1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    what did you do?

    ntoskrnp.exe and hal.dll you overwrite
    what about winload.exe?
     
  2. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    "which is weird cos I have done this before and it did not work"

    what you have done before?
     
  3. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    ok, here is one thing to consider, Win7 has a nasty cyclic "repair boot" issue that it requires over 3 sometimes 5 reboots to finally *fix* the issue with a hal.dll problem (even something as simple as a permissions issue).

    I originally manually "undid" the original HAL mod and SLI String installation and got caught in that cycle myself. It seems as if windows 7 uses some sort of flag to determine if a boot got past the previous point or not and if not it automatically reboots into the repair cycle. HUGE PITA to say the least.

    I did eventually get the damn thing back up, with the proper hal.dll and everything working 'plain vanilla' again, but it took over 2 hours to get there.

    Once there, I just did the two lastest hack (sli string install and slipatch) and it all went off without a hitch.

    MikeTyson, if you are stuck in the "repair cycle" you have to let it finish and get a clean boot before you do anything else. And once that is done it usually means it ended up going back and undoing anything you just did so you really need to start over.

    anatolymik's scripts work great, and he has tried over and over to help you out. Again, this is not rocket science and if you can't get it working, maybe you should pass on this. You are taking anatolymik away from working on other issues here (including AMD support that some of us need). Wait until he gets past the "alpha" stage and then give it a try.

    First and foremost, if you want to give yourself the best chances of this, run it under xp32 with a admin account, not a user account. You should have zero permissions issues and it should go off without a hitch from the get-go. If not, maybe your setup has something that the rest of us don't, like a custom patched hal.dll or something specific to your setup. Heck, are you sure your using the release installs of everything, not betas or trials?

    If you are not using a retail set of discs, ie, if you are using downloaded copies of the OSes, sourced somewhere other than Microsoft, please stop bothering people as you cannot verify that you have *pure* versions of the OSes themselves. Hacks like this only work if everyone is using a known good OS.

    Again, fact of the matter is, you should have ZERO problem installing this. It really is as simple as it gets.
     
  4. TiN

    TiN

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    Totally dumb problems are here. I'm sure problems are not with mods.

    MikeTyson, test you memory, test your GPU's , test motherboard and power supply.

    I've checked and tested every SLI patch except XP 64bit and Vista versions, and all worked FLAWLESS even without reboots, after SLIString install, and driver reinstall.

    Tried drivers 190.62, 185.85, 181,20, 191, 195 and every case works perfect with ASUS SLIC string.

    It's really a pain to follow anatolymik tries to help non existant problem :(

    Nor anatolymik, nor sveetsnelda, nor I write anything about SLI mod if we wasn't 99.999% sure that it working good. That's why we don't released 195.xx mod earlier, to iron out bugs before release.
     
  5. Akula74

    Akula74 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Bla...
    One of my 8800GTX's has lost it...
    After all that screwing around i'm only running on one now?
    Oh well, SLI only gave me 20% more so i read in some magazines...
    Guys i want to thank you all for your effort.
    Za na Ukrainzav.....
     
  6. TiN

    TiN

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
    Akula74

    8800ПЕЧ often have issues now, GPU solder balls got screwed from PCB, so no contacts > no workings. This can be fixed by reflow with slow heating card up to 220°C for 10-20sec and slow cooling (not faster than 3°C per sec).

    Effort from SLI is from minus to +100% , it heavily dependent on application and modes (resolution/AA/AF), and also on CPU power.
     
  7. Akula74

    Akula74 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    TiN,
    Could you please explain to me in detail what exactly do you mean by that?
    Like exactly what would i have to do to fix this problem?
    Thanks
     
  8. TiN

    TiN

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Taipei
  9. Akula74

    Akula74 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Spasibo,
    I'll give this a go, sounds a bit crazy but it's either that or the rubbish bit....
    Thanks

    Lastly TiN,
    Can you give us the link of the lastest patch?
    Spasibo brattan...
     
  10. KhaZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Mark,

    I have an Asus Commando and also 2x 8800GTX, can you tell me in detail what you did to achieve it? I'm a bit confused as there are continiously improvements and different methods. Kinda lost it reading 20+ pages..

    Or anyone else know what the perfect method is?
     
  11. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    How can you tell me it's my problem :S

    The SLi was enabled and worked fine with the modded 191 drivers, so obviously my hardware is capable of doing so...

    I've gone back to XP again, clean install, SLi String Installer, different hard drive just to make bloody sure, and guess what?

    Doesn't boot into SLiEnabled x32... just restarts

    Here is the screen I get when I use InstallSli.cmd for the first time on a clean install:

    [​IMG]

    I'm no expert, but surely there are more than 2 files to be copied?

    And if not, how can 2 tiny files be the cause of a complete fail to boot :/
     
  12. dbphelps New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    MikeTyson, again are you installing on a fresh installation of XP 32 Service Pack 3?

    Also, what installation medium are you using? An original Microsoft install disc?
     
  13. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Yes it's Windows XP Professional SP3 completely fresh formatted

    I lost my original XP disc so I have this one made, but this is the same disc I used to install Windows XP SP3 before and used the mdoded drivers with which SLi was working... so I don't think the disc is an issue

    My windows is legal and activated

    And it's not an operating system issue, because I had this exact same problem on Windows 7 as well...
     
  14. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    ok. do next:

    take ntoskrnp.exe
    raname it to ntoskrnl.exe

    take halsli.dll
    raname it to hal.dll

    copy these files to windows\system32

    reboot and use normal windows booting. without slienabled

    get ready to reinstall system if something goes wrong
     
  15. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Okay, I've done this and booted into normal windows
     
  16. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    try sli
     
  17. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Doesn't work

    [​IMG]
     
  18. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
  19. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Yep

    [​IMG]
     
  20. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
  21. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    The latest 195
     
  22. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    try 191
     
  23. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    190.62:

    [​IMG]

    Just like I said, there is nothing wrong with my system...

    I don't know what it is, but it may be a bug from your side
     
  24. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    i'm going crazy
    let me think
     
  25. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    I will run some games, and then try the 195 drivers and see if SLi will work
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)