• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I stop tripping the circuit breaker.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
If you have any advice I would be glad to hear it, need something to do after I just failed at fixing my old PS3 :/

It may very well be the circuit breaker, as others have said, but why not isolate the problem for certain?

Can you verify that another equivalent load causes the breaker to trip? For example, as I asked you previously, do you have power tools or a blowdryer you can plug into that circuit?

Also, I would ask if the PSU (and everything else on the circuit) operates with no problem, (unless I misunderstood the procedure you are following) and the breaker only trips when you turn on the PSU power switch, why turn the PSU power switch off at all?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,526 (0.32/day)
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage KINGSTON SNVS250G 256GB M.2 + 2 data disks
Display(s) Dell S2421NX
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
It's a brand new PSU so I doubt that would be the problem especially since it does fine once it is on and stays on with no issue for 12+ hours, I'm probably just going to do a Home Depot run sometime this week for a new breaker and if that doesn't work just call an electrician maybe.

The TV I commented also worked fine indefinitely "when it wanted" but in other cases it caused the breaker to kick. I think you have a bad appliance like the PSU (even if it's new), or even the surge suppressor.

If you said when computer worked fine and you could turn on every appliance in you room without any problem then I would think the breaker is fine, maybe I am wrong and the problem was the breaker,
but my experience was that with identical symptoms as yours.


EDIT: the TV I am commenting WORKED FINE IN STANDBY, but when turning it on with the remote control kicked the breaker SOMETIMES, in other cases it WORKED fine the problem was the TV and not the breaker. I think the same could apply to a computer. So I would try another things before touching the breaker, but anyone can do what they want.

I think Arctucas is totally right.
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.07/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
It may very well be the circuit breaker, as others have said, but why not isolate the problem for certain?

Can you verify that another equivalent load causes the breaker to trip? For example, as I asked you previously, do you have power tools or a blowdryer you can plug into that circuit?

Also, I would ask if the PSU (and everything else on the circuit) operates with no problem, (unless I misunderstood the procedure you are following) and the breaker only trips when you turn on the PSU power switch, why turn the PSU power switch off at all?

Fair enough. I bow to your superior knowledge on this topic. :respect:
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
It may very well be the circuit breaker, as others have said, but why not isolate the problem for certain?

Can you verify that another equivalent load causes the breaker to trip? For example, as I asked you previously, do you have power tools or a blowdryer you can plug into that circuit?

Also, I would ask if the PSU (and everything else on the circuit) operates with no problem, (unless I misunderstood the procedure you are following) and the breaker only trips when you turn on the PSU power switch, why turn the PSU power switch off at all?

I do have an ancient blowdryer somewhere but no power tools at all, also it's not when I turn the PSU power switch on/off it's when I power on the system, if I have left it just in standby and turn on the system it will trip the breaker and also if I don't wait around 10 seconds after plugging it in before turning it on it will also trip it.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
I do have an ancient blowdryer somewhere but no power tools at all, also it's not when I turn the PSU power switch on/off it's when I power on the system, if I have left it just in standby and turn on the system it will trip the breaker and also if I don't wait around 10 seconds after plugging it in before turning it on it will also trip it.

I am still a bit confused.

The PSU is plugged into the receptacle, and the PSU power switch is on, correct?

You are not unplugging the PSU or turning off the PSU power switch at any time?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I am still a bit confused.

The PSU is plugged into the receptacle, and the PSU power switch is on, correct?

You are not unplugging the PSU or turning off the PSU power switch at any time?

I am turning off the PSU power switch after I power down the computer, if I don't do that then then it has tripped the breaker on two separate occasions when trying to turn my computer back on.

Procedure for powering on:
Plug power cable into surge protector.
Flip Power switch on PSU.
Wait 10 seconds.
Power on computer.
All good.

Procedure for turning off:
Shut down computer.
Flip PSU switch off.
Unplug from surge protector.

If I had done that earlier I would have made myself clearer I think, sorry.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
I am turning off the PSU power switch after I power down the computer, if I don't do that then then it has tripped the breaker on two separate occasions when trying to turn my computer back on.

Procedure for powering on:
Plug power cable into surge protector.
Flip Power switch on PSU.
Wait 10 seconds.
Power on computer.
All good.

Procedure for turning off:
Shut down computer.
Flip PSU switch off.
Unplug from surge protector.

If I had done that earlier I would have made myself clearer I think, sorry.

No problem, I understand now.

Now, load the circuit with the blowdryer and see if it also trips the circuit breaker. Ideally, the blowdryer should be about 1000 Watts.

Plug it directly into the receptacle outlet, not the surge protector.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,516 (0.69/day)
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
No problem, I understand now.

Now, load the circuit with the blowdryer and see if it also trips the circuit breaker. Ideally, the blowdryer should be about 1000 Watts.

Plug it directly into the receptacle outlet, not the surge protector.

That worked fine, and it says it is a 1600w blowdryer but it's also nearly 20 years old or more I think and doesn't really have much power to it so I'm not sure if that's a good test or not :/
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
That worked fine, and it says it is a 1600w blowdryer but it's also nearly 20 years old or more I think and doesn't really have much power to it so I'm not sure if that's a good test or not :/

OK, so the blowdryer did not trip the circuit breaker?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
OK, so the blowdryer did not trip the circuit breaker?

