of a newbie on how to change the bios! I never did it !

Basically, my question is that I have to take into account to know if a Bios of another Graphics Card is compatible with mine?

My graphics card is a RTX 2060 Super "Gainward Ghost" and the Bios version is 90.06.44.40.02 and according to the Bios version the manufacturer is PNY.

I don't know what parameters I should look at to know what I should look at to change the Bios.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,316 (2.84/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Don't change it. Easy as that.
 

Sergiiitooooo

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Location
España
Why?

I am aware of the consequences and there is only one way to do it and that is to try.

I am not afraid of the process. What happens is that I don't know which one or ones I should look at to choose one or the other Bios.

And as much as I look for information I can't find it.

Any help or guidance would be great
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,316 (2.84/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
There's literally no reason for you to do anything with it. vBios are made for that card and will only ever 100% work for that card. Of course you can be like 99% of the other threads with bricked cards, if you want.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
1,250 (0.87/day)
There's literally no reason for you to do anything with it. vBios are made for that card and will only ever 100% work for that card. Of course you can be like 99% of the other threads with bricked cards, if you want.

Excellent advice. I just don't get it. Users flashing they cards when prices of GPU are very high, let alone it hard to get hold of the most up-to-date GFX card.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,316 (2.84/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Excellent advice. I just don't get it. Users flashing they cards when prices of GPU is very high, let alone it hard to get hold of the most up-to-date GFX card.
I don't get it either. The influx of people either being dumb, trolling, and/or just not listening or caring is frustrating.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,841 (1.51/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
follow @Toothless advice its good
the best bios is the one it came with
unless the oem recomends a new one to fix issues and supplies a suitable one

People flash non standard bios to either unlock performance or power
Flashing any Bios brings a Risk of it failing and bricking your card
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,654 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
My graphics card is a RTX 2060 Super "Gainward Ghost" and the Bios version is 90.06.44.40.02 and according to the Bios version the manufacturer is PNY.
Wrong, the Bios version number will not show you who manufactured the card as the same Bios version can be used across manufacturers.
The device ID and Sub Vendor ID indicate which Bios could possibly be used.
As others have said, if it's working, leave it alone.
 

FireFox

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
6,733 (2.58/day)
Location
Germany
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
I am aware of the consequences and there is only one way to do it and that is to try.
Yup and then coming back with a new thread asking for HELP because something went wrong?

Not judging just saying, if i were you I would keep in mind @Toothless advice.

And this one too
Excellent advice. I just don't get it. Users flashing they cards when prices of GPU are very high, let alone it hard to get hold of the most up-to-date GFX card.
 
Last edited:

Sergiiitooooo

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Location
España
Wrong, the Bios version number will not show you who manufactured the card as the same Bios version can be used across manufacturers.
The device ID and Sub Vendor ID indicate which Bios could possibly be used.
As others have said, if it's working, leave it alone.
On the main page I looked for my model to see if it said compatible Bios for my graphics card and 23 rtx 2060 super models appear and each one has a different bios.

I confirmed my bios model with the one that appears in techpowerup and it was PNY, then I saw the photo and it matches my model.

I just want to say that it has helped me to identify it and since the 23 rtx 2060 super have different bios models on the web, that's why I said it that way.

LAI really appreciate the advice, I will surely save an RTX from a painful death ☺️☺️☺️ I think for the first time I will be prudent and I will not jump into the pool without knowing if there is water.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,964 (4.16/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Hello!!

I'm just starting to learn about graphics cards and I'm even more of a newbie on how to change the bios! I never did it !

Basically, my question is that I have to take into account to know if a Bios of another Graphics Card is compatible with mine?

My graphics card is a RTX 2060 Super "Gainward Ghost" and the Bios version is 90.06.44.40.02 and according to the Bios version the manufacturer is PNY.

I don't know what parameters I should look at to know what I should look at to change the Bios.
The one that came with your card is compatible with it. Don't touch it.

Unlike a motherboard BIOS, video card BIOSes don't optimize performance or introduce new features. New video card BIOSes are only released when (for example) a new revision of VRAM chips is used and uses different timings. Sometimes you can use that to squeeze a little more juice out of your card, but if you don't know how that works, you have no business messing with it.

