• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

moofree

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
I'd like to report success with slipatch and a big bang fuzion, but in the strangest way.

I have an identical setup to this one with two 1gb gtx 460's and have been trying unsuccessfully to get slipatch to work with it since i got it a couple months ago...

I had no success with the 1.0 version until I uninstalled it.
Once I uninstalled slipatch 1.0, I was able to enable SLI. I disabled hydralogix from its control panel, enabled sli from nvidia, and it's working!

No crashes yet, but I've "only" played for 30 minutes with SLI on. edit2: bsod's
This computer was actually running for a few days since I uninstalled slipatch with no problems, I just hadn't checked nvidia control panel after i uninstalled it.
I just rebooted and sli is still available so it seems permanent. The slipatch entry is gone from the boot manager, so that part got removed i guess...

I guess this may be considered a bug report, since apparently the uninstall script isn't firing off right or something... but it worked out well for me :cool:

I'm running win7 x64, 260.99 drivers

edit: just ran everest and under acpi dsdt/nvidia sli I see
"443817712091Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for MSI P55 GD80 0101-Copyright 2009 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-876112936219(R)"

edit #2
I spoke too soon, just got a blue screen of death exiting counterstrike source
It was playing almost perfectly at 300fps, only crashed when I exited :)

Hi All,

Has anyone had success with the SLI patch on a system that also has the Lucid Hydra solution?

I have an MSI Big Bang Fuzion running on Win7 x64 with 2x GTX 460 cards and cannot get the patch to work. Here is what I have tried:

1) Disabled the Hydra driver
2) Install 260.99 drivers
3) Run the 0.9B patch (confirms patch was installed)
4) Reboot and select the SLI option for Windows boot (SLI bridge installed)
5) Cannot see SLI option next to Physx option

While I can use Hydra for a psuedo SLI, it doesn't work that great on games even though it kicks butt on benchmarks. I also believe all x16 PCI slots go through the Hydra chip as a bridge similar to an NF200 chip.

Any suggestions or anyone have success with this configuration?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
I'd like to report success with slipatch and a big bang fuzion, but in the strangest way.

I have an identical setup to this one with two 1gb gtx 460's and have been trying unsuccessfully to get slipatch to work with it since i got it a couple months ago...

I had no success with the 1.0 version until I uninstalled it.
Once I uninstalled slipatch 1.0, I was able to enable SLI. I disabled hydralogix from its control panel, enabled sli from nvidia, and it's working!

No crashes yet, but I've "only" played for 30 minutes with SLI on. edit2: bsod's
This computer was actually running for a few days since I uninstalled slipatch with no problems, I just hadn't checked nvidia control panel after i uninstalled it.
I just rebooted and sli is still available so it seems permanent. The slipatch entry is gone from the boot manager, so that part got removed i guess...

I guess this may be considered a bug report, since apparently the uninstall script isn't firing off right or something... but it worked out well for me :cool:

I'm running win7 x64, 260.99 drivers

edit: just ran everest and under acpi dsdt/nvidia sli I see
"443817712091Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for MSI P55 GD80 0101-Copyright 2009 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-876112936219(R)"

edit #2
I spoke too soon, just got a blue screen of death exiting counterstrike source
It was playing almost perfectly at 300fps, only crashed when I exited :)
you have sli capable system. what for the patch you need?
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Well, I just wanted to say Thanks to Atnatolymik for all the great work in doing the SLIPatch.

I am moving on, having pulled the dual GTX280 setup out of my sons Crosshair III Formula setup in lieu of a more AMD-friendly 4870x2 card (which I will probably crossfire with another in a year or so).

I have built my son an i7 rig with an x58 chipset which is SLI-capable already, so no more SLIPatch and games from nVidia for me.

I will say that I have really grown to despise nVidias marketing practices and have little faith in them doing the right thing with future drivers (including hamstringing older cards by now allowing newer driver innovations to be backwards compatible for the sole purpose of selling more new cards).

As it is I have the following, thus I will be stuck dealing with nVidia for a while, but I am really hoping AMD gets thier act together on thier cards and crossfire.

Hardware running in our house:

Server rig:
Mobo: Foxconn Destroyer (nVidia 780a)
Video: Built-in 780a video in Hybrid-SLI with dual 9800GTX cards (allows me to fully power off the 9800GTXs when not needed)
Proc: AMD Phenom 9950BE @ 3.0Ghz
Ram: 8gb DDR2 1066

My rig:
Mobo: Asus Rampage III Extreme
Video: Dual GTX480s SLI (oc'd past 580 levels)
Proc: Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4.2GHz
Ram: 12gb DDR3 1600

Sons new rig:
Mobo: eVGA x58 SLI LE
Video: Dual GTX280s SLI
Proc: Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz
Ram: 6gb DDR3 1600

Sons old rig (oldest daughters new rig):
Mobo: Asus Crosshair III Formula
Video: ATi 4870x2 2gb
Proc: AMD Phenom II x4 955 @ 3.8GHz
Ram: 8GB DDR3 1600

Other Daughters rig:
Mobo: eVGA nVidia 730a
Video: GTX260 TOP
Proc: AMD64 X2 5400+ @ 3.08GHz
Ram: 4gb DDR2 800

And another new rig for development:
Mobo: eVGA x58 FTW
Video: GTX275 OC
Proc: Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz
Ram: 12gb DDR3 1600

Backup setup for kids:
Mobo: BFG 590SLI
Video: 9800GT OC w/eVGA Akimbo cooler
Proc: AMD64 X2 5400+
Ram: 4gb DDR2 800

