• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How Much Can i Overclock

Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
349 (0.09/day)
Likes
13
Location
Maputo-Mozambique
System Name Gundam 00
Processor 3612QM 2.10Ghz
Motherboard Intel
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Intel HD4000 and nVidia GT630M
Storage Seagate 640GB
Display(s) 15.6 Inches
Case Lenovo
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Software Windows 8 x64 Enterprise N
#1
Hi ppl hope everthings good, i just want to know how much can i overclock the X2 4200+ till now is running @ 2.4, stock is 2.2 and im using a cooler master hyper six+ i used to overclock with clockgen, overclock in the mobos BIOS is better than other softwares?

And about the video card i still have a 7950GT (soon 8800GT 512) and i overclocked to:

Core 610 n Mem 745

Can i push much higher???

Thanx and stay good...
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,830 (1.00/day)
Likes
281
Location
Netherlands
System Name HP z800 workstation
Processor Intel Xeon X5687 3,60ghz 12mb cache x2
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case HP z800 workstation case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP z800 1100 watt
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15601
#2
what mainboard are you using ect fill your system specs in plz
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
You need to find out for yourself. I can't tell you what core speed your card will start artifacting at.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
349 (0.09/day)
Likes
13
Location
Maputo-Mozambique
System Name Gundam 00
Processor 3612QM 2.10Ghz
Motherboard Intel
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Intel HD4000 and nVidia GT630M
Storage Seagate 640GB
Display(s) 15.6 Inches
Case Lenovo
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Software Windows 8 x64 Enterprise N
#4
Im using:

Mobos: Asus A8N-E
VGA: XFX 7950GT @ Core 610 n Mem @ 745
CPU: X2 4200+ @2.4 Stock is 2.2
Ram: 2x1GB

Ill push much as i can then ill tell u the results :)

Stay cool...
 

regan1985

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,450 (0.34/day)
Likes
23
Location
Coventry UNI England
Processor yorkfield core 2 quad Q8200 3.2ghz 1.26v
Motherboard asus p5Q SE
Cooling akasa ak965
Memory Kingston 1066 2x2gb 1104mhz 2.2v
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD 2600 XT DDR3 857/1078
Storage 2X Samsung spinpoint 500GB 7200 4x 1tb samsung eco 5400
Display(s) 2xSamsung P2270 22" Widescreen
Case NZXT Hush Quiet Case in Black
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500w Silent Power Supply
Software windows 7 64
#5
change your v-core to 1.55 install core temp and run a cpu bench and watch the temps if they stay under 65 then your cpu cooler is good,

next lower your ht link from x5 to x3 lower your ram and then change your fsb to 250 and then keep going up in 5
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
349 (0.09/day)
Likes
13
Location
Maputo-Mozambique
System Name Gundam 00
Processor 3612QM 2.10Ghz
Motherboard Intel
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Intel HD4000 and nVidia GT630M
Storage Seagate 640GB
Display(s) 15.6 Inches
Case Lenovo
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Software Windows 8 x64 Enterprise N
#6
hi i put the voltage 1.4 and push the FSB to 230 and the multi at 11x and the CPU is running @ 2530mhz stable and i run CPU benchmarks from everest and the max temp was 58 and i run the CPU mark 2.1 and the max temp was 58 and min 43.

What do u think???
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#7
Thats pretty good. I would stay there or only go a few more mhz tho because thats kinda hot for a cpu.