• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#1
*update: Feb 9th 2010*
Updated howto with latest patch tools.
Everything is simplified and more easy now. So report :)
Instruction guide hiding behind here:
Modification tools described here can be used to force the NVIDIA graphics driver to detect supported chipset «Intel X58», regardless of what the real hardware chipset present in system. After receiving the identification of a "X58" chipset, videocard driver checks for the correct certificate from BIOS to check "compatibility" with SLI tech, which should be located in the system table DSDT, which is a part of ACPI. Initially, the data tables are loaded from the computer's BIOS, but later, if BIOS wasn't changed, used from the regular OS registry entry by Windows.

For today, after long time of tool development and research, we got latest version of patch available in beta-status for public testing. These modifications are for education purposes and are provided "AS IS", without any warranties. We (xDevs.com project and developers of SLI patch) cannot be held responsible for any errors, failures or data loss during this procedure, make sure you have backed up all critical data before trying this mod.

Because of difference of OS kernels and HAL library in every os, every SLIpatch tool hardcoded and dedicated only for specific operating system type and version. Using wrong SLIpatch will cause OS unstable or even damaged. Be aware to use only proper tool version.

This method and tools has been successfully tested and implemented for following operating systems:

Microsoft Windows XP 32-bit
Microsoft Windows XP 64-bit
Microsoft Windows Vista 32-bit
Microsoft Windows Vista 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 32-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 2008 R2

Install and usage

Using patch for operation system is very easy now. There is no need to mess with strings, decrypting values, and modifying windows registry to run SLI now. All these work done in background automatically by SLIPatch software tool. All that is needed :

1. Download proper tool version for your Windows OS in bottom of this guide.
2. Unpack it to some directory on harddrive. For Windows Vista or Windows 7 disable UAC.
3. Run command prompt with administrator rights ("Run" menu in Windows Start menu and type cmd there)
4. Go to directory with patch and run InstallSLI.cmd.
5. If everything ok, tool will report "SLI patch installed" and exit.
6. Reboot.
7. During boot there will be "extra OS" selection, marked "SLI enabled". This is one to use with SLI patch active.
8. Select SLI enabled system and boot it.
9. System should run SLI now, until BIOS or motherboard changed.

If you want to run SLI patched system always - just set default os and delay in System Properties >> Advanced >> Startup and Recovery >> Default operating system and Time to display list of operating systems.

If you don't need SLI patch anymore you can uninstall patch with next:

1. Download or use previously downloaded same version proper tool version for your Windows OS in bottom of this guide.

2. Run command prompt with administrator rights ("Run" menu in Windows Start menu and type cmd there)
3. Go to directory with patch and run UninstallSLI.cmd.
4. If everything ok, tool will report "SLI patch uninstalled" and exit.
5. Reboot.
6. System should boot in native state now.

Download links

Windows Vista SP2 32bit SLI Patch , version 0.7a
Windows Vista SP2 64bit SLI Patch version 0.7a
Windows 7 32bit SLI Patch 0.7a
Windows 7 64bit SLI Patch 0.7a
Windows XP SP2/SP3 32bit SLI Patch version 0.7a
Windows XP SP2/SP3 64bit SLI Patch, version 0.7a
Windows Server 2008 R2 SLI Patch, version 0.7a


*end update*



**NOTE: THESE DRIVERS DON'T WORK. THEY WERE AN UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPT. THREAD ONLY PRESERVED FOR ARCHIVE PURPROSES**

Started a new thread. Branched from Solaris17's original thread that I kinda sorta hijacked. We're working together on this now so its cool :D. These drivers are an attempt to get SLI working on XF boards on these newer drivers.
---

Finally they're here! That took way too damn long.. Thanks for your patience everyone! Cross your fingers! In order to develop these, since neither I nor Solaris own a CrossFire board, please provide feedback on the following:

1) GPU-Z says if SLI is available.
2) If NV CP shows if SLI is available.
3) If you can run: rundll32.exe nvcpl.dll,LaunchMultiGpuApplet and what this does.
4) Also please tell me your motherboard brand and model as well as graphics card pairs and if you 1) have a SLI bridge and 2) if you are attempting to use it or not.

NOTES:
1) Don't apply any of Solaris patches. I am working with him on this set.
2) Uninstall current drivers, restart, then install these like I said before. Otherwise you may have to install twice.

**NOTE: THESE DRIVERS DON'T WORK. THEY WERE AN UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPT**

*EDIT* Date: 5-22-08 @ 11:56AM
Version: v2 (Last was v1)


**NOTE: THESE DRIVERS DON'T WORK. THEY WERE AN UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPT**


Vista (32-bit) v175.16: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=DUS5K8XJ
Windows XP/2K (32-bit) v175.16: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YQNVA830 (this is mislabelled - says its Vista but its not)

EDIT (5-22-08 @ 1:40AM): I think there is something wrong with this set on my card or something (even the unmodded ones don't work) so I'm going to try modding another set I think. Perhaps 175.70.

