• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How the? Dual Lan Teaming Mobo and setup?

Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
I have in the plan to purchase GA-MA790FXT-UD5P , it has Dual LAN teaming tech.

SO what is this , My first thoughts and what I read is , that it uses two CAT cables into the Mobo and uses 2 of the LAN ports to work as a single one.

The 2 cables would be coming from a broadband wired/wireless ethernet router (i don't use hubs nor switchs) from the 2 ports of the router. I also saw the note on the Gigabyte site that the router needs to use IEEE 802.3ad standard to enable Dual Lan teaming (this will not split the 2cables into two different DHCP IPs imo)

What makes me matter is that I have no idea which IEEE standard also applies that there is Teaming capatability included as Linksys WRT54GL doesn't seem to have this , I am aware of spacey looking newer models who go by names "Dual N", "Dual Band" , but ... I'll look the prices later.

Also is there any more specific and easier way to determing which Router supports teaming?

Is teaming do any good in games or simple surfing , I would like that the stupid firefox would work if you are uploading or downloding somethin , and already the whole port 80 can't work i hate this http unresponsiveness when lots of connections are being established, i hope teaming improves this responsiveness.

Plus if i know this right there is no need for a second IP , as this is the most reasonable way the teaming should work. Some people are talking about 2 internet connections , no this only on the 1 internet broadband connection and has nothing do to with the ISP support?? I hope.







As we are here at this mobo , I was wondering if there is a slight info when maybe an GA-P55-UD6 AMD-Equivalent ("GA-MA790FXT-UD6" or the "6" version) will see the light? I don't like these exclusives for one platform only.


Things like "Onboard debug LED simplifies motherboard troubleshooting " And some HDD optimizing features , i hope these are "advertising points" and are as well present on GA-MA790FXT-UD5P. Plus want to see some more of the crazy connected heatsinks with pipes i like this on Gigabyte and looks awesome too.

Nevertheless , reset/clrcmos/power button in the mobo is very excelent feature.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#2
I don't think when teamed Windows does load balancing. Teaming will only ensure that if one card failed the other one is still connected. If you need load balancing in Windows you need software to configure it.

If you have 2 network connections then you can configure you download application to use one and the rest of the apps (like IE, gaming) can use one.

I have set it up on my server and have different machines interact with each other on different network connections, most I have VMs running on my server that uses various network connections. Right now I have only 2 planning to add more to spread the load when backing up machines on my network.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
How does it work for practical home use , including games. I don't have any servers , just 2 computers at home.

So it is like this? for example , you can actually configure one card for http web (surfing) and the other one for the rest(games, apps, ..etc)

That would be awesome.
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#4
How does it work for practical home use , including games. I don't have any servers , just 2 computers at home.

So it is like this? for example , you can actually configure one card for http web (surfing) and the other one for the rest(games, apps, ..etc)

That would be awesome.

Not without a software/drivers package.

By default windows will use them for failover.... if one line drops the other one will be used.

For your application it is COMPLETLY useless.

Also for teaming to work there is usually a driver/software package on the computer (since in essence both connections are "bonded" into a single "virtual" connection that gets the IP address.

The Switch that you plug them into must also support it.... wich ods are your router does not.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
Yes it does not , old 4 years , I searched a bit and seems that only the newer and expensive routers support this.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
How does it work for practical home use , including games. I don't have any servers , just 2 computers at home.
it doesnt.

it makes zero difference, unless you have other devices teamed as well - source and destination have to be the same speed, and your internet connection and other PC's are slower than your teamed connection would be, therefore making it useless.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#7
I have in the plan to purchase GA-MA790FXT-UD5P , it has Dual LAN teaming tech.

SO what is this , My first thoughts and what I read is , that it uses two CAT cables into the Mobo and uses 2 of the LAN ports to work as a single one.

The 2 cables would be coming from a broadband wired/wireless ethernet router (i don't use hubs nor switchs) from the 2 ports of the router. I also saw the note on the Gigabyte site that the router needs to use IEEE 802.3ad standard to enable Dual Lan teaming (this will not split the 2cables into two different DHCP IPs imo)

What makes me matter is that I have no idea which IEEE standard also applies that there is Teaming capatability included as Linksys WRT54GL doesn't seem to have this , I am aware of spacey looking newer models who go by names "Dual N", "Dual Band" , but ... I'll look the prices later.

Also is there any more specific and easier way to determing which Router supports teaming?

Is teaming do any good in games or simple surfing , I would like that the stupid firefox would work if you are uploading or downloding somethin , and already the whole port 80 can't work i hate this http unresponsiveness when lots of connections are being established, i hope teaming improves this responsiveness.

Plus if i know this right there is no need for a second IP , as this is the most reasonable way the teaming should work. Some people are talking about 2 internet connections , no this only on the 1 internet broadband connection and has nothing do to with the ISP support?? I hope.







As we are here at this mobo , I was wondering if there is a slight info when maybe an GA-P55-UD6 AMD-Equivalent ("GA-MA790FXT-UD6" or the "6" version) will see the light? I don't like these exclusives for one platform only.


Things like "Onboard debug LED simplifies motherboard troubleshooting " And some HDD optimizing features , i hope these are "advertising points" and are as well present on GA-MA790FXT-UD5P. Plus want to see some more of the crazy connected heatsinks with pipes i like this on Gigabyte and looks awesome too.

Nevertheless , reset/clrcmos/power button in the mobo is very excelent feature.
Don't bother with teaming. It won't benefit you in any way unless you have crazy fast storage arrays in multiple computers in your house, and you move a ton of large files. Just use a Gb router instead.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
So I can drop this idea completely , meh and they advertise it something like something big.

So the Dual Lan is useless most of the time. Just if you want a direct LAN with an other device , for that it would be handy then.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
the only situation i find it useful, is at lans.


i have 5 large drives each capable of 125MB/s, and i have two gigabit ports that do 125MB/s each, maximum.

lets make the example, that two different people are copying off two seperate drives in my machine, capable of 100MB/s each

with two links, two sources (two HDD's) and two destinations (two users, with their own fast HDD each) - i can use teaming and transfer at 250MB/s in theory, the speed of my drives permitting.


for just about any other use - its worthless.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#10
You can use one Lan for an internet connection and the other one for a strictly lan connection.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
You can use one Lan for an internet connection and the other one for a strictly lan connection.
to zero benefit.

also, please edit/remove the swearing in your avatar.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
Looks impressive:



But it should state "4 x 1Gb" as that's a more accurate description. Individual transfers won't exceed a single link, even with my quad-port Intel Pro NIC and a switch that supports IEEE 802.3ad/LACP.

Besides fail over, multiple links really help the serving of small files, ex: roaming profiles and redirected folders. Keeps the latency low and server responsive as a deluge of small files can max a NIC, even if the overall throughput is only 10-20MB/s.

Not that large files aren't helped. With multiple links, a large file transfer isn't affected much by small packet traffic and vice versa.

In other words, like other have stated, situations that are rare in the home.