• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Yes it does, but you will need the mod as well, found here: http://anatolymik.itzod.ru/ Upgrade to the newest driver, apply the appropriate patch, and reboot.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
201 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel C2Q Xeon X3380 @ 4.275ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-USB3.0
Cooling Corsair H100 with 4x120x120 fans
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300
Video Card(s) Gainward 2xGTX660ti 3GB OC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / WD SATAII 1TB / Seagate Barracuda SATAII 320GB / Maxtor SATAI 120GB
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Mobo's built-in chip
Power Supply CORSAIR HX620W MODULAR
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
Thanks for the reply. So I downloaded the package, how do I apply it? I install drivers and sli patch and then what do I do with the modded driver pack? Do I just extract all files in desktop and double click the "Install" file in the folder?

I installed the drivers, pressed install in the modded package folder and a command prompt window quickly opened and closed. I installed SLI Patch,rebooted.

When I play games in SLI, my system crashes after a few minutes :( It does not crash if I play with just one card. It doesn't crash even if I put it 8 hours in prime 95 and kombustor running at the same time with just 1 card, but crashes with SLI so I don't think it's a matter of the CPU :( Please help me fix it!

I have the cards at stock speeds and it's weird. I had the same problem with previous drivers 275.33 or smthing as well(i had not installed any modded package with those just the normal drivers and sli patch). The weird thing is that SLI has worked fine on my system for quite some time and suddendly I don't know what cause it being broken. Please help!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
When you run the install.cmd file, you should right click on it first, and select "run as administrator". That should do it, then reboot.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
201 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel C2Q Xeon X3380 @ 4.275ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-USB3.0
Cooling Corsair H100 with 4x120x120 fans
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300
Video Card(s) Gainward 2xGTX660ti 3GB OC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / WD SATAII 1TB / Seagate Barracuda SATAII 320GB / Maxtor SATAI 120GB
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Mobo's built-in chip
Power Supply CORSAIR HX620W MODULAR
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
So I was getting those crashes cause I miss that package? Was there a modded package also for the 275.33 drivers? Am I that stupid that I didn't know and suffered so many crasheS? :)

I did as you said with right click and run as admin, it did more or less the same as when I just double clicked on it. Quickly shows a command prompt window and some stuff and then closes it on its own. Is this normal?
 

Thiesi

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Tübingen, Germany
Well, nobody "needs" the slipatch, people without a sli mobo usually have old cards as well and dont benefit that much from a new driver anyway.
I beg to differ. I have two GTX 580 cards in my HP Z400 workstation which I basically only bought because I was under the impression it would support SLI since it is X58-based and HP are selling it in SLI configuration themselves. However, what I did not know was that there is a special SLI supported with Quadro cards only, and this is what the Z400 actually supports.

To be honest - apart from the lack of (non-Quadro) SLI support I really love this machine, & I would rather not replace it with something else. I don't know how many other people are in the same boat, but I guess I'm not the only one.

Bye, K&K,
T-Zee
 

Thiesi

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Tübingen, Germany
I bought second 460 only because of the patch. I have to wonder Nvidia's attitude: basically they are trying to block out potential customers for buying second card to their old rigs, which would be impossible without the patch! Maybe it's time to think about AMD...
The thing is that as long as NVIDIA charges their customers for SLI licenses, they have to make sure it can't be used on non-licensed boards. I mean, if I were for instance ASUS & paid said four bucks for every SLI board I sell, I would probably be pretty pissed if I found out that SLI basically runs on any hardware and NVIDIA doesn't do anything against it.

Bye, K&K,
T-Zee
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
The thing is that as long as NVIDIA charges their customers for SLI licenses, they have to make sure it can't be used on non-licensed boards. I mean, if I were for instance ASUS & paid said four bucks for every SLI board I sell, I would probably pretty pissed if I found out that SLI basically runs on any hardware and NVIDIA doesn't do anything against it.