Yeah the circuit breaker was fine with the blowdryer plugged in but I think it's only because it's a poor quality blowdryer since if im not mistaken this room should only be good for 1800w and I'm sure my computer is exceeding at least 400w and the blowdryer was supposed to be 1600w.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Yeah the circuit breaker was fine with the blowdryer plugged in but I think it's only because it's a poor quality blowdryer since if im not mistaken this room should only be good for 1800w and I'm sure my computer is exceeding at least 400w and the blowdryer was supposed to be 1600w.

If the blowdryer was getting hot and was blowing air full force, I would guess it was loading the circuit considerably, enough for our purposes anyway.

Next, try plugging the PC directly into the receptacle, not the surge protector, and see if that trips the circuit breaker.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
If the blowdryer was getting hot and was blowing air full force, I would guess it was loading the circuit considerably, enough for our purposes anyway.

Next, try plugging the PC directly into the receptacle, not the surge protector, and see if that trips the circuit breaker.

Plugging the PC directly in was fine, it didn't trip the breaker and I also went and redid the blowdryer test to make sure it got hot and went full force, that also was fine and did not trip the breaker.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
OK, plugged directly into the receptacle, the circuit breaker does not trip, so maybe the surge protector is the problem?

What brand/model is it?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
OK, plugged directly into the receptacle, the circuit breaker does not trip, so maybe the surge protector is the problem?

What brand/model is it?

Philips SPP1189
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Philips SPP1189

Well, at least it is not a 'no-name', but if taking it out of the circuit means the breaker no longer trips, perhaps a replacement is in order.

I would try using the PC plugged directly into the receptacle for a couple of days, just to be sure, and if the breaker is not tripping, then I would consider a new surge protector.

Since the 1600 Watt blowdryer did not trip the circuit breaker, I believe the circuit breaker is OK.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Well, at least it is not a 'no-name', but if taking it out of the circuit means the breaker no longer trips, perhaps a replacement is in order.

I would try using the PC plugged directly into the receptacle for a couple of days, just to be sure, and if the breaker is not tripping, then I would consider a new surge protector.

Since the 1600 Watt blowdryer did not trip the circuit breaker, I believe the circuit breaker is OK.

I have been needing a new surge protector anyway since my modem and router have odd shaped plugs that make certain outlets on the surge protector unusable anyway so I guess this works just fine for me, do you have any recommendations for a good surge protector?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
861 (0.19/day)
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
I have been needing a new surge protector anyway since my modem and router have odd shaped plugs that make certain outlets on the surge protector unusable anyway so I guess this works just fine for me, do you have any recommendations for a good surge protector?

if you can, get a decent UPS and skip the surge protector. UPS's will protect you better for over/under voltages and general oddities that can occur in power lines.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
if you can, get a decent UPS and skip the surge protector. UPS's will protect you better for over/under voltages and general oddities that can occur in power lines.

I might do that then since it sounds like a good idea to me.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
I am using an APC P11VT3.

However, there are several quality units available from reputable manufactures such as APC, Belkin, Tripplite, to name a few.

There is some debate as to whether surge protectors, also known TVSS (Transient Voltage Surge Suppressor) devices actually do anything to protect electrical equipment. It is up to you to decide if you need one or not.

I am also using an APC Back-UPS RS 1500VA.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I am using an APC P11VT3.

However, there are several quality units available from reputable manufactures such as APC, Belkin, Tripplite, to name a few.

There is some debate as to whether surge protectors, also known TVSS (Transient Voltage Surge Suppressor) devices actually do anything to protect electrical equipment. It is up to you to decide if you need one or not.

Well that is certainly encouraging me to get a UPS since I don't want my electronics fried.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,404 (0.40/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Seasonic Prime PX-1300
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,727 (0.42/day)
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
See my edited post^^^

If only the equivalent they recommend was 150 $ cheaper lol 199 $ for that thing is way out of my current price range after building my new system in mid September.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
2,313 (0.41/day)
Location
If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
System Name Hogan's Crap
Processor Intel i3-2120 Crap!
Motherboard Dell POS Crap!
Cooling Stock Crap!
Memory 4 GB Kingston DDR3 10600 Crap!
Video Card(s) Stock Crap!
Storage 500 GB 5400 rpm Crap!
Software Windows 10 64bit
If only the equivalent they recommend was 150 $ cheaper lol 199 $ for that thing is way out of my current price range after building my new system in mid September.

If you want to properly protect that new build in mid Sept. You might have to bite the bullet and get protection first. A new build is worthless if its burnt up. ;)
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10,922 (2.10/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Well, at least it is not a 'no-name', but if taking it out of the circuit means the breaker no longer trips, perhaps a replacement is in order.

I would try using the PC plugged directly into the receptacle for a couple of days, just to be sure, and if the breaker is not tripping, then I would consider a new surge protector.

Since the 1600 Watt blowdryer did not trip the circuit breaker, I believe the circuit breaker is OK.

:laugh: I just went through this exact issue about 6 months ago. After trouble shooting the problem as Arctucas has explained I did in fact find that the surge protector was this problem all along. About the only difference was that my system would be running just fine and all of a sudden the breaker would trip. I am running on a 20A breaker with the computer room and one hall light is all.

As with many suggestions, I first figured it was the breaker. However before just running out and buying a Square D breaker for the main box I did in fact test the plug first. As with your scenario, everything was fine:p Bottom line; it was the surge protector.

Change that and keep us posted:rockout:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top