• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to enable additional shaders on Radeon HD 6950

itsdanny

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
74 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Well, my card on my other rig so far looks good ... 2 weeks, 840/1325 on 20% powertune. No problems at all, 65c max on games on 45% fan.

This rig with the card, is at 920/1400 on 20% powertune as well, it's been a week. No problems yet, 70c max on 50% fan.



Only "problem" I'm getting is I'm assuming it's the DRIVERS, when I drag a folder/window, it gets trails behind / ghosting (like when you are in safe mode, and no drivers are loaded, etc, that laggy feel), does anyone get this or have any idea on how to get it fixed? I'm on the 10.12 drivers (XP)... Didn't have this problem with nVIDIA drivers... Any clue?
 

HI.

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Hi to all this community. Im just here to give a hint of my knowledge over this thing. Im a student ending up my formation in electronic engineering. The Modded Bios: If truely just UNLOCK THE SHADER and do not touch voltage or timings, Will not have any effect on your card. Since 6970 bios does really upper the voltage the temp goes exponantial higher for each step of voltage... So as you guys speak of seeing 85 celcius dont get suprised. im using the stock card and i never been over 67 celcius, NEVER even with long testing. I got an Antec 900 first version and this tower isnt the best cooling i know of, how the hell you guys manage to reach 88-90?? dont ask, the modded bios...
 

itsdanny

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
74 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Hi to all this community. Im just here to give a hint of my knowledge over this thing. Im a student ending up my formation in electronic engineering. The Modded Bios: If truely just UNLOCK THE SHADER and do not touch voltage or timings, Will not have any effect on your card. Since 6970 bios does really upper the voltage the temp goes exponantial higher for each step of voltage... So as you guys speak of seeing 85 celcius dont get suprised. im using the stock card and i never been over 67 celcius, NEVER even with long testing. I got an Antec 900 first version and this tower isnt the best cooling i know of, how the hell you guys manage to reach 88-90?? dont ask, the modded bios...
Well, what are your fan settings? Was it on auto, or did you have it fixed, or was it on a profile curve? I know a few people with the modded BIOS at full GPU load and auto fan that reach 80-85c.
 

baud

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Texas
Well, my card on my other rig so far looks good ... 2 weeks, 840/1325 on 20% powertune. No problems at all, 65c max on games on 45% fan.

This rig with the card, is at 920/1400 on 20% powertune as well, it's been a week. No problems yet, 70c max on 50% fan.



Only "problem" I'm getting is I'm assuming it's the DRIVERS, when I drag a folder/window, it gets trails behind / ghosting (like when you are in safe mode, and no drivers are loaded, etc, that laggy feel), does anyone get this or have any idea on how to get it fixed? I'm on the 10.12 drivers (XP)... Didn't have this problem with nVIDIA drivers... Any clue?
I had a ghosting problem too, but only after i uninstalled Smart Doctor. Once I reinstalled it and left it running at startup, the weirdness went away. No other problems since then.
 

HI.

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
i've seen throught the thread some people posting about over 80+ temps. maybe in crossfire.. but how. how in a single gpu unit would u reach this. im now using a fan curve setup. But when i got this card out of the box, it was on its own. With CCC. Im using Trixxx with the stock Bios..

edit: (840/1300) with 67 celcius. Btw any1 knows the MAXIMUM temperature should the card handle ?
 
Last edited:

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,728 (4.18/day)
Likes
26,195
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
edit: (840/1300) with 67 celcius. Btw any1 knows the MAXIMUM temperature should the card handle ?
I just read about the card getting up to 92C on Furmark. I'm not sure personally though.
 

f0d

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
f0d: Have you tried running Battlefield Vietnam without MSI Afterburner running in the background?.

I think I noticed the same problem but next time I ran the game (with afterburner closed) I didn't notice it any more. Are the problems people having only with BFBC2/Vietnam? seems like it.
just tried it then

and yes even as a 6950 and afterburner closed it still artifacts

i've seen throught the thread some people posting about over 80+ temps. maybe in crossfire.. but how. how in a single gpu unit would u reach this. im now using a fan curve setup. But when i got this card out of the box, it was on its own. With CCC. Im using Trixxx with the stock Bios..

edit: (840/1300) with 67 celcius. Btw any1 knows the MAXIMUM temperature should the card handle ?
i read somewhere just before (cant find it now) that its something like 100degrees
heres a chart from anandtech showing temps in crysis (is that ok? i couldnt find a techpowerup reference)
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4061/amds-radeon-hd-6970-radeon-hd-6950/24

upto 89 degrees in crossfire and 75 degrees for the 6950
furmark was 90's for crossfire and 80's for single card
i have a fan curve that keeps it at about 74 or below - after 74 it gets crazy, i made it ramp to 100%@85 degrees. i really dont care about noise - thats what headphones are for :p
 
Last edited:

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,728 (4.18/day)
Likes
26,195
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
edit: (840/1300) with 67 celcius. Btw any1 knows the MAXIMUM temperature should the card handle ?
I just ran the Furmark 1.8.2, and the max I hit was 91C. I ran it for like 15 minutes. That's with a default bios, auto fan settings, and +10% power in CCC.
 

