• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
It won't boot in any of the modes with SLi Enabled x32 on the end

It will only boot with Windows XP Professional

There is no ntoskrnp.exe or SLi Folder, and I've manually pasted halsli.dll but it didn't help

http://img.techpowerup.org/100102/what.png
after you pasted they, did SLIEnabled booted?

did you run installsli.cmd as administrator?
have you ever edit boot.ini file?
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
after you pasted they, did SLIEnabled booted?

did you run installsli.cmd as administrator?
have you ever edit boot.ini file?
Before this, there was an error about SLi Enabled having a hal something .dll missing indeed

However, once I pasted it, the error does not come up anymore, but it still does not boot

My PC will go to the windows XP Loading Screen and then reboot

I haven't edited the boot.ini

And I am on Windows XP and I am the only user on the computer, so I am an administrator and it said the SLi Patch install was successful
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
How can I get rid of all the extra boot options saying SLi Enabled, because they're really annoying and the uninstall SLi Patch does not work
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
How can I get rid of all the extra boot options saying SLi Enabled, because they're really annoying and the uninstall SLi Patch does not work
do next:

open boot.ini by usuing notepad, and after it delete manuslly lines which cantain "SliEnabled".

after, reboot system.

and tell me you finished. i'll tell you what do next
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
and one more question... what file did you run to install patch, installsli.cmd or slipathcinsaller.exe?

you should to run installsli.cmd
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
MSI 790FX-GD70 w/ Phenom II X4 965
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

2x GTX260. (with SLI Bridge)

New patch not working.
Cleaned out old drivers and SLI patch, rebooted, uninstalled SLI string, rebooted 2x.
Installed SLI String and rebooted two more times, ran InstallSLI.cmd, rebooted into SLI-Enabled kernel, installed 195.62 drivers and rebooted.

No SLI option available.
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
do next:

open boot.ini by usuing notepad, and after it delete manuslly lines which cantain "SliEnabled".

after, reboot system.

and tell me you finished. i'll tell you what do next
Okay I have done this now

Yea, I have XP Professional Service Pack 3

And yes, I ran InstallSli.cmd
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Mashuga

did you tried old driver? (191 or 190)

Are both GPU's connected to NB?
 

cjer

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Thank you to posters trying to help and developers who made this available. I had this working on XP 32. Then upped to 7 64. I had some trouble getting to work with the latter initially. After a re-install and regroup of my faculties, I got it to work tonight smooth as ... I used 190.62 7 64 and followed this. It was easy this time. Rebooted twice after installer and disabled UAC and rebooted. Then applied patch. sweet.

Section F. Windows 7 64-bit, method 2, SLI patch 0.2

Step 1 Download SLI String installer v.2.0 and unpack in to folder on HDD. Run slistringinstall.exe.
Step 2 Press ASUS, regardless of real motherboard, to patch Windows registry with SLIC certificate
Step 3 Disable UAC
Step 4. Download SLI patch tool v0.2 for Windows 7 64bit, and unpack it to folder.
Step 5. Enter command prompt with administrator rights and run InstallSli.cmd. To undo all changes to system enter prompt and run UninstallSli.cmd. After reboot SLI must work.


Did exactly. From xDevs. ty
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
MSI 790FX-GD70 w/ Phenom II X4 965
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

2x GTX260. (with SLI Bridge)

New patch not working.
Cleaned out old drivers and SLI patch, rebooted, uninstalled SLI string, rebooted 2x.
Installed SLI String and rebooted two more times, ran InstallSLI.cmd, rebooted into SLI-Enabled kernel, installed 195.62 drivers and rebooted.

No SLI option available.
We have some problems with AMD. Just give me some time friend
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Mashuga

did you tried old driver? (191 or 190)

Are both GPU's connected to NB?
Yes, hacked SLI worked with 190.62, just wanted the newer drivers for stability and minor performance increases.


Everything's connected and working fine;
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
does your system boot ok with SliEnabled or not?
Nope

It goes to Windows XP Professional SLIEnabled x32 and gets to the windows XP Loading Screen for about 10 seconds, and then reboots

It has created an SLi Folder but the folder is empty
 
Last edited:

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
it must be empty. now try to boot in safe mode
I have formatted my computer just to make sure

I have installed SLi String Installer v2.0, and rebooted twice, but Everest Ultimate Edition does not show an SLIC Certificate. Why is this?

 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
never mind. i have everest is not showing, but SLI works
Okay thank you :) So let's assume that the SLIC Certificate is installed

What do I do next?
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
ok. try to boot in safe mode?
does the system boot ok in normal mode?
It boots fine at the moment, yes :)

I am going to install the SLi Patch for Windows XP and see if my PC will boot
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
No it didn't boot

It did the same thing. I chose Windows XP Professional SLIEnabled x32, it went to the Windows XP Loading Screen (at the bottom left, instead of Copyright Microsoft Corporation, it was written in Russian or something) and then my PC rebooted... so I'm afraid no it did not boot :(

However in safe mode, Windows XP Professional SLIEnabled x32 WILL boot

What is causing this? :'(

EDIT: I have the latest nVIDIA drivers installed (195) if that is relevant
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
No it didn't boot

It did the same thing. I chose Windows XP Professional SLIEnabled x32, it went to the Windows XP Loading Screen (at the bottom left, instead of Copyright Microsoft Corporation, it was written in Russian or something) and then my PC rebooted... so I'm afraid no it did not boot :(

However in safe mode, Windows XP Professional SLIEnabled x32 WILL boot

What is causing this? :'(

EDIT: I have the latest nVIDIA drivers installed (195) if that is relevant
now try to boot with vga mode
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit