• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,848 (1.05/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet- System2 Blacknet 2
Processor Xeon 1680 v2- System2 Xeon 2699 v3
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe- System2 Asrock X99 Extreme4/3.1
Cooling Noctua D14- System2 Deepcool watercooling AIO
Memory 32 GBs DDR3 1866- System2 32GBS DDR4 2133 Highly tightened....
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti - System2 Sapphire RX 570
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB - System2 Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 860 Evo 500
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080 displays - System2 27" 1440 display
Case Antec 1200- System2 Some Deepcool case with full glass side panel... what were they thinking...
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt- System2 EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04, Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Have you tried the bridge on both the front and rear connectors? Have you tried flipping it around? Very odd!
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Location
Sweden Göteborg
System Name Gaming/HC
Processor Q8400 @ 3,2GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-PRO
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX 1066MHz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460
Display(s) 77" 1080p Projector
Case Antec Sonata
Audio Device(s) GTX460 HDMI
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750w
Have you tried the bridge on both the front and rear connectors? Have you tried flipping it around? Very odd!

Going to switch the cards and they only have one connector so I will flipp the bridge around!
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,753 (0.51/day)
Location
Minnesota
I couldn't get this working with the latest driver. Had to roll back to 266.58. When I enabled SLI, the cards were forced into low power clocks. Normal or just me?
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,848 (1.05/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet- System2 Blacknet 2
Processor Xeon 1680 v2- System2 Xeon 2699 v3
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe- System2 Asrock X99 Extreme4/3.1
Cooling Noctua D14- System2 Deepcool watercooling AIO
Memory 32 GBs DDR3 1866- System2 32GBS DDR4 2133 Highly tightened....
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti - System2 Sapphire RX 570
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB - System2 Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 860 Evo 500
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080 displays - System2 27" 1440 display
Case Antec 1200- System2 Some Deepcool case with full glass side panel... what were they thinking...
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt- System2 EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04, Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Yeah, the dropping into low power 3d mode during games thing. I get that with my cards. I use rivatuner to force performance level to 3d high. Definitely a pain....
 

slicrckuser

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
My experience with 1.42 beta. At first when i installed it over 1.2 it didnt work lots of flickering with the 270 drivers.

I have a msi 890fxa gd70 with 2 evga 470 cards phenom x4 3.2ghz black edition

What I did to fix this was, removed one card from the system, uninstalled slipatch, uninstalled drivers, used driver sweeper to remove remnants of drivers.

I aslo for the hell of it applied some alcohol to the sli tabs on the card and the sli strip being that it was a little dusty and dirty.

I restarted the cpu installed the sli hack first, the cpu did install drivers that i had on the cpu it was an older version dont remember which one, I then restarted the cpu and installed driver version 266.58 tested it and it worked. I made my way up the driver list until i reached 270.61 and it also worked as well.

games tested--crysis 2,dead space 2,mafia II demo, call of duty blops, portal 2, shift 2 just to name a few...they seem to be working with no crashes but i also didn't test them extensively.

hope this helps someone--but uninstalling the sli patch and removing 1 card i think is key. And maybe cleaning off the leads with alcohol
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
My experience with 1.42 beta. At first when i installed it over 1.2 it didnt work lots of flickering with the 270 drivers.

I have a msi 890fxa gd70 with 2 evga 470 cards phenom x4 3.2ghz black edition

What I did to fix this was, removed one card from the system, uninstalled slipatch, uninstalled drivers, used driver sweeper to remove remnants of drivers.

I aslo for the hell of it applied some alcohol to the sli tabs on the card and the sli strip being that it was a little dusty and dirty.

I restarted the cpu installed the sli hack first, the cpu did install drivers that i had on the cpu it was an older version dont remember which one, I then restarted the cpu and installed driver version 266.58 tested it and it worked. I made my way up the driver list until i reached 270.61 and it also worked as well.

games tested--crysis 2,dead space 2,mafia II demo, call of duty blops, portal 2, shift 2 just to name a few...they seem to be working with no crashes but i also didn't test them extensively.

hope this helps someone--but uninstalling the sli patch and removing 1 card i think is key. And maybe cleaning off the leads with alcohol

We establish this awhile back. > http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2264437#post2264437

What SLI hack drivers did you use when you reinstall the hack?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Location
Sweden Göteborg
System Name Gaming/HC
Processor Q8400 @ 3,2GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-PRO
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX 1066MHz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460
Display(s) 77" 1080p Projector
Case Antec Sonata
Audio Device(s) GTX460 HDMI
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750w
Have you tried the bridge on both the front and rear connectors? Have you tried flipping it around? Very odd!

Uninstalled sli patch and drivers switched the cards installed them one at a time.
Controlpanel still don't find my bridge.
Maybe I should reinstall OS? Can cracked OS affect the SLI patch or SLI in general?

I have one Evga GTX460 EE and one Evga GTX460 SC EE but that should not matter.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
slicrckuser it worked, I've installed 260.61 drivers.

