1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How many times can u use your XP registration?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by HookeyStreet, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Hi,
    I own a legit Windows XP Home Edition (registered with Microsoft) and I was wondering if it was possible to install this on my other PC and register it again, or do I need another copy??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Hi:) Yes it's possible and no you don't need another copy ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    So I can install it on my second PC then activate it online?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Bingo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Cool, thanks m8 :) I was worried about activating it on the second machine incase it *ucks them both up.
    Thanks again :)

    Daz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Dont you have to purchase two product licenses?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Once you install it on the second computer it won't be a legit version on that computer :D
    Just install an illegal copy, would be the same.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Exactly.
    I think what Hookey is asking is, if he can use the same serial from his original WinXP in another PC, and he can do it, I've done it because the serial key that came with the OEM WinXP included with my Compaq PC cannot be activated anymore, I think I've formatted too many times, so I use the same original disk, and a serial from my brother's laptop everytime I install WinXp again.
    Btw, M$ should have considered ppl who changes its hardware configurations a lot and reformat their PCs, when they invented their stupid activation scheme. I was only able to format my PC like 6 times, and then it wouldn't activate anymore, I've even tried using the phone activation, and the fu**ing number M$ provides for my country doesn't work, I always get a busy tone.
    Then again, almost all of my original components from my Presario have been substituted, except for the keyboard, FDD, and one HDD :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    If you call microsoft, they will send you a new product key.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    That's exactly what I've done, 3 times, to the phone number that appears when I select my country from the activate windows thing and each I time was greeted by a busy tone. :confused:
    So much for worldwide M$ consumer support :rolleyes:

    Btw, congratulations on your 500th post ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Go to microsofts website and look for a support number.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I might do that the next time I have to format my PC, for the time being I have no problems with the CD key I use.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)