• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How do I overclock a Pentium D?

Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#1
As you can tell from my specs I have a Pentium D 925, which is just a crippled 930... I'd like to overclock it. My BIOS has all the needed settings to do it, but I've never overclocked a 'modern' CPU, so I don't have the first clue what settings to change. a quick Google search didn't reveal anything obvious except one review that claimed to get the 930 overclocked to 4.125GHz with the stock cooler, but they used a differnt brand of motherboard than mine. I do have an aftermarket cooler installed and idle at 46C (one hot chip, lol). So... What do I do first? :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2


With no multiplier adjustments available it was simply a matter bumping up the bus and adjusting the memory ratio for my P4D overclock.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#3


With no multiplier adjustments available it was simply a matter bumping up the bus and adjusting the memory ratio for my P4D overclock.
What kinda temps do you get with that?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
I am interested as well... 1.360 is the same as is read in CPU-z for mine at stock.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#6
I used the Asus Overclock Profile and chose to "Overclock 30%" and got this...

But BIOS is now saying my RAM is PC2 3200...
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#7
Okay... When I go into BIOS's overclocking area if I choose to overclock manually, I and presented with a field that allows me to choose the frequancey.... from 200 to 450 I think. Why can't they just say x.xxGHz...?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#8
you mean this page



or
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
1,818 (0.50/day)
Likes
241
Location
Just South of Mars
System Name Decent Lappy
#9


With no multiplier adjustments available it was simply a matter bumping up the bus and adjusting the memory ratio for my P4D overclock.
+1. The Jizzler knows the deal! Bump the bus, watch your temps. That simple. What kinda oc'ing have you attempted with your ram? (If any) Not a necessity, but if you can it will help out..................
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#10
you mean this page



or
the bottom one. I set it to around 260 and got 3.9GHz, but at 4GHz, so as Windows tried to load it shuts off for a couple seconds and then powers back on...
Actually, if I overclock even just a little bit, when i save the settings made in BOIS or Restart from Windows, the tower completely shuts off for a couple seconds and then powers back on; that's not normal, so should it worry me?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#11
+1. The Jizzler knows the deal! Bump the bus, watch your temps. That simple. What kinda oc'ing have you attempted with your ram? (If any) Not a necessity, but if you can it will help out..................
Well, if I choose to overclock via the Overclock profile, it underclocks my RAM... BIOS will say it's PC2 3200 but CPUZ says overwise.... atm, the RAM is still set within the PC2 5300 range... Anything above that and Windows will not start.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#12
^^ Asus Mb will do that some times with the bios reload [more ofton than not it shows it's ??? it self as to post or give you the 'F1' option
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#13
^^ Asus Mb will do that some times with the bios reload [more ofton than not it shows it's ??? it self as to post or give you the 'F1' option
So Asus should exit the mobo arena and just make over priced shity laptops? :p
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#14
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#16
no it's just it "really don't like" the setting you set but it will post any way but not stable ...
have a read ....http://www.digital-daily.com/motherboard/asus-p5ld2-deluxe/index4.htm
....... http://www.digital-daily.com/motherboard/asus-p5ld2-deluxe/index5.htm might give you some insight
:toast: ty.

I honestly don't know why Asus won't release a BIOS update to support core 2 Duos and Quads... The board supports upto a 1333MHz FSB (but only PC2 6400 RAM), so it's perfectly capable or running the Core 2s with a new BIOS... *sigh*
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#18
^^ LOL because they are a money hungry corp that wants to sell sell sell the latetest & greatest only :)
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#21
I'm going to try to make this bitch hit 4GHz... =D *slaps Intel for not having Hyper-Threading on the regular Pentium D and then kicks them them releasing chips that run hot enough to heat an Antartic orphanage* Asus, you guys are bastards too! lol.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#22
Memory info
Asus P5LD2 Deluxe
Stable DDR667 Timings - 2 DIMMs
(2/4 slots populated - 1 Dual-Channel Bank)
Clock Speed: 200MHz (800FSB)
Timing Mode: 667MHz - Default
CAS Latency: 3
RAS to CAS Delay: 2
RAS Precharge: 2
RAS Cycle Time: 8
Voltage: 2.1V
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#23
What kinda temps do you get with that?
About 58-59 under load.

Using a Scythe Ninja in a Lian-Li A17 (I need to update my system specs).

The P4D is decently lapped, though I didn't do that good on the Ninja. Dropped 2 degrees overall.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#24
I'm going to try to make this bitch hit 4GHz... =D *slaps Intel for not having Hyper-Threading on the regular Pentium D and then kicks them them releasing chips that run hot enough to heat an Antartic orphanage* Asus, you guys are bastards too! lol.
Good goal. At 266 FSB, you should be able to get the memory at 333Mhz.

On my board it would be like this:

-img gone-

4Ghz with your 15x mult chip.

If not stable, probably have to bump up the voltage a bit.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#25
I tried 4GHz and Windows would not even start up. I had the memory timing set to Auto and Bios decided I had PC2 4800, so I lower the CPU freq. to 250 and I am sitting at 3.75GHz... I'll keep trying. The voltages are all set to auto; I'm scared of changing them and having my CPU or RAM get fried.