I tried Heaven Benchmark 2.5, it use to flicker like crazy before! GPU-Z still show openCL disable.. but I found out its a bug in GPU-Z. GPU Caps Viewer shows OpenCL enable;

 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Thats correct being that old cracks is probably what caused this problem.

Yep working fine. And here I was blaming the 270 drivers! The tedious thing about it is after uninstalling the SLI hack you have to uninstall one of the graphics card reboot and reinstall to get the SLI hacks completely erased and then apply the 1.42 beta by itself.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
341 (0.08/day)
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case NOX Hummer TG RGB
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
I was having some flickering issues with some games so i decided to uninstall everything and start over.
But now after i activated SLI in nvidia control panel im getting random freezes for a few seconds and then i get a message saying that the driver stopped responding.

What could be wrong?

Edit: Just figured out, i installed 270.61 right away and for some reason couldn't activate sli. So i firstly installed 267.24 than i installed 270.61 and could activate sli. Its working great, no flickering :D
 
Last edited:

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
Hi

I don't know if I should ask here or create a new topic, but I think it is better here.

I have installed the SLIpatch and it works (ok in nvidia control panel and tested with FurMark and Crysis 2) but I have problems with 3D vision, as soon as I active the 3D the pc hangs (black screen) and I have to push the reset button.

I find that problem with the 270.61 drivers, 1.45 3D vision CD, (which corresponds to 266.58 forceware and 266.21 3d vision usb driver), and with 266.77 forceware + 266.58 (and later 266.21) 3d vision usb driver. Always without success. Removed OC too, but no luck.

The last combo, I have installed it when SLIpatch was active, for the others I have uninstalled the SLIpatch first and then reinstalled the drivers. I have used SLIpatch 1.42 with 270.61, 266.58 combo with SLIpatch 1.0, 270.61 with 1.0 too, and 1.2. And 266.77 with 1.0.

I have ALWAYS uninstalled drivers, then booted is safe mode, ran Driver Sweeper 3 and Driver Cleaner NET 3.4.6 reboot in normal mode and installed new drivers.

The "funny" thing is that I bought the second GTX285 to improve frame rates in 3D vision in some games, but now it is useless. I mean, I don't want SLI if I have to loss 3D vision.

I know of some people that have managed to have SLIpatch and 3D vision working (even 3D vision surround). Like Francko79 (with which SLIPatch version?) in this forum (maybe others?).

Please, could someone tell me which drivers (forceware AND 3d vision usb driver) is using, which SLIpatch version is using, and how has installed them (order, etc)? Any other help is also very welcomed.

I have added my system to my profile but it does not show. So here it is:

Q6600 at 3.6Ghz + OCZ Vendetta 2 cooler
Maximus 2 Formula
8Gb (4x2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
2 x eVGA GTX285 1Gb FTW
Silverstone ST1500 PSU
Samsung 2233RZ LCD
3D Vision glasses



Thanks for any help!
 
Last edited:

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
I have just tested another time with the 1.42 SLIPatch and 270.61, I have discovered that it works (3d vision + SLI) with 3D Vision discover, but not with the IR emitter/shutter glasses! So it seems a problem with that.

Don't know if that could help... I wonder which cards has the people for which it works... Could be a problem only for the GTX2nn series?
 

lokhup

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Hi Darkbluesky,

I have same problem but can enable sli and 3d Vision when the game is dx10. While dx9 games hang and I need to do a hard reset.

You have same motherboard as me, I am using 2x 260 216.
 

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
Tx for the answer. I really hope that there is a solution (or maybe a new revision of the patch? ), because there are a lot of dx9 games still out there. Personally, I play much more dx9 games than dx10 (I only have 1 dx10, I think)...

After all the 257.21 combo works with sli enabled! only that the glasses are out of sync (so, useless combo) and you don't have the needed game profiles for recent games. Maybe that info could help if eventually someone want to revise the patch.

I can't be sure but I hope it is not the mobo. Could someone shed some light please? I don't know what more to test/do...:confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory 4 x 2GB DDR3 1600 CL8 Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme + Leadtek GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme
Storage OCZ Vertrex 3 + WD Green 1.5TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2410T + Nvidia 3D Vision kit
Case Aplus El Diablo modded
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Inspire T7900 speakers
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W
Software Win7 SP1 64bit Ultimate
I get some similar symptoms with 3d vision glasses enabled and running on latest 270.61 drivers in combination with 1.42 SLIPatch. The glasses tend to get outta sync. Basically this is what happens: the game starts and it runs fine in 3d vision mode, however after a couple of minutes I'm starting to see the image doubled as if I hadn't put the glasses on. The only way i can remedy such fact is by deactivating and re-enabling the 3d vision controller by pushing the green led off and back on. This only lasts again for a couple of minutes whereas I gotta re-apply the same procedure over and over. I can't tell you how annoying it gets. I haven't found any solution yet and I can't tell for sure whether it's the SLIPatch or something else. Everything went well with 266.58 drivers. My bets are on the nvidia guys, who embedded something into those drivers. Any solutions/feedback is much appreciated.
 

razaice

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Processor AMD Phenom II 955 3.8 ghz
Motherboard M4A78T-E
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 8 gb 1600 mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 460 SLI
Storage 120 gb Intel 320, 1 tb Caviar Black
Display(s) 27" Samsung
Case Coolermaster HAF 922
Power Supply Corsair 650tx v2
Comodo antivirus is driving me crazy by being overly cautious about everything i do on my comp. What other antivirus's are good and also are compatible with the slipatch?
 