Bye, K&K,
T-Zee
so you didnt get sli works?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
I wonder if your patch would work on an m5a97 Evo.... hmmm
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
201 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel C2Q Xeon X3380 @ 4.275ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-USB3.0
Cooling Corsair H100 with 4x120x120 fans
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300
Video Card(s) Gainward 2xGTX660ti 3GB OC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / WD SATAII 1TB / Seagate Barracuda SATAII 320GB / Maxtor SATAI 120GB
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Mobo's built-in chip
Power Supply CORSAIR HX620W MODULAR
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
Anatolymik can you give me your opinion on the crashes i've been experiencing? Now I applied the modded drivers and trying, hasn't crashed yet but could it be the lack of mod with 275.33 that cause me so many crashes with SLI?
 

Thiesi

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Tübingen, Germany
so you didnt get sli works?
No, no - it works fine on my system, even though I'm still running 275.50. I had lots of crashes with 275.33 which is why I am a bit reluctant to updating my drivers without need.

But SLI has been working ever since you added that server board magic several months back. Thanks a lot! Without you, I would have sunk a shitload of money for an otherwise useless second graphics card!

Bye, K&K,
T-Zee
 
Last edited:

Thiesi

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Tübingen, Germany
Anatolymik can you give me your opinion on the crashes i've been experiencing? Now I applied the modded drivers and trying, hasn't crashed yet but could it be the lack of mod with 275.33 that cause me so many crashes with SLI?
Lots of people (including myself) were having lots of issues with the 275.33 drivers. I, for instance, couldn't run Mass Effect 2 for more than a couple of seconds anymore. Updating to 275.50 fixed all issues for me.

Bye, K&K,
T-Zee
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
So I was getting those crashes cause I miss that package? Was there a modded package also for the 275.33 drivers? Am I that stupid that I didn't know and suffered so many crasheS?

I did as you said with right click and run as admin, it did more or less the same as when I just double clicked on it. Quickly shows a command prompt window and some stuff and then closes it on its own. Is this normal?

No, drivers before the 280s did not require a mod. And yes that is the normal behavior when you run install.cmd, it's very quick. Not sure why you were having so many crashes with the older drivers, a tip, I've found out that you can't oc your cards as high in sli as you can in single card mode.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
201 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel C2Q Xeon X3380 @ 4.275ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-USB3.0
Cooling Corsair H100 with 4x120x120 fans
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300
Video Card(s) Gainward 2xGTX660ti 3GB OC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / WD SATAII 1TB / Seagate Barracuda SATAII 320GB / Maxtor SATAI 120GB
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Mobo's built-in chip
Power Supply CORSAIR HX620W MODULAR
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
Thanks for reply, I was getting crashes with cards at stock not oc...now it seems like it doesn't crash...let's hope it's fixed now!!smone said 275.33 drivers were problematic for many people.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Lots of people (including myself) were having lots of issues with the 275.33 drivers. I, for instance, couldn't run Mass Effect 2 for more than a couple of seconds anymore. Updating to 275.50 fixed all issues for me.

Bye, K&K,
T-Zee
It might be the game that changes to window mode then goes back to full screen.
Sometimes i get BSOD with some games that do that, for example like lost planet 2.
Can´t run SLI. I'll get a BSOD because the game auto switches to window mode before going into full screen.

Thats a SLI problem not patch's
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
201 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel C2Q Xeon X3380 @ 4.275ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-USB3.0
Cooling Corsair H100 with 4x120x120 fans
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300
Video Card(s) Gainward 2xGTX660ti 3GB OC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / WD SATAII 1TB / Seagate Barracuda SATAII 320GB / Maxtor SATAI 120GB
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Mobo's built-in chip
Power Supply CORSAIR HX620W MODULAR
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
No luck. I still get crashes with SLI. I removed all overclock from the system just to make sure it's not CPU or memory overclock. Hit Kombustor on GPUS in SLI (stock speeds) after 10-15 minutes system freezes....

I got the latest drivers from nvidia website, applied 1.5b sli patch and modded pack for windows 7 64bit.

Is there anyone with same mobo/gpus as me here?

