• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

benjounou

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
i've got a very little decrease performance with 195 compared at 191.
but i think it's the 195 driver. no crash.
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
it's not my mod for sure

Actually, having been a hacker myself, you can't really say that.

That is like cracking a new game, but missing an extra check inside the game that makes part of the game be screwed up. It is all part of the protection scheme they instituted.

You did a great job making the system forgery to allow the driver to install and run, but it is obvious that on at least AMD systems they are doing other things that are preventing them from running like they do on say an Intel chipset.

Could be a section of code that is written to execute poorly on an AMD chipset. It could be code that won't run properly unless it sees a nVidia chipset with an AMD processor. Could be a bunch of stuff.

Key is, the 195 drivers are not functional with your hack on a 790FX chipset motherboard (or at least the Asus Crosshair III Formula). Just because they install and don't BSOD, does not mean they run properly.

Now, that being said, you have made great strides in circumventing nVidias installation and running of the drivers themselves to even allow SLI on these systems. Just saying that it is not complete if the drivers are not fixed to execute properly.

Actually, there may be a real technical reason they don't want these latest drivers running properly on AMD chipsets. Maybe they run better on the AMD chipsets than they ever would on the nVidia chipsets. That little revelation would firmly kill off any current and future sales of nVidia chipsets. Why would you ever want even a hacked setup of your performance GPU technology to run BETTER on your competitors chipset?

I have zero doubt nVidia has crippled thee newer drivers especially in the case of running on an AMD chipset to prevent such a business issue.

Like I said the benchmarks (even with the visual aberrations) are even higher than the 191s, to the tune of 2-6%.

Actually, they could also be worrying about warranty issues with thier video boards being run and stressed under SLI on an AMD chipset motherboard. If the AMD chipset can eek out that much more performance, it could spell doom for "on-the-edge" vendor overclocked setups (such as the FTW GTX280 I have), and if so it could cause heat temps that would compromise the onboard electronics and ultimately cause a major set of warranty issues.

It is already known that the 191-195 series of drivers cause excessive video card temps, and there are more than enough threads on the various boards about people having factory OC'd (or even boards they have manually OC'd) dying after running the 191-195 series drivers.

Personally I underclock my FTW GTX280 to factory shipped GTX280 stock spec's ever since the 191s to make sure nothing dies on me.

For now I will have to stay running with the 191s until a proper hack for the 195s is done, as they are unuseable on my setup.

Thanks again anatolymik, and it is really becoming a 'polished' hack with the completeness and ease of install, especially without having to add in a slicertificate or anything else outside of running the installer. Even the upgrading aspect of it is pretty slick.
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
And to clarify, the SLI installation/enabling part of the hack may be compelte, and you are correct that the hack you insitituted wouldn't be the cause of poor/invalid performance.

Just saying the hack is not complete, at least on AMD chipsets, that is all.
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Just saying the hack is not complete, at least on AMD chipsets, that is all.



And before anyone mentions the temps, that's after 5 hours being powered on and in use, I just didn't want to wait for the temp to drop, I idle 26-27c. (No cool'n'quiet either)
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Mashuga, you have a 790FX, and are running 195 drivers, so any problems in games?

Run 3dMark Vantage in Extreme?

Very interested if you are running into the same things I am under that config.

Maybe it is something with the Asus Crosshair III Formula 790FX motherboard.

If oyu have not run any tests to confirm proper operation, then you can't say it was a success. Like I said I can get Win7 to run with the 195s, just that performance is unuseable.
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Ok, a little more feedback after running some games...

Sacred 2 works fine, as does all settings on 3dMark Vantage except for Extreme, as it has the 'tarp' issue I mentioned along with stutters and pauses/jumping (ie it is not smooth)...

I will stress again the scores are a bit higher with 195s vs 191s...

No crashing anywhere, Sacred 2 runs great without issues...

I will be installing the Crysis games along with UT3 and a few others tomorrow and will report back on that as well.

I would really like to know if the 'tarp' issue in 3dMark Vantage is just with the 790FX chipset or if others with other configurations also see the 'flickering of the tarp'. Who knows, maybe it is a 195 driver issue not a SLI hack issue.

I did track some stutter issues in games to the fact that I did not have a pagefile configured under Win7 64 (didn't think I really needed one with 8gb of ddr3 1600)... but, once I configured a 4gb pagefile on another drive it smoothed out some of the game issues, but the 3dMark Vantage "Extreme" setting stuttering and 'tarp' issue still exist.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,006 (2.29/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
i was having the "tarp' issue in 3dMark Vantage" when i was running SLI on the 790GX with 2 8800GTs using 191
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.29/day)
I STRESS IF YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS 'TARP' OR PERFORMANCE DECREASE IT'S NOT SLIPatch.
SHOULD I EXPLAIN HOW DOES IT WORK?
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Vantage (rebenched approximate scores listed to the left under specs), L4D2, BioShock, Aion, RA3, and about 5 hours worth of RTHDRIBL without error.
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
I STRESS IF YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS 'TARP' OR PERFORMANCE DECREASE IT'S NOT SLIPatch.
SHOULD I EXPLAIN HOW DOES IT WORK?

anatolymik, don't take it wrong when I said there was a problem and the hack was incomplete.

I understand in theory how the hack works. It makes the system appear to be one of the 'authorized' SLI-capable systems out there on a system level so the drivers install and run with the SLI option.

