• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

crislink

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II 940BE
Motherboard GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Cooling Air
Memory 4GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2
Video Card(s) 2x Toxic HD6850 Crossfire
Storage 1TB Seagate
Display(s) Acer 22"
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
i'm in, i've ordered a Sapphire HD 6950, hope everything will go well flashing it

and talking about issues on clocks, do you think leaving the original 6850 clock will prevent problems? can i raise only core clock leaving memory at 1250?
 
Last edited:

Qed

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
102 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Cooling Corsair Hydro H50
Memory Corsaid Dominator 1600 6GB
Video Card(s) 3x ATI HD6950
Power Supply Corsair TX950
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
i'm in, i've ordered a Sapphire HD 6950, hope everything will go well flashing it

and talking about issues on clocks, do you think leaving the original 6850 clock will prevent problems? can i raise only core clock leaving memory at 1250?
I didnt have any problem on mine. The memory are certified for 1250 MHz and the gpu is the same as the 6970 so i dont think you will have any problem.
 

crislink

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II 940BE
Motherboard GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Cooling Air
Memory 4GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2
Video Card(s) 2x Toxic HD6850 Crossfire
Storage 1TB Seagate
Display(s) Acer 22"
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
is it safer than windows flashing the card on msdos booted by a usb pendrive?

also changing settings in a stock bios values (like lowering ram etc) will cause any kind of problem (like conflicts with powerstates)?
 
Last edited:

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
So here I am with my two new Sapphires.. But I've got this problem when I launched ATI Winflash my system just freezes :/ Any ideas? the bios jumpers are set to 1 if that matters.

Here's a pic of my GPUZ.. Perhaps I can't have CF enabled?
 

TotalChaos

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
724 (0.15/day)
Likes
591
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-6100
Motherboard Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX
Cooling Fans:1x120mm, 2x140mm
Memory 16GB Hyper-X DDR III 1866 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6950 2GB x 2
Storage Kingston V200+ 128GB SSD + OCZ Petrol 64GB SSD + WDB 500GB + WDB 640GB + WDB 750GB
Display(s) Asus PA238QR IPS @ 1920x1080
Case Lancool
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
take 1 card out and flash the card still in the pc. then take that card out and put the other card in and flash it. then put the second card back in reconnect Crossfire bridge and you should be good to go
 

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
Gaaah!! And I who have literally NO space for the bottom card.. There's like 1mm margin lol.. Was a bitch to install, oh well! Thank you for your help!
 

Mp0wer

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor i7 920 @ 4ghz
Motherboard Rampage Extreme ll
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory Corsair Dominator 6GB
Video Card(s) XFX 6950 (Modded to 6970)
Storage Intel 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3 Viewsonic VA2431wm (Eyefinity)
Case Silverstone TJ07 (Black)
Audio Device(s) XFI Xtreme Music
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

bystander

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
52 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
I don't know if GPU-Z can display it without alt tabbing out, unless you have a 2nd monitor as I do. However, you can always alt tab out and see a log of your in game temps. The log can let you know what you are peaking at.

MSI Afterburner has the ability for OSD.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Phenom II X6 1055
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Watercooled by aquacomputer /w 360 Radi
Memory Excelram Red Culvert 1600 MHz 6-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Radeon 6950
Storage WD Caviar Blue 1 TB
Case Lian Li AN05B
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic M12 II-620
Software Windows 7 Prof x64
Hey Guys,

just flashed my Sapphire 6950 with the Asus 6970 bios and it works fine. But I had to to this flash unlock thing.

And supprisingly I don't have to increase the TDP-Limit. I checked the Frequency with GPU-Z while Furmark was running and it didn't throttle.

Great Thanks to Wizzard, I saved a lot of Money
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
I think you're just getting the prompt back. That is normal.

Check your card with GPU-Z.

EDIT: No prob. Glad you figured it out. :D
 
Last edited:

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
I deleted what I just wrote. I was being foolish as usual.. I had winflash running *doh* Exited the program and voila! Just need to restart my PC and do it again with the other card.. I'll report back :)

edit/ Okay, update time. I managed to get both flashed, but the clocks aren't what they should be on one of them so I'll get that sorted now.
edit2/ All done! Thanks to W1zard for the help and anyone else who have helped my confused mind :D
 
Last edited:

Kimo P

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel core i7 920 2.66 (oc=4.00)
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58R - UD3R
Cooling Corsair H-50 (dual fan)
Memory 6 gb
Video Card(s) Asus EAH6950 overclock ed.
Storage 1 Corsair force 60gb / 1 samsung 300 gb
Display(s) 42" bastard :-p
Case Antec Nine Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Creative Extreme gamer
Power Supply Silver power 600w
Software Win 7
I seem to have run into a slight problem flashing /reflashing my 6950 card :-o

I have an ASUS 6950 oc edition card
The flashing procedure went on just fine, and everything unlocked fine and looked good
until i fired up Bad company 2, then problems arrived!

My system hung after 5 mins of play, and i was forced to close the app.
i went through the forum here again to see if some suggestions where available, i tried to up the power limit via CCC and lowered the clock a little and tried again, still it failed after a few minutes.

Heat doesn't seem to be the issue?

I tried to reflash back to the original bios i saved, but that does not work? and i get the ID mismatch message? ... i then tried to do it as described following the "extra work" link, but replacing the "unlock.bin" with my backup copy of the original bios, named "bios original" (with the space) ... im not sure if i can rename it?? ....
So what and how do i restore my original bios again on my card ???
 

mailoc

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
As Bystander said, did you try the 6950 bios just with shaders unlocked?

