• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to change the MB without having to reinstall windows ???

N.E.A

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
EGYPT,cairo
#1
I am going to replace my Sandy Bridge board soon so, i do not want to reinstall windows or any thing like that.
i want to do it as if i am upgrading my GPU. any ideas how ??
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#2
i'm sure windows will recognise the new board and install relevant drivers automatically, (just install any specific mobo drivers that come with it if needed)

you may even have to re-auth your windows key with M$, if its an OEM key, ur buggered!
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#3
1st. you need to install the correct driver that match to your board
2nd. it should be ok but i dunno i never do that, technically your new board will run with your old os
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.22/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#4
general user i.e some small time gaming, email, browsing etc, no need to reinstall OS unless it doesn't play with new mobo

Serious gamer, or work computer = Definately recommend a new install to prevent any untimely BSOD's


personally, i wouldn't fit a new mobo without reinstall (unless its a direct same replacement)
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#5
Sometimes that works / sometimes it doesn`t. If the actual chipset changes then you prolly can`t.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,659 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,232
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
If you're using the same chipset on the new one, then no reinstall is necessary.
If you're using a similar chipset, then you're probably still ok, just a driver update.
Different chipset altogether, then you might need to reinstall windows. It might help to install the chipset drivers for the new mobo before you remove the old, as micropage7 said. This is never guaranteed however, so you just need to try it.

And finally, make sure you have a backup of all your data and that includes all the crap sitting on your desktop!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
7
#7
Suggestion

Before you turn off Windows for the last time prior to changing MBs, go to Device Manager and delete everything you can, with no mercy, especially the items under "System devices".
Then next time you boot (after changing MBs hopefully), Windows will re-install everything again, but this time according to the new hardware.
Works quite well... Good luck!
 

N.E.A

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
EGYPT,cairo
#8
my board is P8P67 Pro and i think i will replace it with the same one but B3 revision !!
assuming that it wont work, can i install a new OS with the Same settings on the old one ??
i do not know how.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.24/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#9
Have a search through the forums, this subject has been discussed to death multiple times.

You can change mobo without reinstalling windows, many people have done it before with no problems, but it's not best practice.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
my board is P8P67 Pro and i think i will replace it with the same one but B3 revision !!
assuming that it wont work, can i install a new OS with the Same settings on the old one ??
i do not know how.
that should work fine, as nothings going to change as far as the drivers are concerned - the hardware is 100% the same, just minus that physical performance degrading flaw.

Especially if you used the two unaffected 6Gb ports, you will have no problems at all.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#11
I can vouch 110%, no issues with doing this. You might have to go into safe mode if using Windows XP, but that's about all.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
381 (0.12/day)
Likes
62
System Name ARiA
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 4.50GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz CL-9 DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) Asus NVIDIA GTX660Ti DC2
Storage 2 x Samsung F3 1TB RAID 0, Samsung F4 2TB
Display(s) LG IPS225
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence ST to lots of headphones
Power Supply Antec Signature 650W
Mouse Steelseries Rival
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores CPU Max Stable OC: 4.7Ghz Prime95 stable Audio Technica ATH-AD1000PRM STAX SR404LE Sony MDR-SA5000
#12
There is no issue for me using the same windows instalation with my CPU/mobo/ram upgrade it was from a 965P to P67 B3 with no problems.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
There is no issue for me using the same windows instalation with my CPU/mobo/ram upgrade it was from a 965P to P67 B3 with no problems.
its because intel use the one driver for all their chipsets. windows knows what to do with the new controller.

the only downside is that ofc, you end up with leftover bloat - drivers are installed for devices that windows isnt aware are gone, so it doesnt remove them. this can slow down startup, bloat the registry a bit, etc etc. it wont cause crashes or serious performance problems, however.


Now changing to entirely different sata controllers (say, intel to AMD) is another story, things can go weird there.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,659 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,232
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Now changing to entirely different sata controllers (say, intel to AMD) is another story, things can go weird there.
What about installing the drivers for them on the old mobo and then booting up on the new one - could that work properly, avoiding blue screens etc?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
What about installing the drivers for them on the old mobo and then booting up on the new one - could that work properly, avoiding blue screens etc?
you only need the SATA driver 99% of the time, but yes it can work. it just ends up with leftover bloat.


Since i actually organise my drives properly, its often quicker and easier for me to install a new OS, than to fart about with this stuff.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,659 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,232
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#16
you only need the SATA driver 99% of the time, but yes it can work. it just ends up with leftover bloat.


Since i actually organise my drives properly, its often quicker and easier for me to install a new OS, than to fart about with this stuff.
Indeed, quite. It's always new mobo = new Windows for me too.
 
Joined
May 25, 2009
Messages
212 (0.07/day)
Likes
9
Processor Athlon II X$ 635
Motherboard Asrock 880G Extreme3
Memory A-Data 2*2GB 1333 CAS8
Video Card(s) HD 4250
Storage WD Green 640
Power Supply Nexus RX5300
#17
I have a question... why do people in general avoid reinstalling their OS... are they afraid they're forget some setting,password etc, are they too stupid to make a partition for their data, because I can't see sloth kick for an operation that takes an evening or so(including installing ,possibly newer,programs).
In your B2->B3 case ,it will decrease to some extent the stability,but unless your a power-user you probably won't notice
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
I have a question... why do people in general avoid reinstalling their OS... are they afraid they're forget some setting,password etc, are they too stupid to make a partition for their data, because I can't see sloth kick for an operation that takes an evening or so(including installing ,possibly newer,programs).
In your B2->B3 case ,it will decrease to some extent the stability,but unless your a power-user you probably won't notice
because OS's get bogged down. they slow over time, due to leftover drivers, files, DLL's, registry entries, and useless programs.


it takes me less than 2 hours to reinstall my OS, drivers, commonly used apps and games. i could do it in under an hour without the games.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,109 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,289
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#19
I've found that windows 7 and vista behave perfectly in most cases even if going from amd to intel or vice versa. As long as you uninstall the old drivers and install the new one's your fine.


now back in the day on xp....yeah have to reinstall that or it will simply refuse to run right.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
I've found that windows 7 and vista behave perfectly in most cases even if going from amd to intel or vice versa. As long as you uninstall the old drivers and install the new one's your fine.


now back in the day on xp....yeah have to reinstall that or it will simply refuse to run right.
as i said above, it can often work fine - it just increases that hidden bloat.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,351 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,155
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#21
I do this all the time....You really don't need to do a reinstall until you switch your mobo 3 times...as MS just won't let you do more than 3 mobo changes before you need do a reinstall.
And Ive gone from an Intel 945 to an AMD 770 Sure you may get a few BSOD but where theirs a will there is a way...

The only hard part is if you have S3 problems as it can take awhile to track that stuff down
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,659 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,232
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#22
I do this all the time....You really don't need to do a reinstall until you switch your mobo 3 times...as MS just won't let you do more than 3 mobo changes before you need do a reinstall.
How do MS restrict this? Are you thinking of product activation? If so, just do a phone activation when the activation message comes up.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,351 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,155
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#23
When you install a new mobo without using a cloning program windows will REARM and it will only allow 3 REARMS before you must reinstall (OEM anyways)