• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to completely erase partition space?

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
hi,
so i just reinstalled winxp hoping to erase all of dell's bullcrap software. however it seems tha windows media center os is still in a partitioned space. every time i boot the computer i get the option of which os to boot.
my question is how do i erase windows media center? i tried to erase it in the bios but it seems impossible.
thx.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
You don't erase it in the bios. Right click on My Computer / Manage / Disk Management There you have limited control over partitions

Installing XP you could have deleted all the partitions and then created a new partition taking up the whole drive when you reinstalled (clean install) XP

Another option is run msconfig in th run box. In that section there is an option to remove the "dual boot" where it will not ask you which system to boot. But it doesent touch the partitions
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
You don't erase it in the bios. Right click on My Computer / Manage / Disk Management There you have limited control over partitions

Installing XP you could have deleted all the partitions and then created a new partition taking up the whole drive when you reinstalled (clean install) XP

Another option is run msconfig in th run box. In that section there is an option to remove the "dual boot" where it will not ask you which system to boot. But it doesent touch the partitions
so after i finish the install. i erase the windows media partition live meaning erasing it like erasing a folder?

i did delete all the partition before the clean install. dell kept a partition in the hdd if people needed to restore their computer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
Ok so to do it right. boot to the XP install disk Delete all the partition. highlight a partition hit d then L for confirm. Again delete all the partitions. Then C to create a new partition Format it then install to that one.

If you dont want to reinstall. Right click My Computer (Manage) (Disk management). you ma be able to del the partition there

Yes you can del that Del restore partition from the format screen. Ive done it at least 20 times

If its asking you what system to boot to its not the Dell Restore partiton. You didnt do a clean install. You need to format the disk
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
Ok so to do it right. boot to the XP install disk Delete all the partition. highlight a partition hit d then L for confirm. Again delete all the partitions. Then C to create a new partition Format it then install to that one.

If you dont want to reinstall. Right click My Computer (Manage) (Disk management). you ma be able to del the partition there

Yes you can del that Del restore partition from the format screen. Ive done it at least 20 times
when i highlighted the partition that was 8mb. i was unable to delete it. i was only able to delete the partition i previously installed winxp.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
The dell system restore partitionis at least 10 Gb. Make sure you format Dont worry about the 8mb

You can always get a Hirens boot disk and boot to that and format the drive www.hiren.info
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
The dell system restore partitionis at least 10 Gb. Make sure you format Dont worry about the 8mb

You can always get a Hirens boot disk and boot to that and format the drive www.hiren.info
ok at this moment i am almost finished with the new install. i think the 8mb partition is still on the drive. but will try ur method of deleting at device management.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
thx for the help seems that the media center at boot is gone after the installation. but i have a question. i am downloading drivers and do i need to download the chipset and bios?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#9
Chip-set Yes
BIOS Well it depends, Are/Did you have a lot of problems running a clean install before?
How old is the BIOS, look thru DELL for your model and see if it has the latest date for you and see what the comments say about specific fixes,

IF you were smooth running before on a fresh install, and you dont see any "fix" in the newer BIOS that will help you, ie.... "Support to Boot to xxxx Drive" or whatever, then you can prolly skip the BIOS,