1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how much this card use power ?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by m343, Sep 15, 2017.

  1. m343

    m343

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,695 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,814
    Location:
    Ohio
    150W...

    But who knows.. you didn't list the card you are using so at least we could get an idea of the power it 'should' be using. But yeah, those are all three domains, you would add them up AFAIK.

    Fill out your systems specs, would ya?
     
  3. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,225 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,134
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Absolutely no idea
    what Card is that :)

    Ps you Need to supply more info than that GPU Screenshot
     
    m343 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. dozenfury

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    114 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Hard to say exactly, anything would be a rough estimate. The best way(s) to know for sure are either a $20 watt meter from Amazon, Wal-Mart, home improvement stores, etc. The meter comes in handy for finding the exact power usage of any appliance, not just the PC.

    Alternatively and a bit more money, but many mid-range and up UPS backups will also show exact power usage. I'm happy with my CyberPower one and it also helps with avoid problems with brief power drops that are common at least in my area. Nothing worse than being in the middle of something and a split-second power drop would just be enough to cause a PC reset. Now I never have to worry about those, and I get a graceful shutdown on longer power outages.
     
    m343 and EarthDog say thanks.
  5. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,311 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,568
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    63watts-100+watts?
     
    m343 says thanks.
  6. m343

    m343

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Hi
    Asus RX 480 8 Gig Strix (with bios mod for less power) * 4

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    AIDA64 Business Edition


    Power Values:
    CPU 7.20 W
    CPU Package 18.80 W
    CPU IA Cores 15.02 W
    CPU Uncore 2.84 W
    DIMM 0.93 W
    GPU1: GPU 74.64 W
    GPU1: GPU VRM 42.19 W
    GPU2: GPU 81.50 W
    GPU2: GPU VRM 48.09 W
    GPU3: GPU 78.40 W
    GPU3: GPU VRM 60.75 W
    GPU4: GPU 80.66 W
    GPU4: GPU VRM 63.28 W



    Current Values:
    CPU 6.00 A
    GPU1: GPU VRM 50.00 A
    GPU2: GPU VRM 57.00 A
    GPU3: GPU VRM 72.00 A
    GPU4: GPU VRM 75.00 A
    Cooling Fans:
    CPU 577 RPM
    GPU1 0%
    GPU2 0%
    GPU3 1960 RPM (49%)
    GPU4 0%


    Voltage Values:
    CPU Core 1.200 V
    CPU VID 1.226 V
    +3.3 V 3.296 V
    +5 V 5.040 V
    +12 V 12.096 V
    +3.3 V Standby 3.392 V
    VBAT Battery 3.168 V
    VCCMP 1.337 V
    VCCPRIM 1.008 V
    VCCSA 1.232 V
    VCC Sustain 1.394 V
    IMC 1.304 V
    DIMM 1.360 V
    GPU1: GPU Core 0.844 V
    GPU1: GPU Vcc 3.281 V
    GPU1: GPU +12V 12.000 V
    GPU1: GPU VRM 0.842 V
    GPU2: GPU Core 0.844 V
    GPU2: GPU Vcc 3.301 V
    GPU2: GPU +12V 11.875 V
    GPU2: GPU VRM 0.841 V
    GPU3: GPU Core 0.844 V
    GPU3: GPU Vcc 3.281 V
    GPU3: GPU +12V 11.969 V
    GPU3: GPU VRM 0.842 V
    GPU4: GPU Core 0.844 V
    GPU4: GPU Vcc 3.281 V
    GPU4: GPU +12V 11.938 V
    GPU4: GPU VRM 0.844 V
     

    Attached Files:

  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,695 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,814
    Location:
    Ohio
    Seems about right.
     
    m343 says thanks.
  8. m343

    m343

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, you mean 150W ?
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,194 (4.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,677
    Location:
    US
    Isn't the idle about 15w ?, so 15w-150w.
     
    m343 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. MrGenius

    MrGenius

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,370 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,101
    Location:
    On The Highway To Hell \m/
    He means while mining with the current settings. I would use HWiNFO GPU VRM Power In readings(at least for comparison). Short of buying a clamp on power meter capable of displaying watts.
     
    m343 says thanks.
  11. m343

    m343

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So in thise app (HWiNFO) it says

    GPU Core Power 46w
    GPU Chip Power 64w

    GPU Core Current 54A
    GPU Aux Current 208A
     
  12. MrGenius

    MrGenius

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,370 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,101
    Location:
    On The Highway To Hell \m/
    I was hoping you'd get something a little less convoluted and easy to understand. But apparently they're trying to make it hard to figure out these days with software.

    For my 280X using HWiNFO64 I get a simple GPU VRM Power In reading. Simple. Basic. Not hard to understand. No add this to that if you can figure out what to add to what stupid BS. I'm not even going to try and tell you what any of that crap means. No documentation = No definitions = Your guess is as good as mine. FU AMD!!!

    My card running Kombustor. 237.250 W Max.
    VRM PIN.PNG
     
    m343 says thanks.
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,194 (4.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,677
    Location:
    US
    m343 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. m343

    m343

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    44 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,194 (4.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,677
    Location:
    US
    You could pic up a Kill A Watt up for about $20 and see what it is at the wall.
     
    EarthDog and m343 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    6,113 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,962
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    he could get a better or bigger PSU i guess, 4 video cards on a 750W ... wat an orgy ...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Komshija

    Komshija

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    597 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    Location:
    Croatia
    Regardless of GPU power consumption, I recommend a 1200 W PSU for 4 GPU's. In other words, if you had money for 4 GPU's, than you certainly must have for a good 1200 W PSU.
    Peak gaming power consumption for that GPU is 180 W (TPU review), plus CPU max. power consumption (eg. 120W), plus other components (eg. 20 W) equals in about 860W. You should also have a safety margin of at least 150 W above the maximum possible system power consumption for such system, so you need at the very least a good 80 Plus Gold 1000 W PSU.
     
  18. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,695 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,814
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hes mining, and modified the bios for lower power use... not gaming on a stock bios. ;)

    Since hes mining, blindly overbuying a psu only extends the ROI.
     
  19. Vayra86

    Vayra86

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,092 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,547
    Location:
    Duiven, Netherlands
    Yeah just wait until that CX750 goes up in flames, then buy one with a bit of headroom instead of pushing it all the time ;)

    4x GPU and a CPU will make it happen sooner or later, even while mining I reckon. There is some overhead as well you're not seeing, besides CPU and the GPUs. Its not much, but can be enough to tip it over the edge. I'd probably push it up to 850w to be on the safe side. Price differences are not stellar if you look around abit either.
     
    EarthDog says thanks.
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,695 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,814
    Location:
    Ohio
    1.2kw is overkill...so may 1kw...

    He should get that killawatt instead of guessing...with a modded bios and mining, its tough to tell..
     
    AsRock and R-T-B say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)