I don't get it either. The influx of people either being dumb, trolling, and/or just not listening or caring is frustrating.
That's a little uncalled for. Some people just like to tinker and learn things that way.
But yes, a video card BIOS is about the last place where you can tinker to learn something.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
1,572 (1.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R5 5600X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT, TY-143, AS5
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I don't know.. seems like he still wants to do it :D

Lets wait for his new thread asking how to fix a bricked 2060 :lovetpu:
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,316 (2.84/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
That's a little uncalled for. Some people just like to tinker and learn things that way.
But yes, a video card BIOS is about the last place where you can tinker to learn something.
It's probably a little extreme yes, but when so many people flood in with bricked cards you gotta think "what's going through their mind?" It's different from knowing the dangers to knowing and doing it anyway, then getting upset that you shot yourself in the foot.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,964 (4.16/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
It's probably a little extreme yes, but when so many people flood in with bricked cards you gotta think "what's going through their mind?" It's different from knowing the dangers to knowing and doing it anyway, then getting upset that you shot yourself in the foot.
Yeah well, "more money than brains" was invented way before the video card :D

Just try to be helpful, offer your advice and if the other party insists on not taking it and then complaining... put them on your ignore list and move on.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
1,572 (1.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R5 5600X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT, TY-143, AS5
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Sorry about that. It probably was a little uncalled for.
 

Sergiiitooooo

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Location
España
The one that came with your card is compatible with it. Don't touch it.

Unlike a motherboard BIOS, video card BIOSes don't optimize performance or introduce new features. New video card BIOSes are only released when (for example) a new revision of VRAM chips is used and uses different timings. Sometimes you can use that to squeeze a little more juice out of your card, but if you don't know how that works, you have no business messing with it.


That's a little uncalled for. Some people just like to tinker and learn things that way.
But yes, a video card BIOS is about the last place where you can tinker to learn something.
I really appreciate this message. Now I understand why I should not modify the bios. I even read in some places that you could flash the 2070 ones and I was left with that thorn to get the best performance from it. It was true that I gave up my desire but of course I was sad because I thought a lot of performance was gained. I repeat it by itself, it is not clear, I really appreciate the advice because before contacting With all of you I was going to try yes or yes. I feel better now and also keep the computer alive
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,654 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
On the main page I looked for my model to see if it said compatible Bios for my graphics card and 23 rtx 2060 super models appear and each one has a different bios.

I confirmed my bios model with the one that appears in techpowerup and it was PNY, then I saw the photo and it matches my model.

I just want to say that it has helped me to identify it and since the 23 rtx 2060 super have different bios models on the web, that's why I said it that way.

LAI really appreciate the advice, I will surely save an RTX from a painful death ☺️☺️☺️ I think for the first time I will be prudent and I will not jump into the pool without knowing if there is water.
No problems, a quick search for that Bios version brings up 4 different brand cards:
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,786 (1.94/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
I really appreciate this message. Now I understand why I should not modify the bios. I even read in some places that you could flash the 2070 ones and I was left with that thorn to get the best performance from it. It was true that I gave up my desire but of course I was sad because I thought a lot of performance was gained. I repeat it by itself, it is not clear, I really appreciate the advice because before contacting With all of you I was going to try yes or yes. I feel better now and also keep the computer alive
There are people that are successful as flashing a new bios, they either have lots of experience doing it or just flat out got lucky. If you want to learn the process, go out and buy used cards to practice on, that way its not a huge loss, even bricked cards are worth something to somebody.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,654 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
even bricked cards are worth something to somebody.
Off topic:
Apparently 4 or 5 times the price now, compared to 12 months ago.
Ex mining cards needing a reflash like the rx570/580 were $100 - 150, now they are around $500 here. :shadedshu:
 

Sergiiitooooo

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Location
España
No hay problema, una búsqueda rápida de esa versión de Bios muestra 4 tarjetas de marcas diferentes:
[URL unfurl = "true"] https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios....44.40.02&interface=&memType=&memSize=&since= [/ URL]

Yes, de hecho creo que ni siquiera sé, cuál Tarjeta gráfica tengo. En la caja de envoltura dice Gainward y allí en la búsqueda también está. Lo que me ha engañado es que en el criterio de búsqueda dice Todo, Nvidia y sin verificar. Así que busqué "todos" porque en mi opinión debería incluir "todos" . Me imagino que será un mal movimiento de Google Translate (no lo he verificado). Thanks mate
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,929 (1.32/day)
Location
Long Island
How do I know which Bios are compatible with my Graphics Card?

If it came with it, it's compatible. I'd compare changing it with driving 60 mph at night in the snow with no headlights.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,841 (1.51/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Kind of rude to quote someone and have it translated into another language when entire thread is in english #21
 
Top