1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To Block Ads in 2142

Discussion in 'Games' started by DaMulta, Oct 23, 2006.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Source
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    NICE!!! Worked nice, and I am happy :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    *happy dance* bf2142 still blows monkey nuts, but this is a godd and proper _I_ to the damn advertisers. they should take the hint now before the "goodguy" hackers get nasty and start taking their ad servers out.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,896 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,339
    Bounce flood attack?


    Pre-Spoofed IP address for other not so liked servers. 65.55.192.61
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    but is this leigal according to the games eula?

    i would think its cercumventing some part of the game that is protected.

    just asking as i have no intent in buying bf2142 til it hits the value shelf if even then, i dont support add/spyware based games and apps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    legal or not, the inclusion of software in a game that looks at stuff on your computer in any means, let alone sending the information it finds back to a source, is breaking privacy laws.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Singapore
    You just said what i wanted to say. :slap:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    You may not even NEED TDIMon from SysInternals... those of you that have used that method? Humor me, try this:

    Have taskmgr.exe up on screen, & get the Process ID (PID) of the game itself from the PROCESS tab in taskmgr.exe first...

    (You'll need it for the next charactermode/console/terminal tty session/DOS Window command):

    netstat -ano

    That SHOULD show what ports & remote servers are connecting to you & what process ID (PID) is using it... since you should have used taskmgr.exe to get that PID for your game earlier?

    This should work also!

    APK

    P.S.=> I noted this in another thread about this game, but folks didn't understand it (or something)... then, once you get that info?

    Possibly blocking those servers off, using additions to your HOSTS file (%WinDir%\system32\drivers\etc subfolder location) & equating their names to 0.0.0.0 ought to work:

    E.G.->

    0.0.0.0 bf2142adbannerserver1.com
    0.0.0.0 bf2142adbannerserver2.com
    0.0.0.0 bf2142adbannerserver3.com

    etc., thru the entire range of servernames you find.

    ... OR, using an IP Security Policy (secpol.msc is where this is done iirc) can block this, & by entire ranges...

    To get those servernames (because you cannot just equate "IP Address to IP Address" in HOSTS files though? WHOIS programs can work, OR, sites like ARIN WHOIS!)...

    However, some servers are SET to NOT respond to pinging, OR give back their servername on pings either...

    So, IP Security Policies blocking ranges of servers (by IP Address ranges only) MAY be the way to do this.

    apk
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Singapore
    C:/Windows/System32/Drivers/Etc/host you meant.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    No, I meant the subfolder path to HOSTS file only, of C:/Windows/System32/Drivers/Etc/ ... the file is in there to edit using notepad.exe... just remember to save it as type "ALL FILES" because of notepad.exe's insistence/default of .txt (text file type) extension on saves.

    Still, I think we all "get" what I am trying to say here, & that is the main point.

    NOW, depending on how many adbanner servers they have?

    This can work...

    HOWEVER, you'll still need to reference a site like ARIN WHOIS to determine their servername (or, just use a WHOIS program), IF any & IF their servers give them out, using HOSTS files to block them.
    '
    This is where using IP Security Policies, implemented in secpol.msc, are your pal:

    These work w/ IP addresses, unlike HOSTS files which need server names... & can block by entire ranges in 1 shot, so you don't have to add in adbannerservername1, adbannerservername2, etc., w/ ALL of them equated to 0.0.0.0...

    APK
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    um that would be true IF it didnt warrn you in the eula or spicificly tell you you couldnt modify how the game works, just as with windows vista if its part of the EULA and you accept(install the app) your bound by the EULA.

    i know the adds are annoing, but your the ones who CHOOSE to buy the game and support this kinda tactics, you should live with your choice OR NOT BUY THE GAME.
    then you have the RIGHT to email/phone the dev and publisher up and tell them why you wont be buying their game/app.

    see the sticky point here is that bypassing/dissabling part of the games designed function is im sure against the EULA, as such telling people how to cercumvent it is ILLEGAL, i have seen sites/forums get nasty letters from software makers over this very kind of thing, threds of leigal acction if they kept dissemenating info to help people bypass in game"fetures" that are protected by the shrinkwrap eula.

    i agree that the adds are bad, the way it tracks ur commins and goings is bad, BUT, YOU CHOOSE TO SUPPORT THESE ACCTIONS BY BUYING AND PLAYING THE GAME!!!!!!!

    live with it.


    same as people who buy vista will be choosing to support ms tracking every singel thing tey do from indexed files on their computers, to ms being able to dissable apps and mpeg4 playback whenever they like, oh and if vista cant call home to make sure its ligit, well you are SOL it will stop working till it can call home and send ms its tracking data about your system use and varify the windows key.

    but again, if you buy the product and install it(installing the app means you accept the EULA) then LIVE WITH IT and live by the EULA after all YOU AGREED TO IT!!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,404 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    well there is no adds to start with yet. also, i bet IGA has more than one server...and if this info on disableing adds are known to ea, the probably gonna realease a patch to stop one from connecting to a server.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Well, that's IF they can stop it, that is... see, the technique I outlined earlier here in THIS thread?

    Which is a variation of the one noted initially in this thread (that requires NO 3rd party tools like SysInternals one noted)?

    I used to use it on OPERA before it went "freebie", 2-3 years ago & told folks about it online periodically!

    AND, it worked like a charm...

    I.E.-> NO banner ad on is toolbar, period (but, I had to make a BLANK IMAGE, to get rid of "buy opera" etc. static localdisk loaded one they had already as the "default" one).

    Should work here too... provided the game doesn't have err checks on this, & THIS IS POSSIBLE imo, in many ways.

    * Anyhow - this is interesting, & I wonder what the 'tech heads' @ the game companies think of it, or variations, OR if they can stop it period...

    APK
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,458 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Well I thought that the add servers just weren't up yet... turns out that my comodo firewall has been blocking them all along! So pleased I set it up properly now!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,404 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    still NO ads yet, but the game could have been send a request for them, but comes back with nothing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)