If you have an XFX you can use the already unlocked bios from this post:

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 695...

I have tried the shader unlock bios profile also with no luck. The whole issue is just perplexing me. I played Mafia 2 and Dirt 2 last night for two hours with no problems using the original 6950 bios. It seems like anything that has to do with the 6970 bios makes my cards take a shit.

I may just give up on trying to get it to work. After all crossfire 6950's are still bad ass!!!
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Think all this will be disabled next rev of the cards all you lucky devils! I'll have a buy a second hand rev 1 in the future from one of you :p
 

baud

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Texas
is it safer than windows flashing the card on msdos booted by a usb pendrive?
it's probably just easier to do it in windows.

also changing settings in a stock bios values (like lowering ram etc) will cause any kind of problem (like conflicts with powerstates)?
if you're talking about editing the bios with RBE we can't do that yet. we need a new version of RBE first.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
our Galaxy
System Name Full*Throttle-PC
Processor i7-920@3,8 HT on, 1.36V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F13k
Cooling Thermalright HR-02 + TR TY-140
Memory OCZ3X1600LV2G 3x2GB 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS AMD HD6950
Storage OCZ VERTEX2 60GB, WD2001FASS, ST31000528AS; ST31000333AS
Display(s) Lenovo L220x 22" 1920*1200 S-PVA
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Cougar GX 1050 80 Plus
Software Win7 x64
Why Device ID still 1002-6719 after flashing 6950 to 6970? Any ideas?..
Guess it might be problem with drivers in future
6950@6970 -> GPU-Z 6950@70.png Genuine 6970 -> GPU-Z 6970.png
 

jimmyz

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
32
Location
Indiana
System Name Black ice
Processor QX 9650 @ 5ghz @ 1.55v
Motherboard DFI X-38 T2R
Cooling jinu ss in v-2000b+2
Memory crucial ballistix tracer ddr2 1066 asynch 4-4-4-5
Video Card(s) 2 x Radeon 4850 voltmodded watercooled
Storage 4x seagate 250gb in RAID 0
Display(s) 24" SOYO LCD 1920x1200
Case vapoli v2000b+2 (lian-li)
Audio Device(s) onboard karjan audio
Power Supply pc power & cooling silencer 750 Quad
Software windows mce 2005 (xp pro basically) dual boot w/ Vista Home premium.
It shows that it is a 6950 because it is. The device ID is still intact. This is a good thing, it keeps dishonest people from flashing and selling as 6970s.
 

hajabooja

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel QX9650 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard DFI BloodIron P35
Cooling Thermaltake V1
Memory 2x2gb Mushkin Redline XP2 8000
Video Card(s) XFX 6950 Shader Unlock @ 880/1315
Storage WD Black Caviar 750gb
Display(s) LG 22in LCD
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi
Power Supply Antec PC-850
Software Win 7 Ultimate
So have many people had luck flashing just the shader unlock and overclocking to 6970 speeds on stock voltage? Or maybe getting close? My XFX 6950 should be here tomorrow! Also, a lot of people saying that their temps are up a lot when flashing to 6970 (voltage and all), anyone having closer or at least cool temps? Thanks
 

Beany

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Managed to flash both my cards. These are now way too loud in crossfire though from the extra heat, twice as loud as before the flash, and also compared to my 5870's. It's so bad that i might just send these back and get two 6970's.

So i'd advise anyone thinking of using crossfire with two flashed 6950's to just get two 6970's instead if you can afford it.
With just one card flashed it's not bad though, but crossfire produces too much heat so the fans now go crazy.
 

Qed

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
102 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Cooling Corsair Hydro H50
Memory Corsaid Dominator 1600 6GB
Video Card(s) 3x ATI HD6950
Power Supply Corsair TX950
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
Managed to flash both my cards. These are now way too loud in crossfire though from the extra heat, twice as loud as before the flash, and also compared to my 5870's. It's so bad that i might just send these back and get two 6970's.

So i'd advise anyone thinking of using crossfire with two flashed 6950's to just get two 6970's instead if you can afford it.
With just one card flashed it's not bad though, but crossfire produces too much heat so the fans now go crazy.
Why do you think 2x6970 would be quieter? Have the same TPD once you canhe the bios and the PBC has only 3 different resistors.
 

The_Ish

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
328 (0.13/day)
Likes
43
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 580 DirectCU II
Storage Corsair F120 SSD +9,5TB storage
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores I only care about practical performance.
I only play with headphones so fan levels doesn't really bother me much :)
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Can anyone post some benchmark results with modded 6950 bios(unlocked shaders only)?
What is the difference over normal 6950 on Unigine demo, or any game.
I've flashed mine to 6970 and it seems to have 10% performance increase, but got very loud and system power condumption increased with 80W, temps increased as well.
So I'm wondering what would be the difference with only shader unlocked 6950.

Tnanks.
My 3dMark11 scores

Stock: P4325
Asus 6950 Modded Bios Stock Speeds:p4427
Asus 6950 Modded Bios 840Mhz 1325Mhz +20%:p4569
XFX 6970 Bios:p4696
I Lost the score for 6970 +20% but I think it was over P4700

Im keeping it in the 6950 Modded bios for now unless I need the power as it runs cooler.

Hope that helps :)
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
Why do you think 2x6970 would be quieter? Have the same TPD once you canhe the bios and the PBC has only 3 different resistors.
:laugh: I got a good laugh out of that.
 

Qed

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
102 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Cooling Corsair Hydro H50
Memory Corsaid Dominator 1600 6GB
Video Card(s) 3x ATI HD6950
Power Supply Corsair TX950
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)