My whole viewpoint is, beyond that, if the hack doesn't allow the driver to operate 100% (which is what it *seemed* like), which may NOT be the case, then the hack is only useable to that which are not hamstrung by a driver that will not 100% on all platforms. In the case of those it does not work on, it is still useless. Thus for those the hack does not work.

In this case, it seems as if the 'tarp' and 3dMark aberration is an issue on other setups as well, so it may well be a *driver* issue, not a hack issue.

The key I am getting at is you CANNOT differentiate and say your hack is not the cause (which is TRUE in all cases, it would NEVER be the cause), without a patch to FIX the driver to work on the platform for which it doesn't (either by design or accident).

In this game it is ALL or NOTHING. It either works for people that want to run it, or it does not, plain and simple.

The hack shoudl not be touted as a "SLI running on platforms it isn't intended for" hack, it should be "SLI running on SOME platforms that are install issues alone"... Yes, splitting hairs, but it is known to all as the "holy grail of SLI on non-nVidia platforms". THAT is a hell of a thing to live up to. Especially if they start putting checks and performance limiters into the drivers. If they start doing that, sure you can't take responsibility for issues that arise out of them cripplign the SLI mode on specific platforms, but it does fall squarely on your plate to deal with as the ones to offer "SLI to the masses on all platforms". If not you, who else?

My point is, with the glory comes responsibility. That is all.

As for now, it looks to be working well. Stable, works excellent with good performance.

Hell, nVidia could really fuck us all with thier next drivers and actually write CPU dependant code sections that only install on the platform for which they are intended. That could really screw up install spoof efforts to get things installed and running properly.

Again, the effort provided has been greatly appreciated. And again, it is understood what you set out to achieve and you have done just that.
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
The key I am getting at is you CANNOT differentiate and say your hack is not the cause (which is TRUE in all cases, it would NEVER be the cause)

Fishing and splitting hairs, this guy's spending an insane amount of time on this and fixing for new chipsets the moment he gets the average user screaming "it doesn't work". In my opinion, leave him alone.

This is free and it's not like any of us could've done it without him.

(The hack returns Chipset ID Strings, nothing more. So yes, in this case, it *IS* impossible that the patch has any impact on performance.)
 

oiluj

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (G0)
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (Intel P35)
Cooling Zalman CNPS8700 LED
Memory 4GB: Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 2x2GB kit
Video Card(s) 2x nVidia 8800GT in SLI (YES, I said "in SLI" with a P35 chipset!!)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150GB + 2x WD CaviarBlue 500GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226CW + LG Flatron F900P
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Analog Devices AD1988B HD-Audio (Integrated)
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
I completely agree with Mashuga.
Anyone who doesn't like work done (and being done right now) by anatolymik, sveetsnelda, TiN, and everyone making this great project, is absolutely free to leave this community and start trying SLI hack by theirselves, with their own means.

If you have something interesting, constructive to say, you're welcome.
If you don't, simply shut up! Believe me, it's better for you and for the rest of the whole universe!!

I'm Spanish, and in Spain we say "Tanta paz lleves como descanso dejas". If someone helps me translating this into English, I appreciate!!
 
Last edited:

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,006 (2.29/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
I STRESS IF YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS 'TARP' OR PERFORMANCE DECREASE IT'S NOT SLIPatch.
SHOULD I EXPLAIN HOW DOES IT WORK?

if that was to me then F*** you! i was just saying that i had the same problem wasn't saying it was from the patch. If it wasn't to me i take that back and i apologize for the disrespect.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.29/day)
if that was to me then F*** you! i was just saying that i had the same problem wasn't saying it was from the patch. If it wasn't to me i take that back and i apologize for the disrespect.

let's assume i told it to you. so then? did i offend you by this phrase?
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,006 (2.29/day)
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
let's assume i told it to you. so then? did i offend you by this phrase?

To be honest yes i was alittle offended by it (mostly because of the caps) Even if it was to me i take it back been having such a bad day and was fighting with the gf at the time
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Eh, the caps were mostly to get it across to DBPHelps, not you posPC.
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.04/day)
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Yall should take a chill pill before they close the thread completely.

No one want to read 3 pages of nothing but BS & pissing & moning.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.29/day)
To be honest yes i was alittle offended by it (mostly because of the caps) Even if it was to me i take it back been having such a bad day and was fighting with the gf at the time

My apologize posPC. I did not want to offend you.
The Phrase was not to you.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.29/day)
If Anybody Have Downloaded The File That Above Then Download It Once Again. I Fixed Some Bugs
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,012 (0.83/day)
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Hello everyone,

I have just jumped into this thread, and would kindly like to know where the instructions are to install this patch. I have an ASUS Crosshair III Formula 790FX and 2 mismatched 9800 GT 1GB cards (1 BFG 65nm + 1 PNY 55nm.) Also, will SLi work without a bridge (enabling P2P graphics in BIOS?) I have Win7 x64 and downloaded the SLIPatch 0.3 Win7 x64 zip file. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.29/day)
Hello everyone,

I have just jumped into this thread, and would kindly like to know where the instructions are to install this patch. I have an ASUS Crosshair III Formula 790FX and 2 mismatched 9800 GT 1GB cards (1 BFG 65nm + 1 PNY 55nm.) Also, will SLi work without a bridge (enabling P2P graphics in BIOS?) I have Win7 x64 and downloaded the SLIPatch 0.3 Win7 x64 zip file. Thanks!

use v0.42 patch. 0.3 is unstable
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,012 (0.83/day)
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Okay, just downloaded 0.42 from the previous page. What do I need to do now?
 
Top