EDIT (5-22-08 @ 11:56AM): Download links back up. Problem preventing driver installation should be fixed now. Please test!
(12:54PM): Removed old text saying drivers didn't work. Whoops.

EDIT (6-25-08 @ 5:20PM): Added:

**NOTE: THESE DRIVERS DON'T WORK. THEY WERE AN UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPT**
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,544 (9.13/day)
Likes
14,151
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.8GHz 1.3V
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon (really nice board, bad vdroop under load w/ an 8 core)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
let us know how this works, i can test with 8800GT's (but only once, as i'm borrowing a card), if people have positive reports.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,544 (9.13/day)
Likes
14,151
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.8GHz 1.3V
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon (really nice board, bad vdroop under load w/ an 8 core)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
well i'm excited :p i'm on vista x64, but if 32 bit gets working x64 isnt far behind.

After that, i'd finally get to run SLI :D
 
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#5
Yeh I'd really like to get an X38 to get some of its virtualization features but it doesn't support SLI :p. So it'd definitely be great if we got this working :).
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
475 (0.12/day)
Likes
16
Location
canada kamloops
System Name fun box
Processor PHENOM 9850 BE
Motherboard M3A32-MVP DELUXE WIFI
Cooling ANTEC 900
Memory 4 GIG DDR2+
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS 4850
Storage 160GIG
Case ANTEC 900
Audio Device(s) MAKES MUSIC AND THINGS PLAY
Power Supply 650 ANTEC
Software WIN XP
Benchmark Scores 15239
#6
Started a new thread. Branched from Solaris17's original thread that I kinda sort hijacked. We're working together on this now so its cool :D.
---

Finally they're here! That took way too damn long.. Thanks for your patience everyone! Cross your fingers! In order to develop these, since neither I nor Solaris own a CrossFire board, please provide feedback on the following:

1) GPU-Z says if SLI is available.
2) If NV CP shows if SLI is available.
3) If you can run: rundll32.exe nvcpl.dll,LaunchMultiGpuApplet and what this does.
4) Also please tell me your motherboard brand and model as well as graphics card pairs and if you 1) have a SLI bridge and 2) if you are attempting to use it or not.

NOTES:
1) Don't apply any of Solaris patches. I am working with him on this set.
2) Uninstall current drivers, restart, then install these like I said before. Otherwise you may have to install twice.

Anyways hopefully these work! LOL... (I hope so given the time I spent heh..)

Vista (32-bit) v175.16: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=VALO8DAH
Windows XP/2K (32-bit) v175.16: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=1MTC3BTJ
Hi I think you already know my info ..but here it is again my mobo is M3A32-MVP DELUXE WI-FI And I have two evga8800gt,s 512 mb...Ok I will install drivers and let you know what happens ...fingers are crossed......Oh ya one thing before I do ..do I run: rundll32.exe nvcpl.dll,LaunchMultiGpuApplet before I install drivers or install them and then run it?...Ok Im going to hook up my second 8800 and connect the sli connecter then check back to see what you say...k thanks...steve
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,676 (4.68/day)
Likes
4,766
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor r4 1400 (r7 1700 temporary): Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard Biostar X370 GT5 : Generic
Cooling CM 212+ : Liquid cooled
Memory 2x4GB Viper Elite 2667 16-18-18 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) XFX Double D R9 290 : XFX R5 220
Storage Toshiba 256GB NVME HGST 2x2TB Raid0 : WD 3TB + HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case CM Masterbox RGB: DIYPC D480-W White Window
Audio Device(s) Radeon HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Mouse Tt Challenger : None
Keyboard Rosewill Neon : None
Software Windows 10+ Zorin 12.3: Zorin 12.3
#7
*subscribed* I for one would LOVE to see these develop. May not get an HD4k card later if these are confirmed working. 8800GS/9600GSO in SLi on a 975x board anyone? :D
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,721 (4.12/day)
Likes
6,721
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
sorry for missing your im bluevelvet i was out +1 for the mad excited :)
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#10
@sinister_steve dude , all things aside . u gotta tell me this first ,

who's that hottie in ur avatar ?

@ solaris : u feeling well bud ?


PS : hope these drivers work , whole intel chipset world is holding its breath :toast:
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,436 (1.15/day)
Likes
740
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#11
Are these for Intel based board's only, cause I have a MSI K9A2 Plat (AMD 790FX) that's not in use I would be willing to run tests on, then again that would require a set of NVidia cards (feel free to donate :p).
 
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#12
Haha. No It should work with any CrossFire board (in theory - if they work .. LOL).

:)

Sorry I don't have any spare cards though :p.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,266 (6.14/day)
Likes
8,145
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#13
i got a K9A2 as well might have some cards to test SLi whit soon enough lol
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#16
Thanks wolf! Much appreciated! :)
most of these days i am all day at tpu on this x38 mobo . so i can test and provide feedback within a short time . as much as i would like to test for u guys myself, i cant coz i dont have access to a 2nd 9600gt .
 
