• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do you make Firefox more like chrome?

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.17/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#1
I recently switched back to firefox from chrome because of a few annoying problems with chrome.

There are a few features in chrome I like, that firefox doesn't do and it is starting to get on my nerves.


1. When you open a new Tab, make it open right next to the tab that you just were in.
Chrome did this and I loved it, but firefox is really annoying and goes all the way to the other side.
2. When you get many tabs, it makes a scroll thing so that you need to scroll along to get to each tab.
Chrome just shrunk the tab sizes and I could see them all lined up.
3. Also I liked how in chrome you could drag a tab out, and then place it back in as you please.

I know firefox is really customizable, I just don't know how to get it to be like that.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,921 (1.06/day)
Likes
892
Location
West Chester, OH
#3
Add on's for sure. Chrome IMO is the fastest, best browser out. The first time I tried the beta I was hooked. Every other browser just crawls in comparison. I :love: Chrome.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.33/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#4
I don't use Chrome specifically because I can't use my add-ons on it.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.17/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#5
Add on's for sure. Chrome IMO is the fastest, best browser out. The first time I tried the beta I was hooked. Every other browser just crawls in comparison. I :love: Chrome.
I've gotten weird crashes, very few websites don't display correctly but I got sick of it anyway.


to be honest, coming from chrome and going to Firefox... I think it's all hype, the only thing chrome is noticeably faster in is java script.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.66/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#6
You can move tabs in firefox, just click hold and drag, as for the other maybe search for a group tab addon if one exists.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.17/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#7
You can move tabs in firefox, just click hold and drag, as for the other maybe search for a group tab addon if one exists.
I know what you mean, i have a hard time describing it but that isnt what i mean

I mean when you pull out a tab, it becomes a full window, and then u can take that window and put it back in the lineup with the other tabs.


lol, ill search through addons... Ill go back to chrome in a few months probably.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.66/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#8
I know what you mean, i have a hard time describing it but that isnt what i mean

I mean when you pull out a tab, it becomes a full window, and then u can take that window and put it back in the lineup with the other tabs.


lol, ill search through addons... Ill go back to chrome in a few months probably.
ah i see - that's a pretty nifty idea.
 
Top