So, as you can see I stil have a ton of nVidia hardware... So driver updates are quite important to me and I hope that nVidia does the right thing and includes all optimizations and features for thier older cards as well...
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
i just tested Crysis Warhead (in windowed mode) in Windows XP with SLI enabled. works fine.
then i tested it in Windows Vista with sli enabled in windowed mode. freeze. looks like the driver problem.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
123 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
Orlando, FL
System Name Dark Knight
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Push/Pull
Memory DDR3-1600 G.Skill
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 460 HAWK Talon 1G + Asus DirectCU GTX 460 1G
Storage Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 120GB SSD
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
I always thought P55's came native with SLi support...
 

moofree

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Edit: Oh wow you're right, they didn't have it in the english changelog, but the most recent bios update from december apparently adds sli support according to the german msi site - "add function support SLI function."
Now I just have to figure out why it's crashing if it's not related to slipatch :wtf:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Edit: Oh wow you're right, they didn't have it in the english changelog, but the most recent bios update from december apparently adds sli support according to the german msi site - "add function support SLI function."
Now I just have to figure out why it's crashing if it's not related to slipatch :wtf:
can you try crysis in windowed mode with sli enabled?
 

moofree

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
can you try crysis in windowed mode with sli enabled?
Did it, and played fine in window mode for a while till i alt+enter'd and my system blue screened and restarted.

I don't think my problem is related to slipatch though, I uninstalled the hydra driver and I've been crash free so far... I can play and exit CSS and switch between window and fullscreen in crysis warhead now. Also I move around playing youtube firefox windows which bsod'd before as well.

Lucid Hydra probably doesn't play nice with sli even while disabled. It shows up as an "unknown device" now on the device manager. I'll reinstall it periodically to see how the drivers improve, but SLI is the better technology at the moment (and since I have matched cards...)

But yeah, thanks for your skepticism about my problem otherwise I wouldn't have hunted down that info from MSI Deutschland. (Maybe MSI didn't pay the licensing costs and is trying to keep it a secret! :laugh: )

If you want an infodump from my system, just let me know how... I could do a before and after p55 sli support comparison... could that be helpful? :confused:

Keep up the good work :)
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Did it, and played fine in window mode for a while till i alt+enter'd and my system blue screened and restarted.

I don't think my problem is related to slipatch though, I uninstalled the hydra driver and I've been crash free so far... I can play and exit CSS and switch between window and fullscreen in crysis warhead now. Also I move around playing youtube firefox windows which bsod'd before as well.

Lucid Hydra probably doesn't play nice with sli even while disabled. It shows up as an "unknown device" now on the device manager. I'll reinstall it periodically to see how the drivers improve, but SLI is the better technology at the moment (and since I have matched cards...)

But yeah, thanks for your skepticism about my problem otherwise I wouldn't have hunted down that info from MSI Deutschland. (Maybe MSI didn't pay the licensing costs and is trying to keep it a secret! :laugh: )

If you want an infodump from my system, just let me know how... I could do a before and after p55 sli support comparison... could that be helpful? :confused:

Keep up the good work :)
thanks. and by the way, nvidia enables sli on all p55 boards.
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
thanks. and by the way, nvidia enables sli on all p55 boards.
In other words, uninstall SLIPatch, make sure Hydra is uninstalled (ie, no video drivers at all), reinstall the cards from scratch together and you should have SLI available without SLIPatch.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
58 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
System Name Black-Raptor
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X UD4 B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory Corsair XMS3 8Gb
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 660Ti
Storage 500Gb Samsung, 80Gb Maxtor
Case Tt V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Tt Toughpower XT 750w
REPORTING:

I´m using SLI Patch v1.0 Build 20.14 with the Forceware 260.99 and finally im not experimenting any problem, being BSOD the only issue for me in older version of the patch.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND KEEP REPORTING.
 

belzebub

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name OhShitItDidntBlowYet
Processor Core i7-2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3 v1
Cooling Boxed! :)
Memory 16GB - 4x G Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL
Video Card(s) Gainward GF GTX570
2x 260-216 in SLI on Asus M4A79XTD Evo with SLIPatch 1.01 Build 216
and ForceWare 266.35.

Runs absolutly fine, no issues whatsoever. (never ever had any problems, even with older versions of both driver and SLI Patch)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
Asus Rampage Formula X48 with 2x 8800GTs, on WinXP 32, with 257.15 still tho,and patch 1.0 works flawless, thanks again Anatolymik! :rockout:
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Anyone using 265.90 drivers with the patch? My 2nd gtx285 is coming any day now, and I really like these drivers.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
@anatolymik in reply to a pm

I'm still waiting to get a 2nd 460 for my testing. Should work without issue. Whatcha think?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Don't worry anatolymik, I'll be testing under both xp64 and win7 x64 and give a report.
 

D4L70N

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
anatolymik, this is the photo you wanted to see? just put it on and quickly took it off this afternoon playing around to see if it crashes.

 
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello I first want to thank you for all the work done.
Now I would like to see that does not work the games and graphics tests in windowed mode.
I'm using an asus deluxe pq5 two sli nvidia 470 + SLIpacht1.0 Final + 260.99 drivers.
My problem is that if I run any 3D application window mode fridge pc and gives me the blue screen.
Thanks and best regards.

Pd:Sorry for my english:ohwell:
 

D4L70N

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
I've tried with 265.90 drivers, but I do not work, I get the time, the display driver has stopped working, and the screen goes black..