1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How much better is an AMD 64 x2 4800+ than my P4?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Widjaja, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Looking at going to AMD but I don't know how much better this CPU is compared to my current CPU.

    I'm looking at a AMD 64 X2 4800+

    At the moment I have a P4 3.0E @ 3.4Ghz
     
  2. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Should be a lot better. One, it's dual core. Two, it's a newer/better architecture. Are you looking at the one with the 1 MB L2 cache? If so, there's that too.
     
    Nemesis881 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,627 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Well the AMDs are better then P4's per clock/performance
    Example its like AMD stock 2.5GHz vs a P4 @ 4GHz +/-

    Are you going to just get a mobo and cpu ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah that whats confusing me

    Yeah that's whats confusing me.
    I've read a 2.4Ghz AMD is better than a P4 @ 3Ghz
    Yeah I'm changing to a new motherboard and CPU since the P43.0E HTcan't handle the X1950pro, even when I over clock the CPU.



    Why you ask if I'm just changing the motherboard and CPU?

    I'm wanting to get a CPU which can easily handle the X1950pro I have.

    I'm sick of the frames lagging when the CPU can't process the 'things' on screen fast enough.

    Actually it has been a little worse since I installed this GPU and today I just did a fresh install of windows and partitioned my HDD which did nothing.
     
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Keep in mind, if you don't want to buy new ram, you have to get a Socket 939 cpu and mobo to have an AMD.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,198 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Question for ya Widjaja, I've been kind of curious as to why you bold the components in your posts (I guess "things" isn't a component..)? No offense to it, just curious.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,613 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,093
    Wanting to be sure what emphasis words are?


    But yes. I moved from a single core 3.2Ghz P4 Prescott and a gig of RAM to a AMD 64 4000+ single core. Huge jump in gaming experience with or without overclocks. The dual core side will further increase performance and add multi-tasking benefits as well.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah I'm looking at a 939skt config so I'm sort of looking for bang for buck option at the moment which can handle the X1950pro without any CPU bottlenecking.

    I just hope a AMD 64 X2 4800+ 939skt and a ABIT AV8 3rd-eye motherboard with 2x 1GB sticks in dual channel will do the trick.

    People have been saying in forums 3Ghz P4's can handle this card.

    From someone who has experienced it forst hand, it's all lies.
     
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    LOL! How coincidental I didn't do it in that post though and I didn't read your post.

    I just find it easier to read what is being talked about if it's in bold.

    Just my preferrence I suppose.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Nothing wrong with it at all. It does make it easier to read. Just curiosity.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Yes, until the release of Intel's Core 2 line, AMD was the better buy for gaming and other similar tasks. You should get a huge jump in performance with what you are going to get.
     
    Nemesis881 and Widjaja say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I'm gonna hold you against that pbmaster.

    Okay done.:toast:
    I'll buy the the AMD 64 X2 4800+ and the ABIT AV8 3rd-eye motherboard and hope for the best.

    If it doesn't work I'll blame pbmaster!:D

    Just kidding.:slap:

    Never expected to go to AMD, but then again I didn't expect to go to ATi either as I was looking at a BFG 7800GS and a XFX 7800GS Extreme Edition when I was shopping for a new GPU.

    I guess at the end of the day it's what hardware works best with what hardware.
     
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,198 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,275
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That's cool man, I wasn't meaning offense, I don't mind it a bit. And that's true, it creates a focus to it. Hey if it works for ya, then keep doing it! :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,167 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,949
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just wanted to shove this into the equation. My non overclocked P4 3GHz does super PI 1M in 43 seconds. My friend's dual core 4800+ does it in 37 seconds.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  15. gromet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    47 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    CA
    Since you have to purchase new mobo, cpu, and ram..Why not go C2D for a really nice setup that will not need upgrading anytime in the near future? I just cannot see anyone going any other direction, especially if they are planning on doing a full upgrade. Sure is sometimes a consideration, but you didnt mention you wanted a budget system :), and I've heard Intel is going to lower prices in July. I'm watching the prices on e6600's now...And Im sitting on a great s939 setup, but the lure of 15sec 1m PI's calls me!
     
