• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

hansiii

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
of course he does. otherwise you can't boot because of hal and ntoskrnp have a signing that isn't in the system.
I think he means the "Loader" to emulate a OEM-BIOS to bypass the MS-activation!
I asked, because maybe this is the problem?! :eek:
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.38/day)
I think he means the "Loader" to emulate a OEM-BIOS to bypass the MS-activation!
I asked, because maybe this is the problem?! :eek:
i see.
it's not a problem.
Win7Loader starts before boot sector of windows starts
do all operations with acpi table and load original boot sector into memory
and jump to it
 

elbolo

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
:rockout: It works!

thanks again to all that made this possible!

my system: asus maximus formula II + q6600 + 2 x nvidia gtx260

my method starting from a clean win7 x64 system:

1) disable UAC
reboot
2) install driver 195,62
reboot
3) copy sli patch 4.2 directory on my desktop then launch "InstallSLI.cmd" as administrator
4) close the dos box
5) manually copy "halsli.dll" "ntoskrnp.exe" "osloadw7.exe" into c:/windows/system32 directory, then verify.
6) install and launch "easy BCD" and check that the entry n.1 will load osloadw7.exe

Entry #1
Name: Windows 7 SLIEnabled x64
BCD ID: {current}
Drive: C:\
Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\osloadw7.exe
Windows Directory: \Windows

7) reboot ---> all work, almost for me


WARNING
the dafault crack used by extreme loader 3.118 will not work together with the sli patch.
 
Last edited:

Goonit

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
same problem with MikeTyson... endless repair... v0.42 still could not fix...(win7 32bit)
anatolymik; Could this problem be caused by not running correct ACPI setting within BIOS/updated driver within Windows?

I know I ran into this problem of "endless repair" with Win7 x64 because I didn't install the ACPI drivers from Windows Update, IIRC. Didn't get this problem until I forgot to Windows Update and install those ACPI drivers..

I've ended up inserting the SLI cert into my P5Q bios.. but NOW there's not even a need for SLI insertion.. you're just too good anatolymik. :toast:
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.38/day)
anatolymik; Could this problem be caused by not running correct ACPI setting within BIOS/updated driver within Windows?

I know I ran into this problem of "endless repair" with Win7 x64 because I didn't install the ACPI drivers from Windows Update, IIRC. Didn't get this problem until I forgot to Windows Update and install those ACPI drivers..

I've ended up inserting the SLI cert into my P5Q bios.. but NOW there's not even a need for SLI insertion.. you're just too good anatolymik. :toast:
I think not
 

Goonit

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
I think not
What do you think it is then?

How can my problem be explained? I did everything the same way which I've done numerous times without issue, but missed the one step of installing the ACPI 2.0 drivers.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.38/day)
What do you think it is then?

How can my problem be explained? I did everything the same way which I've done numerous times without issue, but missed the one step of installing the ACPI 2.0 drivers.
ok. when the loader go to repair?
 

Regamaster

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Hi anatolymik, I've been trying to get SLI working on my AMD setup for days without any success. I've tried many tutorials which resulted in either SLI not enabling or it being unstable (BSOD's on boot and in gameplay.)

My setup specs are:
Windows 7 x64
MSI 790FX-GD70 SB-750
2x Galaxy GTS 250 512MB

Can you please tell me exactly what I need to do step-by-step to help me successfully achieve SLI? Thank you.
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Run the patch linked above, reboot into "Windows 7 x64 SLI-Enabled" and install the 195.xx drivers. (don't have to remove old ones, just run the installer and repair if it bitches about having the same version installed already)

With Windows 7 loading everything in user-mode, you won't have to reboot after installing the drivers, just check the nVidia Control Panel for SLI availability.
 

Regamaster

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Ok so I've ran the SLI v0.5 for Win7 x64 patch several times but I'm not getting the "Windows 7 SLIEnabled x64" choice at all after reboot. I have boot logging enabled in advanced system settings and I even went into msconfig/boot tab and my original Windows 7 os is the only listing there. Any ideas? Thank you for the reply.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.38/day)
Hi anatolymik, I've been trying to get SLI working on my AMD setup for days without any success. I've tried many tutorials which resulted in either SLI not enabling or it being unstable (BSOD's on boot and in gameplay.)

My setup specs are:
Windows 7 x64
MSI 790FX-GD70 SB-750
2x Galaxy GTS 250 512MB

Can you please tell me exactly what I need to do step-by-step to help me successfully achieve SLI? Thank you.
what kind of BSOD's it was
 

Regamaster

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
what kind of BSOD's it was
Most BSODs: nvlddmkm.sys (during boot/gameplay)
Once BSODs: dxgmmx1.sys, 0x0000001E and 0x0000007F

Just to be clear I can assure this is not a hardware issue since I'm currently not overclocked and have stress tested all my hardware and haven't recieved any errors before trying to enable SLI.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.38/day)
Most BSODs: nvlddmkm.sys (during boot/gameplay)
Once BSODs: dxgmmx1.sys, 0x0000001E and 0x0000007F

Just to be clear I can assure this is not a hardware issue since I'm currently not overclocked and have stress tested all my hardware and haven't recieved any errors before trying to enable SLI.
ok. now i'm working on SLIPatch 0.6. wait for a while please
 

Mashuga

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
System Name GodBox
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @4.0
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Liquid: Koolance / ½" tubing, 1x 2-120mm rad after-proc, 1x 1-120 rad pre-proc
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX470
Storage 2x WD 1TB, 2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB in Raid(games), 1x WD 250GB Boot
Display(s) 1x Dell U2410 LCD, 1x Dell 1908FP
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000 (custom window, cable routing and fans)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ABS 850w single-rail SLI/XFire
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage X24361; Vantage E54092
Windows-Key + R will open the run-prompt; type 'cmd', press enter.

Run these commands:
bcdedit >blah.txt
notepad blah.txt

Copy/Paste everything in the newly opened Notepad window and paste here so we can get a look at your boot config? ^^;
 

Regamaster

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Here it is. I don't know if this helps but with the previous attempts to enable SLI I used SLIStringInstaller v1.81 and v2.0 with new and old drivers. Right now I have driver 195.62 Win7 x64 installed since you guys say it works. Thank for the help, I will wait for replies.

blah said:
Windows Boot Manager
--------------------
identifier {bootmgr}
device partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume1
description Windows Boot Manager
locale en-US
inherit {globalsettings}
default {current}
resumeobject {9ac6204d-6739-11de-abfa-eea2a99cd6bf}
displayorder {current}
toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
timeout 10

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier {current}
device partition=C:
path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
description Windows 7
locale en-US
loadoptions ENABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
inherit {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence {9ac6204f-6739-11de-abfa-eea2a99cd6bf}
recoveryenabled Yes
testsigning No
osdevice partition=C:
systemroot \Windows
resumeobject {9ac6204d-6739-11de-abfa-eea2a99cd6bf}
nx OptIn
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.06/day)
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
no problems with SLIPatch v0.5.
no crash.
all good for me.
thanks a lot anatolymik.
Helps to know what OS & system spec you used.
It can be added to the database & will help others.
It would be nice if everyone would include these when they post it works.

Thanks.
 

Triton.se

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
235 (0.06/day)
System Name Hendrix Inside
Processor Q9650 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard EP45 UD3P v1.1 F10
Cooling TRUE Black
Memory OCZ Blade PC9200 2x2GB Low Voltage
Video Card(s) SLI @ MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB
Storage Samsung F1 1TB
Display(s) Dell SP2309W (23", 2048x1152)
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC889A
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (SLI Patch 0.9b + 260.99)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage (Performance) P25000 (s775, SLI GTX260 216SP) ..|.. 3DMark Vantage (High) H24045 (s77
Anyone else can reproduce this driver crash (SLI Hack 195.62, W7 x64, P45 mobo)?

Moving around EVGA Precision app (tested v1.9, also older v1.60) on desktop makes the crash, GPU1 clocks stuck on 3D Low Perf, GPU2 clocks working normally (maybe stuck on 3D Perf)



195.62 vs 190.62
CPU-z shows my real chipset string "P45/P43", also CPU-z shows memory timings (with 190.62 SLI Hack: no timings visible, and X58 chipset reported) - is this normal?

Have been moving around notepad and CPU-z windows...no driver crashes...with EVGA Precision it takes only few moves, and it crashes driver 100% sofar...

Installed 195.62 SLI Hack last night, tested few games (MW2, GRAW2, L4D2) all was looking good until I was about to take a screenie of CPU-z, EVGA app etc :D (gotta move the apps close to eachother, pixel by pixel)

My install method was as described at http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30
Code:
Section F. Windows 7 64-bit, method 2, SLI patch 0.2

Step 1 Download SLI String installer v.2.0 and unpack in to folder on HDD. Run slistringinstall.exe.
Step 2 Press ASUS, regardless of real motherboard, to patch Windows registry with SLIC certificate
Step 3 Disable UAC
Step 4. Download SLI patch tool v0.2 for Windows 7 64bit, and unpack it to folder.
Step 5. Enter command prompt with administrator rights and run InstallSli.cmd. To undo all changes to system enter prompt and run UninstallSli.cmd. After reboot SLI must work.
but with few more install/uninstall/reboots coz I already had slistring installed. Should have a total sli hack wipe before each new sli hack install?


EDIT ///

I get same crash even after uninstalling SLIpatch/SLIstring, when no sli option is available/visible in win7 boot/nvidia cpl.
Dito with 195.81 driver, withing 30secs of moving evga precision: driver crash
So, I've re-installed the sli hack and using latest beta 195.81, sli indicates working (even tho no "SLI Capable" popped up..i guess it comes next reboot...) - no popup, but SLI working in L4D2, just tested.

maybe I should uninstall evga precision :D or post it in evga forum...

EDIT ///

All seems OK now. I googled "kernel evga precision driver" and saw ppl with similar probs, one got the crash by changing wallpaper...so that's what I did: changed wallpaper and 30-45sec of moving around evga app resulted in no crash.

Fully working, trouble free SLI GTX260 with 195.81 on P45 :D :toast: :respect: With fresh drivers (vs the 5 months old 190.62), don't have to worry about nvidias or atis new gpus :D I'll try to keep my SLI till summer/vacation 2010 :D
 

Attachments

Last edited:

oiluj

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (G0)
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (Intel P35)
Cooling Zalman CNPS8700 LED
Memory 4GB: Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 2x2GB kit
Video Card(s) 2x nVidia 8800GT in SLI (YES, I said "in SLI" with a P35 chipset!!)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150GB + 2x WD CaviarBlue 500GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226CW + LG Flatron F900P
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Analog Devices AD1988B HD-Audio (Integrated)
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
I experience the same "driver crash" as Triton.se, and it seems to appear randomly.

It appears under Vista x64, with SLIPatch 0.42, on an Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (chipset P35) with two 8800GT.

I haven't tried SLIPatch 0.50 fot Win7 x64 yet. Is there a SLIPatch 0.50 for Vista x64 ?
 
Top