HI.

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
i have a fan curve that keeps it at about 74 or below - after 74 it gets crazy, i made it ramp to 100%@85 degrees. i really dont care about noise - thats what headphones are for :p
Hmm what case are u using. do you got Alot of cables in the way in your computer case? Do you live in africa where temps are higher? what bios are you running? my curve reach's 100% fan at 82 celcius. but fan never gone over 40-55 %. there must be something..
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,728 (4.18/day)
Likes
26,195
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
power is voltage. again same as my preview post.
I have the Xclio Blackhawk Advanced case.

Most of the cables are at the bottom and not too intrusive I believe... Any suggestions.
Do you think my temps are too high in Furmark?
 

HI.

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,728 (4.18/day)
Likes
26,195
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Last but not least. Are you overclocked to be at +10%,
if not why are you +10
overclocking as we all know uppers the temps quickly aswell.
I had the +10 when I had the other bios loaded. I just switched back a little bit ago, never changed anything in CCC yet. I went back to the default bios since other were saying they ran into problems. I am planning to loaded the modded bios which unlocks the shaders (which I have ready, just haven't loaded it yet) and OC the GPU clock some but keep the memory at the default speed for now.
 

f0d

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
72 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Hmm what case are u using. do you got Alot of cables in the way in your computer case? Do you live in africa where temps are higher? what bios are you running? my curve reach's 100% fan at 82 celcius. but fan never gone over 40-55 %. there must be something..
my fan usually sits around 60% because im in australia and its about 30degrees air temp inside now - the gpu never gets past 75 because of the fan curve i set
fan curve


my case is a thermaltake kandalf LCS - its freakin huge (11 drive bays in the front) and no cables in the way its all cable managed - 8 fans (5 intake 3 exhaust)


i was running the 6970 bios but now im back to the standard 6950 bios that came with it (i backed it up) and all at stock speeds
 
Last edited:

HI.

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Just stay tuned im currently running a Fur 1.8.2 1920-1080 4x msaa for a 15 minute to show you... what i meant for the temperature..
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
896 (0.21/day)
Likes
299
Location
Canada
System Name MurderBox #17
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k - 4.5Ghz 1.275v - Bitspower Summit EF
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS - Bitspower THOR AIX99 Full Full Board Block
Cooling SR-1 480, 8x Corsair ML120 , MCP350, I&H Res 250, PETG hard pipe, Mayhems Pastel White
Memory 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition - EK Fullcover waterblock with Backplate
Storage 3x Samsung SM951 256GB, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Samsung PM961 512GB, WD Black 2.0TB
Display(s) ASUS PG348Q 3440x1440, 2X ASUS PB278 2560x1440
Case MurderMod TJ07 With Illuminated mid-plate
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Optical out to Pioneer VSX-1017TXV 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i With custom MDPC Sleeve and Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit
In case your card does not boot at all you can use AMD's new backup BIOS feature:
Set the BIOS switch (pictured above) in the 2 position to enable the recovery BIOS and restart the computer. This will let you boot the card without problems.
Boot into Windows/DOS prompt and get ready to flash the card - do not start the flashing process just yet.
Set the BIOS switch in the 1 position with the system running and ready to flash.
Flash your saved BIOS to the card.

Reboot, done.
My system blue screened when I was attempting to flash an unlocked shader bios onto the card. Now I get no display from bios #1. I was using ATI WIN flash at the time and have done it several times without issue. Something went wrong this time and I don't know how to get bios 1 working again.

I understand that I can use the backup bios to recover the card. But I do not understand what I am supposed to do at the above steps colored in red. Do I use ATI flash to do this? Can anyone give me an idea as to how to do this? Thanks.
 

ALBPM

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Mine
Processor i7 x980 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Scythe MUGEN-2 SCMG-2000 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler
Memory 12 Gb G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire 695
Storage Intel 160 GB SSD, WDC 640 GB
Display(s) DEL 2709W
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire
Software Win7 Ultimate SP1
I flashed my 2 Sapphire cards with the unlocked 6950 Sapphire bios back on Dec. 29 and have been running both at 840/1300 with no problems.
My Top card has only hit 74 degrees and bottom maxes out around 65 degrees using the 10.12a driver and fans on Auto..

My only problem so far is trying to get Trixx to work. I get a BSOD even setting it to the default 800/1250...??? :(
I did a search and found the thread on setting "enableulps" to 0 in the registry and got Trixx working finally....:D
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=133783&highlight=trixx&page=2

Now running at 880/1325. Top card got to 67 degrees max, bottom card got up to 74 degrees max after an hour of gaming with fans on the default auto setting.
So, I'm finally getting more usage out of the bottom card with "enableulps" disabled.
 

itsdanny

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
74 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
My system blue screened when I was attempting to flash an unlocked shader bios onto the card. Now I get no display from bios #1. I was using ATI WIN flash at the time and have done it several times without issue. Something went wrong this time and I don't know how to get bios 1 working again.

I understand that I can use the backup bios to recover the card. But I do not understand what I am supposed to do at the above steps colored in red. Do I use ATI flash to do this? Can anyone give me an idea as to how to do this? Thanks.
It's funny, because I also had the same misunderstanding or not being able to understand that as well a week ago or so. And W1zzard was all like, everything is there and is clear, when I just needed a further explanation.

But yes, you do. You can use any app to flash your old (backup) BIOS with. Basically, if you are unable to get into Windows or POST, you flip the switch to "2", which is the read-only BIOS and you should be able to get in now as that is the default BIOS. After, you would prepare all the flashing tools and what not to flash back to your old (backup) BIOS, but you don't initiate the actual flashing process yet TILL you flip the switch back to "1"; which is the BIOS that "went wrong". After it is on the "1" switch, initiate and flash away!

Hope that helps! :O
 

Crew883

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
can somoene help please?

I hate to double post this, but I think it got lost in the last page...

I have a few quick questions that hopefully you guys can help me wrap my head around.

I modded my XFX 6950 bios from the tool used earlier in the thread, and I am only running my clocks at the max allowed by CCC 840 and 1270 on the memory because I am worried about what I have heard about the memory failing . Card runs max 60c in BC2 and other games over the course of a gaming night.

So: 1. How dangerous are my settings for the card? 2. Do I need to have extra power going (via power tune) to the card from CCC if I am just running the modded 6950 extra shaders with 840 clocks??

Thanks to the people who put this together too, everything was easy to do and setup.
 

itsdanny

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
74 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
@Crew883, I did indirectly answer your question, don't worry about it too much. If you're worrying too much, don't attempt it...
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
896 (0.21/day)
Likes
299
Location
Canada
System Name MurderBox #17
Processor Intel Core i7 5930k - 4.5Ghz 1.275v - Bitspower Summit EF
Motherboard Asus X99-E WS - Bitspower THOR AIX99 Full Full Board Block
Cooling SR-1 480, 8x Corsair ML120 , MCP350, I&H Res 250, PETG hard pipe, Mayhems Pastel White
Memory 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition - EK Fullcover waterblock with Backplate
Storage 3x Samsung SM951 256GB, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Samsung PM961 512GB, WD Black 2.0TB
Display(s) ASUS PG348Q 3440x1440, 2X ASUS PB278 2560x1440
Case MurderMod TJ07 With Illuminated mid-plate
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Optical out to Pioneer VSX-1017TXV 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i With custom MDPC Sleeve and Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit
Ok thanks so much for the info. I saved the backup bios using ATI WInflash and booted it with the switch in the 2 position. When at the command prompt I switched it to 1 position and typed atiflash -p 0 bios.rom and I am just getting Adapter not Found Error 0FL01

I followed the steps exactly and now I am stuck.
 

itsdanny

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
74 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Ok thanks so much for the info. I saved the backup bios using ATI WInflash and booted it with the switch in the 2 position. When at the command prompt I switched it to 1 position and typed atiflash -p 0 bios.rom and I am just getting Adapter not Found Error 0FL01

I followed the steps exactly and now I am stuck.
Which one are you trying to apply? The 6950 -> 6970 flash (with unlocked shaders)? Or flashing to the modified 6950 (with unlocked shaders)?

If the 6950 -> 6970 flash, use the batch script that does it ALL for you! And it makes a backup as well! http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1920/HD_6950_to_HD_6970_Flashing_Tools.html

Otherwise, if flashing to the modified 6950, use this:
http://www.techpowerup.com/wizzard/Mod_BIOS_HD_6950.zip

It should be fairly straight forward (read the batch file), otherwise post back again! :)
 

Crew883

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
@Crew883, I did indirectly answer your question, don't worry about it too much. If you're worrying too much, don't attempt it...
ok I see now thanks :toast: will the ccc power tune yield anything though? is it under powered for those clocks as i am right now?
 

itsdanny

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
74 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
ok I see now thanks :toast: will the ccc power tune yield anything though? is it under powered for those clocks as i am right now?
Nope, it should be fine. But if you want maximum performance, put the slider at 20%. Some users have left feedback that 20% power gives a worse benchmark score, than on 10%. See whatever works best for you. Basically, increasing the power, will prevent throttling and remain stable.