• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How much bandwidth?

Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,169 (4.68/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
How much bandwidth to the outside world do you need versus how much do you have?

I was fortunate enough to have 100 Mbps and it seems more than I actually need; if it was an option to save money, I would choose slower.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
4,857 (5.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
All I can say is if you go from 900+ mbps to 100-+ mbps you notice the change :banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,805 (2.13/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1911 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 22813 @ stock
I have 150 down now , prices will go up by about 2 EUROs per July but then I get a speedbump to 200 down from my ISP.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
18 (0.02/day)
Location
US of A
200Mbps download, like 15Mpbs upload. I would love to have 1Gbit. Our router probably can't handle that though XD
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,805 (2.13/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1911 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 22813 @ stock
Back in 2003 I had my first ADSL broadband connection , no wifi back then and a superfast 2mbps!!
I was used to dial-up but now was able to use the internet 24/7 if I wanted without additional costs!!
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
2,668 (1.15/day)
Location
Buenos Aires
System Name Ryzen Monster
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII WiFi
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Platinum
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB (4x8GB) 3200Mhz CMW16GX4M2C3200C16
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RX5700XT OC 8Gb
Storage WD Black 500GB NVMe 250Gb Samsung SSD, OCZ 500Gb SSD WD M.2 500Gb, plus three spinners up to 1.5Tb
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" UltraGear™ QHD/Samsung C27F591 curved
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX on board
Power Supply Corsair RM850X full modular
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
VR HMD Headphones Logitech G533 wireless
Software Windows 10 x64 Start 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy 4532 (9258 March 2021, 9399 July 2021)
Back in 2003 I had my first ADSL broadband connection , no wifi back then and a superfast 2mbps!!
I was used to dial-up but now was able to use the internet 24/7 if I wanted without additional costs!!
We also had ADSL back then with British Telecom and you could double the speed by joining two lines or something, but then you got charged twice if I remember correctly.
We also have 100Mbps which is perfectly fine for the time being.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,169 (4.68/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
My provider recently moved me from 100 Mbps to 200-300 Mbps (for the same price) but it doesn't make a great difference in practice; they have a 30 Mbps option which I'm not allowed, but if it ever becomes a (cheaper) option, I am wondering if I should take it.

We have a competitor laying fiber and such competition may give me options.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
4,857 (5.66/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Lower you go the more you notice speed changes

Fiber hell you're in giga land hard to slow that shit down :laugh:
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
65 (0.10/day)
Location
SE Asia
System Name Lenovo V14
Processor Athlon Gold 3150U (2C4T 2.4 - 3.3 GHz)
Motherboard Lenovo
Cooling Laptop Cooling
Memory 4 GB onboard + 8 GB DDR4-2400 MHz Hynix
Video Card(s) Onboard Radeon Graphics
Storage 256 GB WD NVMe SSD + 480 GB Sandisk SSD Plus SATA
Display(s) Shitty 768p TN Panel
Case Laptop Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard
Power Supply 65W Laptop Charger
Mouse Logitech Mini Mouse
Keyboard Lenovo
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores As long as enough for animu
Have 40/7 mbps here in SE Asia for around $23 per month. For regular browsing/streaming is enough I guess but only got like 25 mbps from Steam so it feels like a chore if I want to download 20+ GB games which are increasingly common nowadays. :/
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
We also had ADSL back then with British Telecom and you could double the speed by joining two lines or something, but then you got charged twice if I remember correctly.
We also have 100Mbps which is perfectly fine for the time being.
It was called Pair Bonding which was used by VDSL in 2013, Idk if anyone does it anymore because there is Vectoring and ofc fiber.

My provider recently moved me from 100 Mbps to 200-300 Mbps (for the same price) but it doesn't make a great difference in practice; they have a 30 Mbps option which I'm not allowed, but if it ever becomes a (cheaper) option, I am wondering if I should take it.

