1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. soundood New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
    262.99 is just the 260.99 drivers with the inf edited to add the 580, there is not one bit of differance in the two drivers other than this, so the current patch will work :D
     
  2. RagingCain

    RagingCain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    I can confirm, that for the 580s with driver version 260.99 or 263.09, can not get the SLI-Hack to work.

    2x PNY Geforce GTX 580 XLR8 Editions
    Asus Crosshair IV Extreme - Lucid also doesn't support this card yet.
    Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)

    I don't believe its really the drivers, it makes sense for new hardware to have new DevIds, device registers etc. Might just need a small patch on the SLi-Hacker. I believe one was needed for the new 460 yes?
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  3. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello anatolymik,

    my system is:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Asus P5E64 WS Evolution
    E8600
    2x MSI N285 GTX Super Pipe OC
    1 graveur DVD Plextor IDE
    4 HDD Seagate 7200.12 500 go (raid 0 + 5 intel matrix storage)

    The problem can it come from the raid ?

    :)
     
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Have now run Black Ops, and MOH 2010 in sli using 260.99, very nice! MOH blows Black Ops away. Slightly less graphics yes, but as a game, much better.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    can you test these cards on different motherboard?
     
  6. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    no. i have raid too and no problems. which slots for cards you use?
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2010
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Patch has not been tested with 580s yet, you may be the first one to inquire. We will need your input to add the 580s and the newer drivers to the mix.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello anatolymik,

    I use PCIXE16_1 (blue) and PCIXE16_2 (blue)

    [​IMG]

    :)
     
  9. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
  10. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I cannot because MSI N285 GTX Super Pipe OC is too wide
    (use 2 slots by card)

    You understand what I want to say
     
  11. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    yes i got. now go to <drive you have os installed>\windows\system32\ and look for 2 files. ntoskrnl.exe and halsli.dll and send their to me.
     
  12. RagingCain

    RagingCain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Whatever information you boys would like from me consider it done, just ask.

    Secondly, I have no other cards I can try with this motherboard and no other system
    currently working where I could try it on a different motherboard. We do have guys
    using the Asus Crosshair IV Extreme/Formula with SLi for the 470s, 465s,
    260s, and 8800GTXs (Overclock.net) They report no problems using the SLi Hack.

    I have 5 PCI-Express slots, I am currently using #1 and #3 for the 580s, that leaves
    #2 and #5 available. I have already tried: #1/#3 / #1/#5, I can try #1/#2, but I
    don't think #2 / #5 will work. #4 and #5 are controlled by the Southbridge and
    shared with Lucid HydraLogix.

    I don't think it would work as #1 through #3 are all Northbridge 890FX controlled.
    I can't use #4 due to my PCI-Slot cutting off any dual slot configuration.

    If you want me to move them around and try it, I can, but I would prefer to keep
    the cards separated for temperature/airflow reasons (even if it did work.) I can
    test it out though if you wish.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2010
  13. Ridemetal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Sli is still alive with 263.00. :rockout:
     
  14. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    don't move. do you use sli bridge? i saw gtx4xx dont show sli option if you haven't the bridge
     
  15. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hello Anatolymik,

    I sent you files asked in your gmail (in .rar)

    Warn I if you does not receive them

    ;)
     
  16. RagingCain

    RagingCain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Sent the files anatolymik. Thanks for having a look.
     
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, I may be switching out my 2 260s for 2 285s. The experiment continues!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    DroneHive new version released. link in my signature. try. wait for your answer
    lajarnette i can't understand your problem. perhaps me and you will experiment something
     
    DroneHive says thanks.
  19. DroneHive New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Had a try, de-installed patch, reinstalled the 260 drivers (fresh install option), then rebooteed, re-installed patch, rebooted in SLI boot and still seeing no SLI. Still got blue screens on the SLI boot, I kept the sysdata xml and minidump in case it can be useful to you.
     
    anatolymik says thanks.
  20. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    DroneHive if it'll not work then try to move your cards to different slots. The driver enables sli only if both cards pluged to same bridge. Now you have they pluged to different bridges. I can emulate this, but there is a lots of work and no warranty this would works or works stable. Simplest way to you is try to move one card to same bridges as another one.
     
  21. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    From which version of the drivers that occurs?
     
  22. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    of course

    whant can i do :confused:
     
  23. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    i'm thinking yet.
    did you try to use different cards?
    do you use the sli bridge?
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2010
  24. lajarnette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I tested these 2 cards graph on asus Asus P5Q pro / E6400 OC / Windows 7 64 bit / drivers 260.99 / patch 0.9b and that works

    test 1 card:
    [​IMG]

    test 2 cards:
    [​IMG]

    test 2 cards + bridge SLI:
    [​IMG]
     
  25. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    833
    lajarnette with what version of the driver you have sli works?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)