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#17
most of these days i am all day at tpu on this x38 mobo . so i can test and provide feedback within a short time . as much as i would like to test for u guys myself, i cant coz i dont have access to a 2nd 9600gt .
I appreciate the help you can give nonetheless and your posts will definitely help so thanks! :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
475 (0.12/day)
Likes
16
Location
canada kamloops
System Name fun box
Processor PHENOM 9850 BE
Motherboard M3A32-MVP DELUXE WIFI
Cooling ANTEC 900
Memory 4 GIG DDR2+
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS 4850
Storage 160GIG
Case ANTEC 900
Audio Device(s) MAKES MUSIC AND THINGS PLAY
Power Supply 650 ANTEC
Software WIN XP
Benchmark Scores 15239
#18
ok so youre instructions confused me on how to install and where so heres what I did..

I went to device man and found my two evga adapters and told the updater to update the drivers and told it to get it from the sli drivers you moded..and it is still acting like I dont have drivers installed..So I also installed the driver directly from the mod folder and still sais I dont have any drivers installed ? but didnt try the LaunchMultiGpuApplet for I dont know where to put it in? sorry im not to comp smart guys im pretty new to computers...k well let me know what to do here..oh ya gpu-z says dissabled..
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
475 (0.12/day)
Likes
16
Location
canada kamloops
System Name fun box
Processor PHENOM 9850 BE
Motherboard M3A32-MVP DELUXE WIFI
Cooling ANTEC 900
Memory 4 GIG DDR2+
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS 4850
Storage 160GIG
Case ANTEC 900
Audio Device(s) MAKES MUSIC AND THINGS PLAY
Power Supply 650 ANTEC
Software WIN XP
Benchmark Scores 15239
#19
ok so youre instructions confused me on how to install and where so heres what I did..

I went to device man and found my two evga adapters and told the updater to update the drivers and told it to get it from the sli drivers you moded..and it is still acting like I dont have drivers installed..So I also installed the driver directly from the mod folder and still sais I dont have any drivers installed ? but didnt try the LaunchMultiGpuApplet for I dont know where to put it in? sorry im not to comp smart guys im pretty new to computers...k well let me know what to do here..oh ya gpu-z says dissabled..
hey perhaps we should you and me and solaris should talk on msn might be quicker
heres my MSN hod333@hotmail.com
 
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#20
Hey Sinister you should just try running the Setup.exe program to install them. If they don't work when running Setup once try running it again and installing them again after it reboots.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
475 (0.12/day)
Likes
16
Location
canada kamloops
System Name fun box
Processor PHENOM 9850 BE
Motherboard M3A32-MVP DELUXE WIFI
Cooling ANTEC 900
Memory 4 GIG DDR2+
Video Card(s) 2X ASUS 4850
Storage 160GIG
Case ANTEC 900
Audio Device(s) MAKES MUSIC AND THINGS PLAY
Power Supply 650 ANTEC
Software WIN XP
Benchmark Scores 15239
#21
Hey Sinister you should just try running the Setup.exe program to install them. If they don't work when running Setup once try running it again and installing them again after it reboots.
ok will run setup a few times
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,544 (9.13/day)
Likes
14,151
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.8GHz 1.3V
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon (really nice board, bad vdroop under load w/ an 8 core)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
the original instructions went like this:

1. uninstall old drivers. reboot.
2. run setup to install modded drivers - manually install if that fails - reboot
3. run the command line prompt (may require UAC disabled/admin rights)
- rundll32.exe nvcpl.dll,LaunchMultiGpuApplet
 
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#23
Hmm. These don't seem to be working at all actually =/. I'm not sure why. Whatever problem appears to be affecting the Vista version as well as the XP version as well...

*sigh*.

I already did a lot of work on these today so I won't be uploading new ones until tomorrow. Sorry guys.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,544 (9.13/day)
Likes
14,151
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.8GHz 1.3V
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon (really nice board, bad vdroop under load w/ an 8 core)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (+60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + corsair RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#24
Hmm. These don't seem to be working at all actually =/. I'm not sure why. Whatever problem appears to be affecting the Vista version as well as the XP version as well...

*sigh*.

I already did a lot of work on these today so I won't be uploading new ones until tomorrow. Sorry guys.
i can sense a great disturbance in the force, as if a million hopeful geeks had their souls crushed at the same time...
 
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
49 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#25
i can sense a great disturbance in the force, as if a million hopeful geeks had their souls crushed at the same time...
LOL. Well. The version I did for Vista 169.35 worked fine on my machine. I ported the changes to the 175.16 XP and Vista versions. So I'm not sure what the deal is here.

But the 169.35 version should in theory work but it doesnt work for 9XXX cards since those were released in 174+ I think. So I'm still looking at it.
 
Top