We have a competitor laying fiber and such competition may give me options.
Well see what they offer in price and if your current company won't budge then they lose a customer.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,279 (2.52/day)
Location
Germany
Processor A LOT... ( Alder Lake, Zen 3, Zen 2, Rocket Lake, Comet Lake... back to Bulldozer and Sandybridge.)
Motherboard A LOT... (Z490 Unify, Z590 Strix E, Z690 Pro A, B550 Strix F, B550 Tomahawk and older ones)
Cooling AIOs, NH D15, U12A/S, Fuma 2, one old Custom Loop from half a decade ago.
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB) Gear 1 CR1
Video Card(s) Almost all Ampere, two 6900XTs and other RDNA2, all Turing, all Pascal, Vegas, 980 Tis and older.
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB (external)
Display(s) Gigabyte M32U 4K 144Hz / ASUS ROG STRIX XG27UQR 4K 144Hz / Dell S2721DGFA / ASUS VG279QM 280Hz
Case NZXT H510 Flow, H710, Corsair 4000D Airflow, Carbide 540, Fractal Design Meshify S2, Phanteks P500A
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a Sharkoon Gaming DAC Pro S V2
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium, Straight Power 1200W Plat., Corsair RM750x
Mouse G303 Shroud Edition, Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, EC2-A
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
1000/50 + landline and free modem.
39,99€ per month (permanently)
i really like it especially with game sizes these days. downloading with around 120MB/s is insane :D
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12,572 (3.11/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
I've been recently very lucky with a fibre upgrade and install into my home, so I've gone from a 30/5 FTTC connection to a 950/200 FTTP connection and jesus wow... the difference is unreal and seeing download speeds from Steam as an example instead of 3.5MB to 4MB/sec to 118MB/sec (the fastest so far) its a night and day thing. I'm actually paying less for the full fibre connection as well, so, win win I say.

I believe the price is fixed forever but for 2 years, it doesn't go up via cost of living or whatever you'd like to call it as :) I'm very happy and lucky :)

However, I have had to upgrade my home network now on a few PCs since with my 1Gb wired network and now the 950Mb or 1Gb (not miles off) I do find my downloads slow down when doing a network transfer and downloading online, so 10Gb is the way forward. This setup is a bit of a stop gap for the moment but its amazing to see 1GB/sec transfer rates over your network :D
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2021
Messages
679 (1.83/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X (PBO enabled, no other OC) + Alphacool waterblock
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X570-I Gaming
Cooling custom loop: 240mm Primochill & 360mm Alphacool radiators & Noctua NF-F12 fans; NF-S12 chassis fans
Memory 32GB T-Force Dark Zα DDR4-4000 CL18 (no aRGB)
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming GeForce RTX 3080 Ti OC 12GB + Alphacool waterblock
Storage two m.2 SSDs, 4GB SATA SSD, 8GB SATA SSD
Display(s) LG OLED55C1PUB 4K@120Hz TV
Case Lian-Li O11D Mini + vertical GPU bracket
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek chip + Sony A/V receiver
Power Supply SilverStone SX800-LTI SFX-L
Mouse Glorious D Minus
Keyboard Keychron C1 tenkeyless (Gateron Reds)
VR HMD Menlo Park, CA dogchow (Oculus Rift S)
Software Redmond, WA dogchow (Windows 10 Pro, $7 from Keysoff)
Benchmark Scores My system matches standard results. I use benchmarks to set fan curves; I don't care about scores.
The bandwidth I need and the bandwidth I have seems to have matched for many years despite being on a pretty ghetto DSL connection.

Fiber is not available in my condo complex and I despite the local cable monopoly (Comcast Xfinity) which I used for a couple of years.

It is worth pointing out that

Have ≠ Need ≠ Want

Sure, I'd love one of those crazy fast fiber connections consumers in South Korea and Japan enjoy but I am not paying hundreds of US dollars for such a connection.

As far as I can tell, U.S. cellular service and broadband Internet service are massively overpriced. I realize that much of this has to do with the lack of U.S. federal government subsidies.

Fifty years ago, the United States of America had the best telecommunications infrastructure on the planet. Today, the USA is no longer the leader due to lack of prioritization by the government in categorizing Internet access as a basic need.
 
