• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How should I clear CMOS in Asus z97 progamer?

Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
#1
Hello everyone.
I tried overclocking my 4790k, but it seems I messed up ( set all cores to 45, and set vcore to manual to 1.093 (which was the default in bios! and then set offset to 0.090)
I also set my ram frequency to 1600 (two modules were 1333 however, (2 2gig modules)). saved and rebooted and it stuck at boot!
I removed the two 2 gig 1333mhz modules, but it did not boot (it boots , it beeps one time and at the Asus logo screen(when it says press del or F2 to enter BIOS) it hangs
I tried to clear the cmos, removed the battery for 1 2 minutes while the PC was turned off and the power cord unplugged!
plugged the cord, turned on , yet it hangs at the boot, it seems it does not clear the bios!.
I headed to the motherboard manual, it says :
Z97-PRO GAMER Clear RTC RAM

To erase the RTC RAM:
1. Turn OFF the computer and unplug the power cord.
2. Move the jumper cap from pins 1-2 (default) to pins 2-3. Keep the cap on pins 2-3 for about 5-10 seconds, then move the cap back to pins 1-2.
3. Plug the power cord and turn ON the computer.
4. Hold down the <Del> key during the boot process and enter BIOS setup to re-enter data
I did so, turned off the PC, removed the powercord from the PSU, and waited the internal power left in the mb to go away, then
removed the jumper and placed it on pins 2-3, waited more than 10 seconds. moved it back. plugged the powercord to the PSU,
turned on the PC. Again nothing happens, and everything is the same. I did this for maybe 10 times and nothing helped.
in the manual it also says :
If the steps above do not help, remove the onboard battery and move the jumper
again to clear the CMOS RTC RAM data. After clearing the CMOS, reinstall the
battery.
You do not need to clear the RTC when the system hangs due to overclocking. For
system failure due to overclocking, use the CPU Parameter Recall (C.P.R.) feature.
Shut down and reboot the system, then the BIOS automatically resets parameter
settings to default values
First of all, I shut down, and restarted the PC for like 10 times, maybe even more, and the so called CPR never happened to me! so I tried the first paragraph!:
Turned off the PC, removed the power cord from the PSU, waited until the internal power left in the motherboard goes away,
then I removed the battery,
then removed the jumper and placed it on pins 2-3, waited more than 10 seconds. moved it back. plugged the power cord into the PSU,
turned on the PC. Again nothing happens

I even tried turning on the PC without the battery. but that didnt work either and I still faced the very same thing.
What am I missing here? am I doing it wrong? what should I do now ?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
#3
Looks like you have tried every thing in the manual for that board.

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/...12.1622162141.1544614489-560047884.1544614489

There is another option you can try, that's on page 2-3 >> ASUS Z97-PRO GAMER - ASUS CrashFree BIOS 3 utility

That's what I would try next if it was me.
I dont know why, but I cant understand how that is supposed to clear the cmos, while there is no power at all! especially when the battery is also removed, and the power cord is also unplugged, how could possibly this change anything?!!

ASUS CrashFree BIOS 3 utility doesnt work either, I copy the bios to the usb flash drive and plug it to the PC, but the system hangs at the logo screen and it doesn't get the chance to load that utility it seems!
I dont know what to honestly. any help is greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:

STSMiner

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
#4
Remove those 2gig memory cards, leave the 2 8gigs in the rig, see if it boots with them in slots A1 A2, if it fails try the other slots.
(I see you removed the 2gig memory cards), try the 8 gig cards in the other slots.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
632 (0.34/day)
Likes
658
Location
Alabama
Processor I3 7350K
Motherboard Maximus IX Hero
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9900A
Memory C.R.S.
Software Linux Mint 18
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
#5
You may need to let it sit overnight with the machine unplugged and the battery removed to get it cleared.
Some machines are like that for whatever reason, yours may be one of them.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,327 (0.94/day)
Likes
759
Location
Long Island
#6
Agree with STS Miner on just using the 2 x 8Gb of RAM ...however, Asus isn't exactly consistent with their slot labeling. With Z87, it was A1 / B1 (Asus Maximums VI Formula) . For your Z97 Pro Gamer, RAM should go into A2/B2

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/.../E10265_Z97-PRO_GAMER_Guide_v2_web_hi_res.pdf



The Clear CMOS Jumper and instructions on using are on page 1-21 of the manual... see above link

NOTE: Read the OC'ing fail note at bottom of page
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
#7
Remove those 2gig memory cards, leave the 2 8gigs in the rig, see if it boots with them in slots A1 A2, if it fails try the other slots.
(I see you removed the 2gig memory cards), try the 8 gig cards in the other slots.
Agree with STS Miner on just using the 2 x 8Gb of RAM ...however, Asus isn't exactly consistent with their slot labeling. With Z87, it was A1 / B1 (Asus Maximums VI Formula) . For your Z97 Pro Gamer, RAM should go into A2/B2