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Hat read this

    I guess you didn't go back to that thread by VeDz.

    I did that test for VeDz as well and ended up getting 39sec in the 1m Super PI test with my P4 3.0E HT @ 3.4Ghz.

    So I have come to the conclusion, that test means squat when it comes to gaming.

    I'm only upgrading to a 939skt at the moment so I can still use my RAM and GPU, otherwise I'd be going C2D for sure.
     
  17. Bret New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Actually, it can. Almost no bottleneck at all. And even if u had a bottleneck, it wouldnt really matter.
    Stick with the Pentium 4, till ur next build.
     
  18. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    How does the AMD 64 X2 4800+ go up against w PenitumD 945 3.4Ghz?

    Well some better news for me.:D

    It turns out I'm buying one of the AMD 64 X2 4800+'s with a 2mb L2 cache instead of a 1mb L2 cache which has the ability to get very high OC's.
    That explains the price I'm paying for it.

    Anyway know how well this does against an Intel PentiumD 945 3.4Ghz in gaming since my mate has a Intel PentiumD 945.:D

    Anyone know for sure?

    Regardless I'll be buying the CPU
     
  19. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Not bashing Intel or anything, but from what I have read/used the Pentium D's aren't that great at all...you should outperform it by quite a bit.
     
    Nemesis881 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,167 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,949
    Location:
    Ohio
  21. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Bret
    Have you experienced the performance first hand?

    As you see in my specs I have OC'd my CPU and memory only to achieve minimal results.

    The benchtests say my system should be running this card no problem.
    High frame rates, superPI 39sec on the 1min test etc etc....
    I can play games fine with good detail but some games the CPU now has trouble keeping up with heavier detailed areas and it shows.
    Reduce the detail and it still can't handle.

    I can play doom3 and Company of heros with high settings better than my 7600GS
    NFSMW has become laggy in some areas, sims2 is laggier than ever, NFSC is better but still a bit double visioned in some areas compared to my 7600GS.

    V8 supercars 3 it plays fine until watching the replays.
    As soon as the other cars disappear out of the screen it looks as if you have used nitros and speedup twice as fast for a couple of seconds then slows down to normal again.
    Sort of amusing but still it's an issue I'd rather not have.
     
  22. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    a million times better.
     
  23. bullseye69mech New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    48 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You like it.

    Just my 2 cents I sold alot of computers and I have always recommend AMD system.
    As good or better performance for less cash. There a good company and there processor usually rock. Yes i know the intel c2d kicks ass and if intel wants to give me one that probley the only time i would have a intel. I have owned 3 in my life I have 12 computer now 1 intel 2 mac and rest AMD. The only reason i have that intel is the guy sold me his board processor ram and video card to me for 100 bucks that was years ago.The processsor dual core and 64 bit will keep you happy for a long while and when that thingy called vista gets right for games and video card support gets it act together it will run vista great (if they get some bugs worked out)

    Sorry for the hijack but you will like the processor.
     
  24. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,816 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    AMD CPU and Motherboard bought.

    It's a done deal now.
    I am going to own a AMD system.
    AMD 64 X2 4800+ 2mb L2 cache 939skt
    ABIT AV8 3rd eye motherboard

    Once I get the system up and running I'll give a review comparison between the P4 system and the AMD system.

    Thanks to all honest, un-biased opinions and ones backed-up by first hand knowledge.:toast:
     
  25. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,167 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,949
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hell, I am just about the most un-biased guy in the world. It takes reading "POWMAX sucks" 50 times over to actually believe it for me..

    My uncle is a hardcore intel/nvidia guy, my other uncle is hardcore AMD/ATi, although you could see me runnnig whatever has the best bang/buck and performs well for my purposes...

    Some ideas for those benchmarks:
    use SUPER PI and calculate to 1M, compare times
    since you are keeping everything but cpu/mobo, compare FPS in games like oblivion, quake 4, any other hardcore games you have
    boot times :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)