• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
275 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor i5 4670K @4.4GHz 1.239V
Motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS
Cooling High Pressure Fan System
Memory 24GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 4GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 500gb WD Blue 7200rpm
Display(s) 23inch Dell LCD
Case Silverstone Sugo SG10B
Power Supply Antec TP-750
Software Windows 10
#2
Cannot wait for results to come flooding in, if true I will definitly be doing this in a couple of weeks! but is it possible that future driver updates will effect stability?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
Cannot wait for results to come flooding in, if true I will definitly be doing this in a couple of weeks! but is it possible that future driver updates will effect stability?
nothing is impossible, but the maximum i would expect from amd is that future cards are properly fused on-die and not using the bios
 

robmagee

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Emailed W1zzard, my HIS 6950 is now a fully functioning 6970. Massive icrease in performance is some games and ran furmark for an hour. Give it a run guys and you will be beaming like Cheshire cats. Nice little Christmas present from AMD :p
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
Email W1zzard, my HIS 6950 is now a fully functioning 6970. Massive icrease in performance is some games and ran furmark for an hour
thanks. added to the statistics
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#6
I propose that the "2 BIOS on the card with a switch for easy recovery of the BIOS in case of bad flashing" becomes nominated for the "technological innovation of the year" award!
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#7
wow.. Its the fastest way to boost your card
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
275 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor i5 4670K @4.4GHz 1.239V
Motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS
Cooling High Pressure Fan System
Memory 24GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 4GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 500gb WD Blue 7200rpm
Display(s) 23inch Dell LCD
Case Silverstone Sugo SG10B
Power Supply Antec TP-750
Software Windows 10
#8
Cannot wait to try this out! do you think it would work on a VTX3D 6950? I went for the cheapest one lol but is there a reason it was £10 cheaper than most 6950s that you know of?

Plus the Bios is for a sapphire 6950, I am a bit nervous about using it because o fdifferent brands, both cards are reference design but would it make a difference, should I try and get a VTX3D 6970 Bios and where could I get this form. I would be happy with a Powercolor Bios as VTX3D and Powercolor are essentially the same company, where would I get these bios versions that I can flash my 6950 with?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
I am a bit nervous about using it because o fdifferent brands, both cards are reference design but would it make a difference, should I try and get a VTX3D 6970 Bios and where could I get this form. I would be happy with a Powercolor Bios as VTX3D and Powercolor are essentially the same company, where would I get these bios versions that I can flash my 6950 with?
all cards are the same, you can safely use the sapphire bios (which is actually an AMD bios, which is identical to Gigabyte, HIS and PowerColor HD 6970 as listed in the BIOS collection)
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#10
Very Impressive W1zzard!

This reminds me on how you taught me to unlock my 3DConnect x800GTO from 12 to 16 pipelines!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#11
This reminds me on how you taught me to unlock my 3DConnect x800GTO from 12 to 16 pipelines!
and the radeon 9500 to 9700 mod before that, which is what got me involved with the whole hardware industry in the first place, which led to tpu and everything i do now
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#12
This is fantastic news :) and I doubt very much that this was accidental, or that it will be disabled any time soon.

AMD can't seem to compete with nvidia for the top performance crown, so they sneak in some "unofficial" ways to unlock your card to the top model and give the customer more value.

So, I can buy a 6950 with a massive 2GB RAM for just over £200 and get 6970 performance out of it, now that's amazing value. Perhaps enabling this feature is what delayed the 69xx series a bit?

This is one way to poke nvidia in the eye and I'm thoroughly in favour of it. And I'm an nvidia user (see specs). ;)

and the radeon 9500 to 9700 mod before that, which is what got me involved with the whole hardware industry in the first place, which led to tpu and everything i do now
Yeah, I remember my Hercules 9800 AIW SE with 4 pipelines in 2003. One softmod driver later and it had 8 pipes and double the performance. Awesome. :rockout: I eventually did the hardmod on it (details on TPU!) and no longer needed the softmod driver. And hey, I still have it. :D
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#13
BIOS 1 is the "normal" one, BIOS 2 is the backup BIOS.

You must set the switch to 1 to flash the normal BIOS.

It seems you have an ASUS card, so you need to do:
atiflash -unlockrom 0

asus write protects their rom
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
gaul are you sure you have the switch set to the correct position?
numbers are written on the black surface on the back of the card

edit: just looked at your picture above and you have 1 and 2 mixed
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#17
updated the switch picture with clear numbers for the positions
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#18
U'r the BEST W1ZZARD..............always

DONE
POWERCOLOR 6950 with ASUS 6970, but getting HOT there........
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#19
For the people who need to unlockrom and fail at command line:

- Unpack the Winflash download onto your desktop in a folder called "winflash"
- Save the 6970 BIOS in your Winflash folder and name it unlock.bin
- Click Start Button
- Type "cmd"
- Right click the entry and select "Run as Administrator"
- Black command prompt windows opens
- Type "cd %USERPROFILE%\desktop\winflash"
- Type "atiwinflash -unlockrom 0" <-- the 0 means first adapter, if you have multiple cards, physically uninstall all but the one you want to flash
- Type "atiwinflash -f -p 0 unlock.bin"
- It should complete the flashing process with a message saying something with "verified".
 

Risc

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
Gaul, I´m going to buy one Powercolor 6950... Do you have any artifacts ???

Thank you Gaul...
 

B1gD4ddy

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems
Memory Corsair 6 Gb DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD 5870
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ
Display(s) LG W2361V
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply beQuiet Dark Power Pro 650
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#21
Hey guys,

because of that nice "feature", I'm thinking about buying a 6950 and unlock it to a 6970.

Now my question, can I use a 6970 together with my 5870 in crossfire ?

And finally, do you know where I can find a recent "crossfire yes/no matrix picture" ?

Thanks a lot !
 
Last edited:

easyrider

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#22
I have the Sapphire and the flashed went well.

I have zero issue in Heaven and 3D mark

Now going to test some games!
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#25
I would really hope they leave the chips as they are just like the unlockable single,dual and triple core cpu's from AMD.

I was unconvinced about getting a 6970 but now i think i shall gather the cash for a 6950 and give it a flash. :D

Thanks for the great article :toast: