• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Newest driver is a no go with sli for me.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Damn it. I have my p45 platform and 2xgtx460 dead. I can't debug and test without it. I have to buy new... When i got it i'll get to work
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Damn it. I have my p45 platform and 2xgtx460 dead. I can't debug and test without it. I have to buy new... When i got it i'll get to work
:eek: :twitch: :(

How the hell that happened?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Sorry man:(... it's weird indeed, cards and board at the same time... maybe a voltage spike??

If you need anything count me in ;)
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Sure, going to test Win XP 32bit now.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Same thing in XP 32, only flickering.
I can enable Sli and the frame rate seems to be normal.
 

RoMeO

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Smoked Bacon 101
Processor Q9650 @ 4.01ghz
Motherboard x48 P5E3 Asus Premium WiFi@n
Cooling H50, IC Diamond Paste
Memory 4GB DDR3 1420mhz 7-7-7-26
Video Card(s) 2-way SLi GTX480 (1x Asus & 1x KFA2 Anarchy)
Storage 1x Crucial M4, 2x Crucial M225 SSD
Display(s) Acer 3d 120mhz
Case NZXT Phantom Modded
Audio Device(s) X-Fi 5.1 USB External
Power Supply 900w Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 Score P9501 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1674493;jsessionid=1pedxe1jxbccv?show_ads=true&page=
God damn nvidia

Why can't nvidia just not charge mobo manfucaturers ATi would surely follow.

Personally I think there isn't enough competition in the market with 2 major graphics card manufacturers and if there was this wouldnt ever be an issue.

Anyways back to the real issue the SLi no longer works with the new drivers until an update for the patch is released.

Keep up the good work all. :respect:
 

L_BonoBo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Pressing Alt tab in BFBC2 causing BSOD code 116!

First of all, thank you for the great job with SLI patch!

But... I have a problem. When I'm pressing alt-tab combo during Battlefield Bad Company 2, it will cause systematic and repeatable BSOD for my computer (code 116). Otherwise I can play BFBC2 as long as I want.

I have done excessive stability tests with memtest, prime small, large(over 12h+) and blend tests(over 24h+) and system seems to be stable. Also it passes 3Dmark11 and Unigine DX11 tests without problems.

My rig is:
Windows 7 professional 64-bit
Slipatch 1.5 Beta
Nvidia Drivers 270.61
P5Q Deluxe
Q9300
OCZ2P10002G platinum
2xGTX460
PSU: Corsair HX-750


Has anyone experienced similar problems? Any hints how to prevent alt-tabbing BSOD?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
probably best to just not alt-tab, or run in windowed. some things just don't like it.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
anatolymik, if you want me to beta test, this would be the best time! I have an i7 system coming soon, so right now I can play with my 775 system! Send me any beta patches, I will try them.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Thank you very much anatolymik for this great, great patch.

I'm using it for a couple of months now with

2x Geforce GTX460 1GB (MSI Cyclone)
Asus Crosshair IV Formula
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T

I can confirm that it even works with the new Beta Driver from Nvidia (Nvidia GeForce Beta 280.19). To get rid of the flickering, you have to simply push "ALT
+ENTER" several times, until the image is stable. I have tried this with Crysis. For Unreal Tournament III it is even easier, when you change the resolution ingame you have to restart the game and then there is no flickering.

Thanks again, I hope you can use this tricks until a new version of the patch is released.

Here is the system I use with this patch
http://www.sysprofile.de/id153646
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
Thank you very much anatolymik for this great, great patch.

I'm using it for a couple of months now with

2x Geforce GTX460 1GB (MSI Cyclone)
Asus Crosshair IV Formula
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T

I can confirm that it even works with the new Beta Driver from Nvidia (Nvidia GeForce Beta 280.19). To get rid of the flickering, you have to simply push "ALT
+ENTER" several times, until the image is stable. I have tried this with Crysis. For Unreal Tournament III it is even easier, when you change the resolution ingame you have to restart the game and then there is no flickering.

Thanks again, I hope you can use this tricks until a new version of the patch is released.