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
sprach, how did you installed the slipatch drivers? Could you describe the procedure? Try to connect the emitter to a mobo usb port, not a hub or even a card of front panel plugged to the mobo through a cable; try it just directly to the mobo usb ports in the back, that solved the problem for me with the 270.61 (when I had only 1 card, and did not know anything about slipatch -happy times, sigh!-). Unhappily it does not help me for the 257.21

Razaice, I use norton internet security, never had problems. Maybe others do, though. (I assume my current problems do not come from NIS; I always disable all anti-virus checks from NIS before messing with drivers, etc).


Does someone that uses 2 x GTX285 and 3D Vision confirm if it works for him, please? Could you post your BIOS version (I have 2302)?. Any other advice also welcomed.

Anatolymik, please, do you have some advice, hope, maybe?
 
Last edited:

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory 4 x 2GB DDR3 1600 CL8 Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme + Leadtek GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme
Storage OCZ Vertrex 3 + WD Green 1.5TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2410T + Nvidia 3D Vision kit
Case Aplus El Diablo modded
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Inspire T7900 speakers
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W
Software Win7 SP1 64bit Ultimate
Darkbluesky, thanks for your input. Well, the SLIPatch was installed with administrator privileges and UAC disabled on beforehand. Afterwards, i proceeded with the 270.61 drivers and the required reboots and activation of 3d vision. The IR emitter is connected at the back of the case, so it should be provided with enough power, i guess.
 

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
Did you uninstall the previous drivers in safe mode + driver sweeper/Driver cleaner net and installed the new ones in normal mode? BTW, it is not matter of power received, is it a problem of timing. An nvidia developer told me in nvidia forums that it is even better to plug it in the back of the mobo in a plug that has its "neighbour usb plug" unused. You can test that too. And also check that you don't have plugged in any usb port a not-powered usb hub with several devices plugged into it. That could "ballast" your whole usb system, as it did for me (I could not even boot sometimes because of that, and the devices plugged in the hub were not so "hungry" as you could think). The sync of the 3D vision emitter is relatively "delicate" and dependent of the usb system/controller load you have.


After all you seem luckier than me, at least you can play (at least it not hangs) dx9 (I guess?) games with 3d vision and SLIpatch, and with the 270.61 drivers...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory 4 x 2GB DDR3 1600 CL8 Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme + Leadtek GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme
Storage OCZ Vertrex 3 + WD Green 1.5TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2410T + Nvidia 3D Vision kit
Case Aplus El Diablo modded
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Inspire T7900 speakers
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W
Software Win7 SP1 64bit Ultimate
Yes, I did uninstall all nvidia drivers in safe mode and did a driver cleaner run as well. I'll try the unused "neighbor USB plug" trick when i get home, although i only have the USB cable for the glasses plugged in, but they're not connected to the glasses so they theoretically shouldn't stretch the load on the USB ports and the system. Everything i have connected on USB are a mouse, a keyboard the 3D vision emitter and the charging cable for the glasses, since the PC is built for the sole purpose of gaming. My de-synchronization problems occurred only with the latest drivers 270.61. I can play anything irrespective whether it's DX 9, 10 or 11. Notwithstanding this, playing for 5 minutes in 3d mode causes de-sync.
 

Darkbluesky

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
System Name Olrik
Processor Q6600 3.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus 2 Formula
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2, 6 Noctua 120 for case
Memory 8Gb (4 x 2Gb) OCZ Reaper 1066
Video Card(s) 2x eVGA GTX285 1 GB FTW
Storage Hitachi 2Tb 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung 2233RZ + 3D Vision glasses
Case CoolerMaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500
Software Dual boot Win7 x64, Win7 x64
Well, for what you say likely it will not fix the problem, as you have only a cable plugged at the side, but you can try nevertheless. I know that several people (me included) has complained in nvidia forums because of this problem of sync with 270.61. Some people has used a workaround which consist in playing at 100 Hz instead of 120 Hz. When I have tried that it has only minimized the lose of sync, not solved it. Anyway you can try it, too (or even other frequencies as 110).

On the other hand, and if I understood well, did you install SLIPatch first and then the drivers. Did you reboot after applying the SLIPatch and then installed them or you installed drivers just after SLIPatch, thus before rebooting? If you installed them after rebooting, did you installed them in SLI enabled boot or the normal boot? And, when you did install the SLIPatch, I guess you had already some nvidia drivers version installed or not? If so, which version did you have?
 
Top