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
25 (0.00/day)
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory Team T-Force Vulcan 16GB(2x8GB) - DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 580 - 8GB
Storage Samsung 240GB 970 EVO M.2 2280, WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Viotek GN32Q 32" - 2560x1440p - 144hz, Acer H274HLBMID 27" - 1920x1080p - 60hz
Case Cougar Panzer-S
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 PRO, MSI Sistorm Gaming Mouse Pad
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K55
Software Win11 x64
Lucky they recently lit up our neighborhood with City owned fiber ran all the way into the house. For $60/mo, 1gbit/1gbit service and no data cap it's unbeatable. Pretty cool for being about 50mi North of Denver!
 

Attachments

  • Connexion Speed Test - 052822a.jpg
    Connexion Speed Test - 052822a.jpg
    93.9 KB · Views: 23
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
141 (0.14/day)
Here is what I can say on going from 175 mps to 600 mps while playing Overwatch. +5 Fps difference. And that is all. It does not matter how much you get down the line if you have your usual choke points. Things are not going to matter that much.

I say for most of my life I've been doing fine with under 200 mps. I only had to upgrade my cable package because I was pretty much forced too.

The extra bandwidth is when you have multiple items going on at the same time.

Years ago there was software that did regulate packet sharing as well as packet compression down the line.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
3,421 (1.08/day)
Location
Right on Shitsown Rd, 8.378 miles to your house
System Name The Little One
Processor i5-8279u
Motherboard AZW Speed S
Cooling Fan w/heat pipes + side & rear vents
Memory 32GB Crucial DDR4-3200 (2x 16GB)
Video Card(s) Iris Plus 655
Storage WD Black SN750 2TB m.2 + WD 2TB external nvme
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @1440p
Case Practically identical to a mac mini, just purrtier in slate blue, & with 3x usb ports on the front !
Audio Device(s) Yamaha ATS-1060 Bluetooth Soundbar & Subwoofer
Power Supply 65w brick
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2
Keyboard Logitech G613 mechanical wireless
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shitzu turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores PDQ - all things considered !
shhhh....

Although my account is supposed to be a 150 down/15 up, I just ran 5x speedtests, and got an avg of 242.16 down, 21.07 up, for my $80/mo...

And I be downloadin multiple fairly big files from the office PDQ (100-900GB each), as well as streamin my tunes & browsin da net too :)

Would I like a faster connection ? sure.... but for now, I seem to have sufficient bandwidth for my needs.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Lucky they recently lit up our neighborhood with City owned fiber ran all the way into the house. For $60/mo, 1gbit/1gbit service and no data cap it's unbeatable. Pretty cool for being about 50mi North of Denver!
So how is the modem hooked up inside? Ethernet or Fiber because the ONT is fiber and typically to ethernet for the modem itself
 
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
25 (0.00/day)
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory Team T-Force Vulcan 16GB(2x8GB) - DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 580 - 8GB
Storage Samsung 240GB 970 EVO M.2 2280, WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Viotek GN32Q 32" - 2560x1440p - 144hz, Acer H274HLBMID 27" - 1920x1080p - 60hz
Case Cougar Panzer-S
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 PRO, MSI Sistorm Gaming Mouse Pad
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K55
Software Win11 x64
So how is the modem hooked up inside? Ethernet or Fiber because the ONT is fiber and typically to ethernet for the modem itself
Fiber from the sandbox streetside all the way into the house/ONT where the structured wiring enclosure with copper ethernet leads out to the rest of the place.
 