Here is the system I use with this patch
http://www.sysprofile.de/id153646
This does not work for BFBC2 in my case. Back to the old drivers.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
I bought a second card today and found what NV did this time. I have been waiting for this solution against the patch for a 1,5 years since HALMod. I couldn't and can't understand why they did it so long. The matter is they did direct i/o access to hardware, what i can't hook. This approach of detecting non-sli systems is really problem for me, but there is a workaround and needs time. I got to work already. Also i'm sure the slipatch's age is ending up. I just want to know, who really needs the patch yet? Please answer for this post.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
58 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
System Name Black-Raptor
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X UD4 B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory Corsair XMS3 8Gb
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 660Ti
Storage 500Gb Samsung, 80Gb Maxtor
Case Tt V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Tt Toughpower XT 750w
I bought a second card today and found what NV did this time. I have been waiting for this solution against the patch for a 1,5 years since HALMod. I couldn't and can't understand why they did it so long. The matter is they did direct i/o access to hardware, what i can't hook. This approach of detecting non-sli systems is really problem for me, but there is a workaround and needs time. I got to work already. Also i'm sure the slipatch's age is ending up. I just want to know, who really needs the patch yet? Please answer for this post.
Hi anatolymik, The SLI Patch for me represent freedom, there is alot of people that aren´t thinking in a change of platform, (i´m one of them), this thread still live because of that, we apreciate your hard work and cooperation with all of us, so we salute you and wish that you continue with this project.

Best regards; Juan Chacin, Venezuela.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Hi anatolymik, The SLI Patch for me represent freedom, there is alot of people that aren´t thinking in a change of platform, (i´m one of them), this thread still live because of that, we apreciate your hard work and cooperation with all of us, so we salute you and wish that you continue with this project.

Best regards; Juan Chacin, Venezuela.
Couldn't say better, and we all know that anatolymik always delivered, no one will judge him if Nvidia win this round... well, i really hope not...
 

Micma99

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Lame
Processor Intel e8400 3.0 ghz OC @ 4.0 ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory Corsair 2x2gb dual channel 1066 mhz 5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) 2x nVidia GTX 280
Storage 2x WD 74gb raptors Raid0, 1x seagate 1tb
Display(s) NEC MultiSynch LCD2690wuxi
Case Thermaltake Armor A60
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster x-fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Thermaltake w0033ru 1200 watts
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits
I bought a second card today and found what NV did this time. I have been waiting for this solution against the patch for a 1,5 years since HALMod. I couldn't and can't understand why they did it so long. The matter is they did direct i/o access to hardware, what i can't hook. This approach of detecting non-sli systems is really problem for me, but there is a workaround and needs time. I got to work already. Also i'm sure the slipatch's age is ending up. I just want to know, who really needs the patch yet? Please answer for this post.
Thanks Anatolymik fot this wonderful patch. Been using it for awhile on my P5Q Pro Turbo.

Although it works fine with current whql 275.33 I need to run the newer beta driver for Battlefield 3 alpha.

A new Z68 board is planned for the near future, in the meantime I hope you get this resolved.

Thanks again!
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
I'm pretty sure there are lots of people using slipatch still. I know I'm still using it! I know I'll be going i7 finally in a couple of weeks, but it will be nice to know I can still use sli on my 775 system.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory 4 x 2GB DDR3 1600 CL8 Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme + Leadtek GTX 470 w Accelero Extreme
Storage OCZ Vertrex 3 + WD Green 1.5TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2410T + Nvidia 3D Vision kit
Case Aplus El Diablo modded
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Inspire T7900 speakers
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W
Software Win7 SP1 64bit Ultimate
I'll be using sli patch on my amd 790fx chipset at least until the x79 platform shows up. I won't be upgrading to the new sli amd motherboards which don't seem to bring much improvement to performance since there are no bulldozer chips on the market yet.
 

Justmeez

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi are there any other links for the 1.4 and 1.5 patches? I keep getting 404 error from the xdev links.:cry:

*Edit* If possible can someone put the 1.4 and 1.5 beta patch on a fileshare site and post a link? (If possible) Would greatly appreciate it!*
 
Last edited: