• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to disable Vista from installing video card drivers?

Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#1
I am currently trying to update my Nvidia video card drivers. I uninstalled them, and when I restart, Vista automatically starts looking for video card drivers. This does two things:

1) Disables the Nvidia driver installer from working.

2) When I end the task or let it finish it won't install properly.


I've unplugged my internet but Vista still forces to install VGA, display, or other drivers at start up. How can I disable this? Auto updating clearly doesn't work, and it doesn't allow you to update at all...
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#2
Just let it update the driver and aquire the updated drivers you need, instead of manually uninstalling the drivers let the package do it for you.

Run the new driver installation application, instead of express install do custom install, in there you want to tick the box for performing a clean installation, that removes previous drivers so you shouldn't have any trouble worrying about vista doing it for you.

Since the previous driver has already been in, I'm sure vista will keep putting the one back in for you regardless of how many times you try to uninstall it, I personally don't think there is a way around that, though I may be incorrect!

So as I said above, download the latest driver package, run the setup and do a custom install making sure clean installation is ticked :)

Let us know how you get on mate!

--Lee
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#3
Here is what I did a few times:

1) Uninstalled drivers from the control panel.

2) Restarted PC. Let Vista update the drivers (reverted back to 182.50 - I haven't used these in months).

3) Ran Nvidia driver installer. Gets an error and fails to install. It doesn't matter if I try a clean install or not.

Running it tells me to restart my PC. Of course, the cycle will continue. Vista will install drivers... 182.50 or it will fail. How the hell do I update to newer drivers?

270.61-desktop-win7-winvista-64bit-english-whql


I assumed these worked with Vista 64bit and the GTX 260? If only installing drivers where easier than building a PC. :banghead:
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#5
I'm not sure if it's the same in vista, but on 7 I can go to System Properties -> Hardware -> Device Installation Settings
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#6
have you turned of UAC?

Its been off for two years.

I'm not sure if it's the same in vista, but on 7 I can go to System Properties -> Hardware -> Device Installation Settings
If anyone can tell me how to do this on Vista I would appreciate it. If you are talking about the Device Manager, my video card no longer shows up after messing around with uninstalling the drivers.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2011
Messages
366
Likes
28
Location
Baraboo, WI
System Name Dell m6600
Processor i5 2520
Memory 16gb
Video Card(s) ATI 6970m
Storage 128gb agility 3
Power Supply 240w
Software win 7 pro
#7
try running CC cleaner, and checking the clean install box when installing vid drivers...
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#8
Right click on Computer and select Properties, then click on Advanced System Settings on the left hand side and then in the new window that opens click on the Hardware tab
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#9
If anyone can tell me how to do this on Vista I would appreciate it. If you are talking about the Device Manager, my video card no longer shows up after messing around with uninstalling the drivers.
Right click on Computer and select Properties, then click on Advanced System Settings on the left hand side and then in the new window that opens click on the Hardware tab
Yeah, I think that should bring up a menu where you can change how Windows installs devices and you can tell it to never download from windows update.
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#10
try running CC cleaner, and checking the clean install box when installing vid drivers...
Doesn't matter, those two options won't do anything. It doesn't make a difference if I ran CC or didn't run it.

Clean Install or Express Install give the same results.

Right click on Computer and select Properties, then click on Advanced System Settings on the left hand side and then in the new window that opens click on the Hardware tab
And what do I do in there? As I mentioned there is no display adapter listed (because the drivers are not installed). Yes, the card is physically fine (fan spinning, do hardware issues). This is purely an Nvidia driver issue. Edit I see what you mean. I will disable this for the time being.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#11
And what do I do in there? As I mentioned there is no display adapter listed (because the drivers are not installed). Yes, the card is physically fine (fan spinning, do hardware issues). This is purely an Nvidia driver issue. Edit I see what you mean. I will disable this for the time being.
In the Advanced Systems Settings, clicking on the Hardware tab for me (Windows 7) allows me two options, Device Manager and Driver Installation Settings. I think he was asking you to go to Driver Installation Settings though I don't know if that will do you any good to be honest.

What was the installation error you're getting?

--Lee
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#12
Failed to Install


- or something similar.

Once it fails to install, and you run it again, you get this error:




When you restart your PC the never ending cycle of Vista installing drivers and Nvidia installer failing will begin all over. I'll restart my PC and attempt to run it again to show you the other error message.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#13
Thanks Flogger23m, also I was wondering by the file name of your driver package "270.61-desktop-win7-winvista-64bit-english-whql -- You're using USA drivers right?

Might be a long shot but give the international drivers a go, I'm not sure where you're from as I can't find anything stating where you live, but I'll guess you're from the US?

Here's the link for the UK driver package from nVidia mate, International Drivers for GTX 260.

--Lee
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#14
Yeah Israar, that's what I meant, although I agree it may not help.Another way to stop Vista installing drivers is through the Group Policy Editor.

But as the OP has no drivers installed at the moment and the new drivers wont install, there is something else wrong here.

EDIT: Try this to stop the auto install of drivers by Vista -

Go to Start–>Search type in gpedit.msc
Click the file to open the Local Group Policy Editor.
You want to go here: Computer Configuration->Administrative Templates->System->Device Installation.
Click on the subfolder Device Installation on the left and on the right side you will see the possible restrictions.
Right Click on Prevent Installation of Devices not described by other policy settings and edit this option, set it on ENABLED.
Reboot Windows and enjoy its inability to pollute your system with its standard driver, open gpedit.msc again and revert the change so you will be able to install your driver.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#15
Yeah Israar, that's what I meant, although I agree it may not help.Another way to stop Vista installing drivers is through the Group Policy Editor.

But as the OP has no drivers installed at the moment and the new drivers wont install, there is something else wrong here.
Thought so :)

Truthfully though I've never used the Group Policy Editor as I've never needed to, so I don't know that much about it, that aside, if he continues to have problems a restore might be worth a shot, otherwise myself personally I'd do a fresh installation with the latest drivers on a pen drive at hand. That would be my last resort though :)

--Lee
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#16
Ok, tried disabling the auto installation of new drivers. I set it so that it would ask me before installing new drivers (middle option) but it installed them just like before anyways.

Back to 182.50.

I will run the Nvidia installer again and take a screen shot of the other error.

I am from the USA and bought my copy of Vista from newegg.com (USA). Will installing UK drivers cause any issues?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#17
I am from the USA and bought my copy of Vista from newegg.com (USAF). Will installing UK drivers cause any issues?
Nope, they wont mate.

I've had to use the USA drivers on a few laptops and desktops previously in the computer shop, due to issues with the drivers.

Wierd when you think about it, though if it works then it's great, otherwise you're just going to end up where you are now if they fail to work mate.

--Lee
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#18
When Vista installs the drivers, do you let it reboot your machine before trying to install the updated drivers ??
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#19
Here is the other error message I get when installing them over 182.50 (I restarted after Vista installs them):



Will the following be worth a try?:

1) Uninstall drivers from control panel.

2) Boot into safe mode (with or without networking?).

3) Run Driver Sweeper. Delete Nvidia display and Physx drivers.

4) Boot into normal mode.

5) Run Driver Sweeper.

6) Reboot.

7) Install 270.61 drivers.



Driver Sweeper has proved to be utterly useless in the past. Is it harmful to run or should it be ok?


If this fails I will try the UK version. Are the UK versions install instructions the same as the USA version (I don't know the instructions/method for either USA or UK... an explanation would be nice).

When Vista installs the drivers, do you let it reboot your machine before trying to install the updated drivers ??
Yes. Check for the result when doing this above. This was with a Custom Install. I didn't bother with 3D vision and Nvidia update (imagine two programs trying to update my drivers!). I don't have 3D vision and I never plan on getting it.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#20
Heres a quick question no one has asked.

Is your OS 64 0r 32 bit?

Are you downloading the correct ones?

Would help if you filled in your system specs.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#21
Will the following be worth a try?:

1) Uninstall drivers from control panel.

2) Boot into safe mode (with or without networking?).

3) Run Driver Sweeper. Delete Nvidia display and Physx drivers.

4) Boot into normal mode.

5) Run Driver Sweeper.

6) Reboot.

7) Install 270.61 drivers.
You shouldn't need to run driver sweeper after using it in safe mode mate, also just booting into safe mode without networking should be fine, mind I only boot with networking if I need to update malwarebytes. So follow this steps:

1) Uninstall drivers from control panel.

2) Boot into safe mode (without networking).

3) Run Driver Sweeper. Delete all nVidia drivers and instances unless otherwise stated in the Driver Sweeper Instructions.

4) Boot into normal mode.

5) Install 270.61 drivers.

Driver Sweeper has proved to be utterly useless in the past. Is it harmful to run or should it be ok?
I've never used Driver Sweeper before, but you should definitely use it in safe mode.

Follow this link to removing your drivers mate, Driver Sweeper Instructions.

If this fails I will try the UK version. Are the UK versions install instructions the same as the USA version (I don't know the instructions/method for either USA or UK... an explanation would be nice).
Install instructions are the same as USA versions, no differences in the installation interface :)

All I'd recommend is that when you try the UK version, if you do, run it as you would your current installation but use custom and tick clean install, hopefully we can get you up and running with the new drivers soon :)

--Lee
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#22
Heres a quick question no one has asked.

Is your OS 64 0r 32 bit?

Are you downloading the correct ones?

Would help if you filled in your system specs.
Vista 64bit. If Nvidia doesn't support it, then that is extremely lame.

Rest of specs:

Vista 64bit OEM Home Premium SP1
4GB Corsair XM2 PC 6400
Nshitia GTX 260 EVGA Super Clocked
ASUS M3n78 Pro Motherboard
WD FALS 1TB HDD
SamsungSH-223F DVD burner
Antec Earthwatts 500
AMD 965

Nothing was ever OCed of course.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#23
Heres a quick question no one has asked.

Is your OS 64 0r 32 bit?

Are you downloading the correct ones?

Would help if you filled in your system specs.
That is a very very good question to ask too mate! I was assuming that he is on Windows Vista x64 due to the driver file he posted.

[EDIT]
Vista 64bit. If Nvidia doesn't support it, then that is extremely lame.
x64 is supported mate, I have x64 drivers on my Windows 7 machine at home, x64 drivers on my mum and youngest brothers laptops that are both on Vista.

Only trouble is, you're experiencing a thorn in the arse :([/EDIT]

--Lee
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#24
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
591
Likes
269
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock X370 Killer/AC SLI
Cooling AMD Wraith (to be replaced with Cryoirg H7)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC
Storage Crucial MX300 750GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba P300 3TB, Seagate 750GB
Case Fractal Design Definse S
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3
Mouse Logitech Pro
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire Pro
#25
That is a very very good question to ask too mate! I was assuming that he is on Windows Vista x64 due to the driver file he posted.

[EDIT]


x64 is supported mate, I have x64 drivers on my Windows 7 machine at home, x64 drivers on my mum and youngest brothers laptops that are both on Vista.

Only trouble is, you're experiencing a thorn in the arse :([/EDIT]

--Lee
Vista 64bit.