• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How much wattage should my PSU, I think it might be dying.

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#51
ok, one more, Whats your dell original name?

yes thanks button with the yellow smilee.
Not on mine, I not helped you moch yet. :)
 
Last edited:

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#52
ok, one more, Whats your dell original name?

yes thanks button with the yellow smilee.
Dell Studio XPS 8100
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#54

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#55
May I going to be silly a bit here...
Did you plug in the 4 pin power cable to the motherboard?
sorry for thet question.

btw I did look up your board.. 0g3hr7 motherboard
cant find any similar thread about this problem.
good luck bb
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#56
What version of Windows 7 x64 are you using? Windows 7 Home Premium has an artificial maximum RAM limitation of 16GB (includes all system memory including video cards). Just asking this since you're using 16GB of RAM and most people end up using Home Premium.
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#57

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#58

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#59
I think you cant do thet on thet DELL MB BIOS.
Dell MB Bios? Is that just on the regular BIOS or something different?
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#60
What version of Windows 7 x64 are you using? Windows 7 Home Premium has an artificial maximum RAM limitation of 16GB (includes all system memory including video cards). Just asking this since you're using 16GB of RAM and most people end up using Home Premium.
I have Windows 7 Home Premium.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#61
I have Windows 7 Home Premium.
Try removing one pair of sticks (make sure the remaining 8GB is configured to be dual channel) and see if it makes any difference. I'm wondering if running into Home Premium's artificial memory limit may be causing issues, or even the motherboard BIOS possibly. Considering you have tried several things already, you might as well try this.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#62
Try removing one pair of sticks (make sure the remaining 8GB is configured to be dual channel) and see if it makes any difference. I'm wondering if running into Home Premium's artificial memory limit may be causing issues, or even the motherboard BIOS possibly. Considering you have tried several things already, you might as well try this.
Well I have 4x2GB sticks that I tried earlier and it didn't seem to make a difference.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#63
May I going to be silly a bit here...
Did you plug in the 4 pin power cable to the motherboard?....
Hey man,
might also wanna check the power cables to the vid
card.

Also, all that pulling and swapping may have knocked a piece of circuit off the board. Look near the edge of the connector for missing resistors or such. I had a open box gtx 260 from da 'egg that wouldn't ramp up. Reported x1 speed. Missing resistors to blame. While your at it, look at the mb for damage.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#64
Hey man,
might also wanna check the power cables to the vid
card.

Also, all that pulling and swapping may have knocked a piece of circuit off the board. Look near the edge of the connector for missing resistors or such. I had a open box gtx 260 from da 'egg that wouldn't ramp up. Reported x1 speed. Missing resistors to blame. While your at it, look at the mb for damage.
My PSU has 4 6-Pin PCI-E power cables and I have tried all of them to connect to the video card, and I looked at the motherboard and I did not see any damage to it.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#65
Anyone still out there? I am so frustrated with my computer currently and I can't live without my gaming! Please help!
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#66
Try running,

ThrottleStop 4.00
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2090/ThrottleStop_4.00.html

The warning message is intended for laptop owners that get a little carried away overclocking their CPUs. You can run this program safely on your computer without any worries. Turn on the Log File option, go play a game for a while, exit the game and then go back to the desktop and exit ThrottleStop. In the ThrottleStop folder will be a file called ThrottleStopLog.txt

Copy and Paste the data to www.pastebin.com or upload the file somewhere convenient and post a link so I can have a look. Many Dell laptops have some horrible clock modulation based throttling issues. I don't think this is a problem for the desktop boards but who knows. Inside the log file you should see both types of clock modulation throttling showing 100.0 which means your CPU is trying to run at full speed. There is lots of info in this log so post it here so we can eliminate a sluggish CPU as the problem.

Notebook Review has some more info about ThrottleStop.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/har...arket-upgrades/531329-throttlestop-guide.html
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#67
Try running,

ThrottleStop 4.00
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2090/ThrottleStop_4.00.html

The warning message is intended for laptop owners that get a little carried away overclocking their CPUs. You can run this program safely on your computer without any worries. Turn on the Log File option, go do some gaming for a while, exit the game and then go back to the desktop and exit ThrottleStop. In the ThrottleStop folder will be a file called ThrottleStopLog.txt

Copy and Paste the data to www.pastebin.com or upload the file somewhere convenient and post a link so I can have a look. Many Dell laptops have some horrible clock modulation based throttling issues. I don't think this is a problem for the desktop boards but who knows. Inside the log file you should see both types of clock modulation throttling showing 100.0 which means your CPU is trying to run at full speed. There is lots of info in this log so post it here so we can eliminate a sluggish CPU as the problem.

Notebook Review has some more info about ThrottleStop.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/har...arket-upgrades/531329-throttlestop-guide.html
I have a desktop? Should I still run it?
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#68
I know you have a desktop. ThrottleStop was designed for laptop throttling issues but it works fine on the Intel desktop CPUs. The data in the log file is second to none for getting to the bottom of a CPU related problem.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#69
I know you have a desktop. ThrottleStop was designed for laptop throttling issues but it works fine on the Intel desktop CPUs. The data in the log file is second to none for getting to the bottom of a CPU related problem.
Okay I will run this program and post my results in a little, thank you!
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#70
Also turn on ATI GPU in the Options window to monitor your GPU temperature. This gets temperature data from the driver and should work on your GPU. I will check this thread a little later.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#71
Also turn on ATI GPU in the Options window to monitor your GPU temperature. This gets temperature data from the driver and should work on your GPU. I will check this thread a little later.
I actually have to go to sleep right now so I will be doing this test tomorrow, could you please check the thread later tomorrow? Thanks.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#72
Try running,

ThrottleStop 4.00
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2090/ThrottleStop_4.00.html

The warning message is intended for laptop owners that get a little carried away overclocking their CPUs. You can run this program safely on your computer without any worries. Turn on the Log File option, go play a game for a while, exit the game and then go back to the desktop and exit ThrottleStop. In the ThrottleStop folder will be a file called ThrottleStopLog.txt

Copy and Paste the data to www.pastebin.com or upload the file somewhere convenient and post a link so I can have a look. Many Dell laptops have some horrible clock modulation based throttling issues. I don't think this is a problem for the desktop boards but who knows. Inside the log file you should see both types of clock modulation throttling showing 100.0 which means your CPU is trying to run at full speed. There is lots of info in this log so post it here so we can eliminate a sluggish CPU as the problem.

Notebook Review has some more info about ThrottleStop.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/har...arket-upgrades/531329-throttlestop-guide.html
I ran the program, but it never outputted a log...
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.33/day)
Likes
681
#73
Did you unzip the program into a folder on your Desktop? Did you check off the Log File option and did you look in the folder for ThrottleStopLog.txt when you were done? It should work.
 

NOSDuco

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
132 (0.06/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93 GHz
Motherboard Dell In 0G3HR7
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) XFX Double D HD-695X-CDFC Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Seagate 1.5 TB ST31500
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922 RC-922M-KKN3-GP Black Steel + Plastic and Mesh Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Ca
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W
#74
Did you unzip the program into a folder on your Desktop? Did you check off the Log File option and did you look in the folder for ThrottleStopLog.txt when you were done? It should work.
I unzipped it in a folder and did not uncheck the log option and did check the folder. Nothing was there.