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/.../E10265_Z97-PRO_GAMER_Guide_v2_web_hi_res.pdf



The Clear CMOS Jumper and instructions on using are on page 1-21 of the manual... see above link

NOTE: Read the OC'ing fail note at bottom of page
I did all of that, but no luck so far!
You may need to let it sit overnight with the machine unplugged and the battery removed to get it cleared.
Some machines are like that for whatever reason, yours may be one of them.
I'm going to do this and check if this works out!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,417 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,063
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Power psu off totally, place jumper cap on clear cmos, wait 24 hrs, move it back to normal...

Stop pannicking too, its only a computer...
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
#9
Power psu off totally, place jumper cap on clear cmos, wait 24 hrs, move it back to normal...

Stop pannicking too, its only a computer...
Its been nearly 12 hours, and the problem isn't gone!!! could a motherboard without a cmos battery retain its memory that long?
by the way here is how I tried to reset/clear the cmos yesterday in case it might help : https://streamable.com/mzj0b
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,417 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,063
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
Its been nearly 12 hours, and the problem isn't gone!!! could a motherboard without a cmos battery retain its memory that long?
by the way here is how I tried to reset/clear the cmos yesterday in case it might help : https://streamable.com/mzj0b
Some boards need battery in in order to clear the eeprom
 

STSMiner

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
#11
OK, I've watched the video, you have done everything that I would have done.

Now it's time to take that PC apart, remove all the cards, GPU card, and any other cards that are in it, the motherboard has VGA connectors on the back to connect a monitor, use these with your display.

Also remove / unplug all data leads for the hard drives and if you have one M2 drive, take it out of the system, boot the PC up in bare bones, nothing connected other than memory and CPU and your keyboard.

See if you can enter the BIOS screen with no hardware connected to it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 5, 2017
Messages
287 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
SoCal
System Name unnamed currently :*(
Processor Intel Core i7-5960x
Motherboard ASUS ROG RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
Cooling EKWB/Bitspower CPU, motherboard & GPU WB
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb ddr4 2666
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 1 TB M.2 SSD & WD Black 5TB HDD
Display(s) Asus SwiftROG PG278Q & Asus PB277Q
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair Axi1200
Mouse Steel Series Sensei RAW
Keyboard Corsair K70
Benchmark Scores 4.8 ghz @ 1.37 - 5930k - old cpu 4.6 GHZ @ 1.3 - 5960X - current cpu
#12
Have you tried using only 1 stick of ram and booting?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
North of Iran
System Name Main system
Processor Intel Core-i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 Gig Geil DDR3(2x8GB 1600-CL11)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 Gaming
Storage Western Digital Blue Cavier 500 and 1 Terabyte + 1 Terabyte Green Cavier + Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250G
Display(s) ASUS ML238 LED Monitor
Case Green Viper X3
Audio Device(s) Onboard-Realtek
Power Supply Green 700watt (Its a rebranded psu from highpower/kolink I guess)
Software Windows 10 /Ubuntu 16.04
#13
Thanks to dear God and you guys CMOS finally got erased and I could load the default settings.
Have you tried using only 1 stick of ram and booting?
yeah I did that and that didnt work.
OK, I've watched the video, you have done everything that I would have done.

Now it's time to take that PC apart, remove all the cards, GPU card, and any other cards that are in it, the motherboard has VGA connectors on the back to connect a monitor, use these with your display.

Also remove / unplug all data leads for the hard drives and if you have one M2 drive, take it out of the system, boot the PC up in bare bones, nothing connected other than memory and CPU and your keyboard.

See if you can enter the BIOS screen with no hardware connected to it.
i did that, yet nothing changed . then I noticed :
Some boards need battery in in order to clear the eeprom
and decided to insert CMOS battery again and wait some hours and hope this does the trick. I inserted the cmos battery and decided to test if I attached everything correctly and that beep sound happens. to my surprise I was faced with the erased CMOS message! "Press f1 to enter Bios ..."
and there you know the rest.
Thank you all for your hints and generous helps . God bless you all :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,417 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,063
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
Thanks to dear God and you guys CMOS finally got erased and I could load the default settings.

yeah I did that and that didnt work.

i did that, yet nothing changed . then I noticed :

and decided to insert CMOS battery again and wait some hours and hope this does the trick. I inserted the cmos battery and decided to test if I attached everything correctly and that beep sound happens. to my surprise I was faced with the erased CMOS message! "Press f1 to enter Bios ..."
and there you know the rest.
Thank you all for your hints and generous helps . God bless you all :)
God Bless You too
 
Top