• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do you overclock? (newbie)

Possu81

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I would like to push more speed to my new AMD 64 3200+ processor and thought to ask what's the best way to do it? I am a little bit newbie in overclocking.

My mainboard is KN8-SLI which has some options to overclock in BIOS. Memory is 2x512Mb Kingston valueram CL2.5.

I have read from somewhere that if you reduce multiplier to 9.5x, you can raise FSB more that on 10x and get optimal speed. Is this right?

If I just increase FSB by hand 40, processor should be then 2.4 Ghz? Also memory bus will go up to 240 Mhz (think Kingston will deal with it). Right? Do I need increase voltage if I do this?

I won't try to push it limits but a little bit overclocking would be fun to do. I have only boxed cooling system on it tho :(
 

cjoyce1980

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
714 (0.17/day)
Likes
11
System Name Xbox 360 Super Elite
Processor 3.2GHz PowerPC Tri-Core Xenon
Memory 512MB 700MHz GDDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) ATI Xenos @ 500 MHz
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 26" Samsung LCD HDTV
Case Super Elite (COD:MW2 Edition)
Audio Device(s) 5.1
Power Supply 120w
Software NXE
#2
you have the right idea, with overclocking most if its trial and error. increase your FSB by 1MHz (or with some bioses 2MHz) at a time with the current multipler, if it doesnt work then, turn the power off for about 10secs and turn on, then back in the bios to reduce the multipler. there are no set rules with overclocking, just hard won rules as each pc is unique.
 

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#3
Try to find a good article on the web that treats the subject of overclocking the A64, for your own good. It's way too complex for a beginner to just jump in there and have blind expectations. You should be weary of the stability of your system when overclocking, specially if you think *valueram* can overclock with the rest of the system. Don't be fooled! First learn how the different multipliers work and then try it out. A64 are the MOST COMPLEX processors to overclock because you have an imbedded memory controller right in the CPU. More complex to overclock, but also more potential for speed increase, and more potential to make your system unstable and crash miserably.

PS: Click in my signature's A64 3000+, it's a link to an overclocking calculator. But still, you need to understand what you're doing, not just play with numbers.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.15/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#4
I've been missing the noob questions. Good to see a new one! (no offence meant!)
 

rpg711

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
781 (0.18/day)
Likes
0
Location
MA
Processor Intel P-4 3ghz @ to 4.7ghz 1.55 vcore
Motherboard ECS C19-A SLI
Cooling Thermaltake Golden Orb 2
Memory OCz ddr2 333mhz@ 432mhz 2 volts
Video Card(s) HIS ICEQ2 x800gto vivo 650/650 soon to volt mod
Storage 160gb seagate baracuda 7200 rpm+160gb western digital 7200rpm pata in pata raid 0
Display(s) Samsung 17" LCD
Case RAIDMAX MUSTANG
Audio Device(s) Realtec integrated sound with fiber optical and coaxal? lol never heard of that 1
Power Supply Ultra ULT31845 X-Finity 500W
Software Windows XP Pro,, getting 64 bit soon...
#5
Possu81 said:
I would like to push more speed to my new AMD 64 3200+ processor and thought to ask what's the best way to do it? I am a little bit newbie in overclocking.

My mainboard is KN8-SLI which has some options to overclock in BIOS. Memory is 2x512Mb Kingston valueram CL2.5.

I have read from somewhere that if you reduce multiplier to 9.5x, you can raise FSB more that on 10x and get optimal speed. Is this right?

If I just increase FSB by hand 40, processor should be then 2.4 Ghz? Also memory bus will go up to 240 Mhz (think Kingston will deal with it). Right? Do I need increase voltage if I do this?

I won't try to push it limits but a little bit overclocking would be fun to do. I have only boxed cooling system on it tho :(
alrite wat type of ram is it? and i suggest you get new cooling fannnnnnnn