• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How much VRAM do I need?

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#1
How much VRAM do I need "presently"...
and how much VRAM would I need in the next 5 years ???

I'm asking cause I'm about to buy a new video card...

Look @ my specs... I game on a 24inch monitor, 1920x1080... I like everything to be maxed @ 60FPS with ALL eye candy "ON"

So how much VRAM do games use today with that type of monitor/resolution and how much do you think is going to be used in the next 5 years ?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
I like everything to be maxed @ 60FPS
Then you need one of the two top cards currently on the market. Check here for reviews on the GTX680 and HD 7970. Even then, I'm sure you will run into a game or two that will not reach 60fps. The reviews should tell you.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
Then you need one of the two top cards currently on the market. Check here for reviews on the GTX680 and HD 7970. Even then, I'm sure you will run into a game or two that will not reach 60fps. The reviews should tell you.
BS, he needs 4 GB or 6 GB, and probably two.


:rockout:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#4
next 5 years? you cant rely on vram only
for current 2 gb is fine but more is better to handle big resolution or texture
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
55 (0.03/day)
Likes
17
System Name The Desktop
Processor i7-3930k C2 @ 4.5Ghz (125bclk)
Motherboard Intel DX79Si FW430
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900 Max
Memory 8 x 4Gb Mushkin Redline 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24 1T
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 7970 @ 1200/1575
Storage 6 x OCZ Agility 3 240GB RAID0 using HighPoint 2720SGL
Display(s) Dell U2711 Rev.08
Case ThermalTake Armor+
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1KW Platinum
Software Windows 7 64-bit Professional EFI
#5
I can personally demonstrate more than 2GB of VRAM usage in Skyrim without any mods except for uGridsToShow=7 and the Bethesda-provided high rez texture pack. Settings were 4xMSAA and FXAA and all settings Ultra (or high, where Ultra was not applicable.)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,585 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,821
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#6
Well, BF3 at 2560x1440 on ultra is definitely >2GB usage. And again, it's not just Vram. In 5 years? All our cards will be dust.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#7
Thx for the tips...

But even though there will be new cards around in say 4 or 5 years... would it matter if I have 2gb of vram (in crossfire btw) or do I need 3gb?

for my specs (1 monitor @ 1920x1080)

And yes, I know it's not all just about VRAM, I'm just tryin to figure out what to choose between two setups...
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
49 (0.02/day)
Likes
32
System Name Angel'S RGB Glow
Processor Intel I5 3570K
Motherboard ASRock Extreme 4
Cooling ASUS Triton II
Memory 16 GB Gskill
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX660 Ti
Storage WD 1TB WD 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 32 HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8000BWS
Power Supply Silencer 850W
Mouse Razer Diamondback RGB
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64
#8
with technology ever increasing being created may have all together new mobo and gpu standards in 5 years. that is if we dont all die on 12 21 2012
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#9
just buy the most powerful card out there. also, it is a good rule of thumb :slap:
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#10
Your crossfire setup is still as powerful as the top single cards available or at least very close. 2GB VRAM should be enough at your resolution. When you'll get a higher resolution monitor you'll think again what card to get. With your setup I'd skip this generation.
 
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
752 (0.19/day)
Likes
108
System Name Daedalus | ZPM Hive Mini
Processor Core i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz (QC) | Core i7 8700K @ ??
Motherboard Intel H87m | MSI Z370i Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AC MX-2 & 2 x Exhaust Fans | Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Ven-X 1600MT/s | 16GB T-Group 8Pack 3200 C14
Video Card(s) GTX780m 4GB @ 950/6000 (-25 mV) | GTX1070 @ ??
Storage OCZ Arc 100 240GB Boot/ 1TB HD | Samsung 960 Evo Boot / 2TB HD
Display(s) 17.3" matte 1080p | Dell 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
Case Clevo P170SM | Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard w/ 2.1 Onkyo Speakers | Onboard w/ Edifier 980T
Power Supply 230w Adaptor | Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675w
Mouse R.A.T 3
Keyboard Vengeance K70 w/ Cherry Red
Software Win 10 x64 | Win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Daedalus - 3DMark11 - 8912 (+135/+500)
#11
Well, BF3 at 2560x1440 on ultra is definitely >2GB usage. And again, it's not just Vram. In 5 years? All our cards will be dust.
BF3 should not be used to determine how VRAM is required as it will scale with how much is available to it:

In my own Eyefinity / Surround testing I have monitored the following:

At 3620x1920, Ultra settings (no AA):

HD7970 - 2.2-2.4GB
GTX680 - 1.4-1.6GB

At 3620x1920, Ultra settings (2xAA):

HD7970 - 2.4-2.6GB
GTX680 - 1.6-1.8GB

At 3620x1920, Ultra settings (4xAA):

HD7970 - 2.4-2.8GB
GTX680 - 2GB+ (out of memory error).

What we can conclude from this is two things:

1) Yes it is technically possible for BF3 to require more than 2GB of VRAM but the settings that actually require it are well beyond 1080p levels (and are certainly beyond the level that a single card can achieve - 30FPS average is not really playable in BF3).

2) VRAM usage under normal scenarios is not accurate as there is alot of caching going on.

I completely agree with your second point, there is no point in asking the question whether the current generation of cards will be any good for 60+ FPS average in 5 years time. Regardless of VRAM requirement they will be too slow.

To answer the original question: to attain 60fps constant at maximum settings in every current game (+ oodles of AA) you will need either GTX680 SLI or HD7970 CF minimum, even at 1080p. Now this is just ridiculous overkill for the most part as dropping a couple of pointless settings (Uber sampling in Witcher 2 for example) will allow for nigh on 60fps average with just a single GTX680 or HD7970.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,585 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,821
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#13
To answer the original question: to attain 60fps constant at maximum settings in every current game (+ oodles of AA) you will need either GTX680 SLI or HD7970 CF minimum, even at 1080p. Now this is just ridiculous overkill for the most part as dropping a couple of pointless settings (Uber sampling in Witcher 2 for example) will allow for nigh on 60fps average with just a single GTX680 or HD7970.
^^Pretty much this.

Dropping from 8xAA to 4xAA or even 2xAA often isn't noticeable, unless you spend your time in game paused or sniping.
Likewise, many post effects can be toned down to almost no visually graphical detriment.

However, on an unlimited budget, it would always be prudent to buy the most powerful and stable options out there when your current set up is past it's prime.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#14
I have seen Shogun 2 use more than 2200mb of vram and that wasn't maxed out. So you can count on any future total war games to use just as much.
 

babash*t

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
74 (0.04/day)
Likes
10
Location
Nairobi, Kenya
System Name Baba
Processor AMD FX 8120 @4.2Ghz
Motherboard MSi 990FX GD65
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance LP
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7870 2gb
Storage 500GB WD blue + 2x2TB WD green
Display(s) 2x AOC i2353Fh IPS LED Monitors
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster GX650 Bronze
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64bit / Win 8 64bit Release Preview
#15
@1080p 1gb should do...anything more is just to make your penis look bIGGEr
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#16
wait for 4gb gtx680 from msi with their twin frozer stuff and go buy 3 or 4 of them and put them in tri or quad sli, i'm sure in the next 5 years you won't be having problems unless game developers smoke some used briefs and make game requirements in 2013 = 4gb vram, 6 cores 5.5ghz speed. 40gb ram.

well in our case the bigger the manhood the better ^_^. bragging rights and other stuff.