Attachments

  • 20220601_000854903_iOS.jpg
    20220601_000854903_iOS.jpg
    7.2 MB · Views: 27
  • 20220601_000910438_iOS.jpg
    20220601_000910438_iOS.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 25
  • 20220601_123544824_iOS.jpg
    20220601_123544824_iOS.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 26
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
11,173 (1.84/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Wireless Ubiquity point to point, slow, and depending on the tower load and how much you stream they might kick your node for 5 minutes and the random ports they block that no one seems to know how to unblock. All for $80 a month. Supposed to be 30/5 but its actually like 25/5, I see them running new fiber up through the hills though......
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,169 (4.68/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Good to know that 30 Mbps is probably not going to cut it and I should just stick with what I have.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,349 (0.60/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Core i7 6950X @ 4,25GHz (1,28V)
Motherboard X99 SOC Champion (BIOS F23c + bifurcation mod)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X + 2x Delta 38mm PWM (Push-Pull)
Memory 4x Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz CL16 4x8GB (@3240MHz CL12.12.12.24 CR2T @ 1,47V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, 1x WD10EZEX (1TB), 2x HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 XL
Audio Device(s) Motu M4 (audio interface) + ATH-A900Z + Behringer C-1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V10/display.php?id=157143230295
I have symmetric 1Gbps over FTTH, and I use 1Gbit wired LAN everywhere with AC Wave2 router.
So, I'm pretty much set until my PCs are able to do 10Gbps I think ?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
996 (0.91/day)
Location
Mid EU
System Name I don't name my systems.
Processor i3-12100F @stock power limit
Motherboard ASUS PRIME B660-PLUS D4
Cooling ID-Cooling SE 224 XT ARGB V3 'CPU' / 3x Raijintek Auras 12 + 3x Cooler Master MF120L black case fans
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW ACX 3.0 @1974MHz Core/975mV Undervolt
Storage 3 TB Toshiba P300, 1 TB WD Blue, 1 TB Kingston A2000 NVMe, 256 GB Adata Spectrix s40g NVMe
Display(s) 29" 2560x1080 75 Hz / LG 29WK600-W
Case In Win 101c Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Hama uRage SoundZ 700
Power Supply Seasonic CORE GM 500W 80+ Gold
Mouse Canyon Puncher GM-20
Keyboard SPC Gear GK630K Tournament 'Kailh Brown'
Software Windows 10 Pro
I have this in my household currently but to be honest its completely overkill for my needs.
13228001238.png

Can get up to 500/30 or so.
Before this we had 100/10 Mbps and I was fine with that, for my use case stability is a lot more important since sometimes I play MMOs and such.
Getting kicked/DCed out of raids,etc is not fun at all or getting killed in Diablo 3 Hardcore mode when I happen to play that is even less fun. 'Had a few close calls already cause of connection issues but I got lucky..'

I guess the only upside of this is that I don't have to care about re DLing bigger games if I have to.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,169 (4.68/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Perhaps it is good that 30 Mbps is not an option for me.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Fiber from the sandbox streetside all the way into the house/ONT where the structured wiring enclosure with copper ethernet leads out to the rest of the place

Ok the green line on the nokia looks like fiber, so that looks like your PON-ONT (Passive Optical Network Optical Network Terminal) which goes to ethernet to a Gateway.

I used to do Copper and Fiber Installs in 2013 for AT&T, my Neighborhood is just getting FTTH/FTTP as of last year. I havent found a reason to switch as the copper plant has been good for over 40 years (encapsulated terminals) I'm just wondering how much the designs have progressed.

Get a pic of the nokia unit-just the part number.

do not post the serial #, mac address/ip address.
 
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
25 (0.00/day)
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Ultra Gaming
Cooling Stock
Memory Team T-Force Vulcan 16GB(2x8GB) - DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 580 - 8GB
Storage Samsung 240GB 970 EVO M.2 2280, WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Viotek GN32Q 32" - 2560x1440p - 144hz, Acer H274HLBMID 27" - 1920x1080p - 60hz
Case Cougar Panzer-S
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 PRO, MSI Sistorm Gaming Mouse Pad
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K55
Software Win11 x64
Ok the green line on the nokia looks like fiber, so that looks like your PON-ONT (Passive Optical Network Optical Network Terminal) which goes to ethernet to a Gateway.

I used to do Copper and Fiber Installs in 2013 for AT&T, my Neighborhood is just getting FTTH/FTTP as of last year. I havent found a reason to switch as the copper plant has been good for over 40 years (encapsulated terminals) I'm just wondering how much the designs have progressed.

Get a pic of the nokia unit-just the part number.

do not post the serial #, mac address/ip address.
It's a Nokia G-010G-A (Nokia 7368 ISAM G-010G-A ONT | Advanced Media Technologies, Inc. (goamt.com)). I opted for just the ONT and have my own router/switches/access-points. They also have an ONT wireless router (AC) but it's already outdated. And charge +$10/mo on that. They also offer 10gig/10gig service but it's overkill and costly at $300/mo.
 
Top