• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

how much internet (download,upload) speed i need to play online games

Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#1

germs

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
123 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Q9450 @ 3.6
Motherboard Striker 2 extreme
Cooling Loud air cooling
Memory 2gb x 2 ddr3 1800 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 9800 gx2
Storage 3x WD caviar 640 gb
Display(s) 22 inch widescreen
Case tj10
Audio Device(s) razer barracuda
Power Supply 850W w/ single 70 amp rail
Software xp x64 sp 2
#2
I think most people just use the onboard ports.

Could be interesting to learn more about this.

But to answer your question (I think), you will be just fine with the ports built into your motherboard.

EDIT: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833342001

Read the first review. That link you posted sounded like a load of BS, which it apparently is!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
The Killer NIC IS good, but it's for those people who can afford to just drop that amount of money on a card without thinking.

It's about £150 over here.

As for speed? Well an upload and download of at least 100kbps to get decent results, as well as as low a ping as possible (Although CSS actually gets worse if you have a ping below 25, but then CSS is an anomaly and has nothing to do with skill).
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
64 kbit up and down will be enough for all online games. ping is more important which depends on where the server is located that you will play on.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#5
I think most people just use the onboard ports.

Could be interesting to learn more about this.

But to answer your question (I think), you will be just fine with the ports built into your motherboard.

EDIT: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833342001

Read the first review. That link you posted sounded like a load of BS, which it apparently is!
that's right it is too much so most new mobo have a gigabit lan
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#6
64 kbit up and down will be enough for all online games. ping is more important which depends on where the server is located that you will play on.

i think my only problem is the server of my location cuz i have 60 to 80 kb download
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,554
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
64 kbit up and down will be enough for all online games. ping is more important which depends on where the server is located that you will play on.
for the first time, i have to contradict wiz.

MANY games will work on 64/64 with lower latency, but not all. In this area of the world (australia) if you use too much downloads on the major ISP's, you get shaped to those speeds - avarice, one of my friends on here is one of the poor sods who gets hit with it.

He CANNOT play most modern games at that speed. Supreme commander works 1v1, as does company of heroes - he cannot handle 3 player games, and he cannot join vegas, vegas 2, or cod4 servers without lagging. (and i mean severe walking into walls for 15s lag)

My advice is that a 128Kb upload will be ok, UP is just as important as down. I would REALLY reccomend 256Kb or above (still upload here) simply because games are getting more and more complex, and the more players on a server, the harder it is on the bandwidth - i know that hosting cod4 servers on a 512/128 connection only allowed 4 players to join before everyone started lagging (pings of over 300) and on my 8Mb/384Kb connection we can manage around 12 (it occasionally lags, but overall playable for everyone except poor avarice)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
mussels, show me your numbers please .. monitor traffic while playing those games.

last time i checked most game servers were set to a max. rate of 64kbit per client
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
on a 512/128 connection only allowed 4 players to join before everyone started lagging (pings of over 300) and on my 8Mb/384Kb connection we can manage around 12 (it occasionally lags, but overall playable for everyone except poor avarice)
actually even you are saying that cod 4 works with 32 kbit (384/12) per player. if you are the server the clients cant download more than what you are sending
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,554
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
mussels, show me your numbers please .. monitor traffic while playing those games.

last time i checked most game servers were set to a max. rate of 64kbit per client
dont have saved numbers for anything, as they were hosted on this machine. its personal experience. It may well be capped at 64Kb per client, but as you get more and more clients... there goes your bandwidth.

Dont forget that a lot of games today (particularly RTS) are P2P and not host based - even if they are capped at 64Kb, that means you need 64Kb for every player in the game, not just the one connection to the host (as there is no host in these games)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#11
the OP asked how much (absolute minimum) bandwidth he needs to play as a client, not act as server. an optimum speed in my opinion would be 6M/1M so you can easily download patches and also host a smaller server for your friends or a voicechat app
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,554
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
the OP asked how much bandwidth he needs to play as a client, not act as server
He asked specifically about CoD4, and i gave all the info i had there.
yes, which is why i stated i was running as a server, and that avarice was the only one having problems. i then stated my bandwidth situation as well as his. It may not have been neccesary to add my server/host information, but i added it since i have it. If all you want to see is the client side information, i've provided that as well, from a person on 64/64k adsl.

It all boils down to the games really, and low ping servers (same ISP as you, close location) will help negate it.

If you have a program i can use to measure the bandwidth usage, i will gladly host and join some players in and show results. I have no problem doing so, in order to give the OP the information he requires.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#13
the OP asked how much (absolute minimum) bandwidth he needs to play as a client, not act as server. an optimum speed in my opinion would be 6M/1M so you can easily download patches and also host a smaller server for your friends or a voicechat app
that's right i need minimum bandwidth
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,124 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,554
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
that's right i need minimum bandwidth
my opinion is 128/128 as the absolute minimum. Cod4 and other FPS games should be ok with that, even with a decent amount of players in the server.

Of course, the more the better.
 
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.27/day)
Likes
71
Location
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
System Name Rampage 3.0
Processor i7 3770K 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair 110 (280mm rad)
Memory 16GB G.Skill Sniper F3-1866 10-11-10 CR1
Video Card(s) 2 X gigabyte 7970 ghz edition @1100mhz / 6000mhz
Storage samsung 500 GB + 128GM crucial M4 ssd
Display(s) LG IPS235P 23in IPS 1080p
Case corsair vengance c70 - white
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair HX-750w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#15
here i am on 8MB up 326k up? and i have broken my dload for the month and have the option to limit my internet to 64/64 to save fines and i cant play cod4 at all (its all i play online MP) not even a game with 8> players ..... (this is in australia on servers i normaly get under 40 ping)