1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do you like my new NAS parts?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/s79hK8
    Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/s79hK8/by_merchant/
    Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/s79hK8/benchmarks/

    CPU: AMD 5350 2.05Ghz Quad-Core Processor ($59.84 @ SuperBiiz)
    Motherboard: ASRock AM1H-ITX Mini ITX AM1 Motherboard ($58.98 @ SuperBiiz)
    Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($44.98 @ OutletPC)
    Storage: A-Data Premier Pro SP600 32GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($35.99 @ Amazon)
    Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($81.97 @ OutletPC)
    Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($81.97 @ OutletPC)
    Case: Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced (Black) Mini ITX Tower Case ($39.99 @ Newegg)
    Power Supply: Corsair Builder 430W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($19.99 @ Newegg)
    Wireless Network Adapter: Intel 7260HMW 802.11ac Mini-PCI-Express Wi-Fi Adapter ($32.99 @ Newegg)
    Total: $456.70
    (Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
    (Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-06-03 01:12 EDT-0400)
     
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,312 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,001
    Location:
    Mexico
    I've seen reports of problems with the Asmedia SATA controller on the Asrock boards. You might need to pick up a SATA card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    Location:
    Vietnam
    I was looking for a 32gb SSD myself. I wanted something around $30, but, when I clicked on the link to amazon, it is $44. You might as well spend $20-$30 more for a 128gb drive.
     
  4. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    The OS is Linux. So the SSD does not need to be large. It will be run using Debian 7.4 x64. It will be my NAS/NZB/Media server. The mobo was a choice of 4 mini-ITX boards. The only other one that had a mini-pci-express slot was an MSI board.
     
  5. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,338 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    GMT +2
  6. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
  7. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    224 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    it's an AMD zacate, but yeah, much slower than 5350
     
  8. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,338 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    GMT +2
    it isnt intel it is amd
    what data you plan to process with network attached storage?
    look at the nas reviews. most of 2 bay nas are powered by atom or arm 800-1200mhz single core (rarely dual core) processors with 256mb-1gb ram and can do it fine as nas/media servers/video surveillance.
    you also dont need full scale os. you can try download synology's dsm or asustor's adm or qnap's qts and try install em on standard hardwar

    edit:
    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/kyd44D
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014
  9. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    224 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    true, but i reckon it would run out of juice when it comes to on-the-fly transcoding
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,338 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    GMT +2
  11. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    224 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,338 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    GMT +2
    tried with next button at the bottom of the tomshardware reveiw?
    btw you need on the fly trascoding for what?
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,337 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,793
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would buy a PCIex controller card instead of using on board and I also hope you are not going to run this via wireless unless you have a nice AC WLAN router backing it up.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Well Brandon, It will be directly connected to my Router. It will be my NAS box, NZB Box, (Usenet - Massive data processing), Media Server (Plex, XBMC, etc), and anything else that comes to mind with it. I chose the latest AMD chip since for one, it beats out an A6-3500 in everything except the L2 Cache, it is low power (Max TDP 25W), and I have used an E-350. An E-350 is pretty shit when it comes to Media clients. I used an E-350 in a Media Client connected to a Media Server. That sucker choked on everything I fed it except for the old school SD content. On that note, Intel's Atom is not much better. I will look into an LSI board brandon to replace the stock chips.
     
  15. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,338 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    GMT +2
    why you call it nas then.
    it is more like server for everything that comes in mind then nas
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,337 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,793
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I just went by the parts list cause it listed a wireless adapter. Never messed with the APU quads so I cannot attest to their ability to handle all of that load.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Because most NAS boxes out there are small servers. For Example the Western Digital MyCloud NAS is a server. The Zyxtel ones are media servers etc. Technically, a NAS is a server. Every NAS enclosure I have owned has server software. Even the OSes you offered were Server OSes. Yes a NAS OS is also a server OS. It Serves media.
     
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,798 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,632
    Depends on how you use the term. ;) It is Network attached storage after all, and that is what it has been in the past. In recent times they have become more and more versatile mini servers, that is true. The cheapest ones are still pretty dumb though. Calling it a NAS is a bit degrading imo.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Eh, That is true. The thing is though that to be truely attached storage via network connection, there had to be software that served the files over the network like a Samba Server. I had an el-cheapo NAS enclosure that cost me ~$40. It still ran Server software (SAMBA, NFS, etc). If it had no server type software, it would be a External Hard drive but not connected via the Network. To have a storage solution be connected to a network you need several things: an IP address, a DNS server address, a Default gateway address, a Subnet mask, the OS and software to set those settings, the ability to remotely access data (Samba/NFS), and a few others. Since the software used for SAMBA can do other things, why not do them? My old $40 NAS could torrent as well. You just had to enable the feature; it was a craptastic Galaxy NAS.
     
  20. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    224 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    yeah, been there, done that. e350 ain't gonna cut it :laugh:
    i, myself, plan to build one like yours, but i might have to settle with msi board, that asrock is no where to be seen here :shadedshu:
     
  21. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Yeah, I might have to try the MSI board. TBH i am still a little skittish of MSI after they burned me with the GTX 670 OC board I bought from them was underclocked and broken from the factory. I am curious about the quality of their motherboards. It would still provide the mini-pciexpress slot. ?I may put one in my Mom's ancient HP Pavilion Slimline S720n. I plan to take the 2006 motherboard in it (mini-ITX) and swap it with one of the boards for the AM1 and drop in the 5350 chip and 4GB of DDR3 1600. That should be a kick in the pants for it. ^_^ It would only cost ~$133 to upgrade it and we could then use it for a Media Server Client. Currenitly, the GPU in it is onboard and an RS480 XPress 200 ATI chip from Hell. XBMC wont even run because the chip does not have openGL drivers. That is how ancient that thing is.
     
  22. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,309 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,207
    Since you are going Linux and this is going to ( I assume ) stream media to a DLNA capable device like a television, make sure that the media software you use (xbmc?) supports AMD's APU for graphics acceleration.
     
    Athlon2K15 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    224 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    i currently using msi a88x gaming running 24/7 for mining :D and a a75ia - which i had to replace once coz the previous died, had my corsair h100 leaking :shadedshu:

    anyway, if you go with msi, you have to buy add on sata controller card, or limit your sata ssd/hdd to only 2
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)