Can anyone help me solve this problem? System in system specs :( Please help

I'll try reverting back to the 266.58 to see if the problem persists
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 14, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
No luck. I still get crashes with SLI. I removed all overclock from the system just to make sure it's not CPU or memory overclock. Hit Kombustor on GPUS in SLI (stock speeds) after 10-15 minutes system freezes....

I got the latest drivers from nvidia website, applied 1.5b sli patch and modded pack for windows 7 64bit.

Is there anyone with same mobo/gpus as me here?

Can anyone help me solve this problem? System in system specs :( Please help
Probably, low-power PSU for SLI?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
201 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel C2Q Xeon X3380 @ 4.275ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-USB3.0
Cooling Corsair H100 with 4x120x120 fans
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300
Video Card(s) Gainward 2xGTX660ti 3GB OC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / WD SATAII 1TB / Seagate Barracuda SATAII 320GB / Maxtor SATAI 120GB
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Mobo's built-in chip
Power Supply CORSAIR HX620W MODULAR
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
ive had sli working fine for about 8 months, when I chanegd drivers I think it started doing this!same psu

update: I've reverted to 266.58 drivers and have been running games and 3d benchmarks for about 2 hours now....no crash. I believe there is something wrong with the new drivers even when modded and my rig. Has been running non stop kombustor at SLI both cards at 99% no crash yet...ill leave it for some more. Any suggestions are welcome. Anatolymik maybe there is still room to fix the new drivers?
 
Last edited:

joedago

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Another Great Result!

Took a day of trial and error but finally got it.:rockout:
ASUS M4A78T-E 790GX AM3+
2 x GTX 560 TI
266.66 driver w/ 1.2 beta patch

Thanks MUCH!
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8600
Motherboard Gigabyte X48-DS5
Cooling Thermaltake CL-P0114 120mm Big Typhoon CPU Cooler
Memory 8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline (4 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Video Card(s) 2x Palit GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB (SLI, thanks anatolymik!!)
Case Cooler Master Elite 330 RC-330-KKN1-GP
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA700 700W
I felt the need to provide my input as well.
I installed the patch and mod without any issues and SLI is working!
Thanks anatolymik!

2x GeForce GTX 560 Ti on Gigabyte X48-DS5 motherboard
Win 7 x64
280.26 base driver
SLIPatch 1.5 beta w/ modded 280.26 driver

I can't wait to test your new patch/workaround. Any hints when it will be ready to release?

-DrMeltdown
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
I felt the need to provide my input as well.
I installed the patch and mod without any issues and SLI is working!
Thanks anatolymik!

2x GeForce GTX 560 Ti on Gigabyte X48-DS5 motherboard
Win 7 x64
280.26 base driver
SLIPatch 1.5 beta w/ modded 280.26 driver

I can't wait to test your new patch/workaround. Any hints when it will be ready to release?

-DrMeltdown
Yesterday was first stable start of x64 patch, but there is a lots of work before i can release first version. It takes one more week at most to finish x64. After it i need to do for x32 systems.
But this time i'll do two approaches. As i mentioned i have idea to workaround with different approach.

1) Software (works on any processors)
2) Hardware (works on processors that have virtualization technology)

Also there will be an option to select the option you prefer.

HyperSLI developer team:
Velvet Wafer, johnspack, RiC@RDOC, and me.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
Anatolymik is working hard, and sacrifices nights of sleep, to get this Patch to run and work as intended. He pumps out internal Updates and Bugfixes each day, without rest!
:respect::rockout::respect:

IF you want to help him with that, and also, IF want to donate something to his cause,it would be very great, if you could help him to get an AMD based rig, so he can implement this part of the Patch more easily! :toast:

He puts his Soul and his Blood into his work, and in my opinion, from what i have seen, he deserves the Support. What do you think?:)

(He never told me to post this here, or even asked for it... this was just my spontaneos Idea, and im fully responsible for it!);)
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
201 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel C2Q Xeon X3380 @ 4.275ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-USB3.0
Cooling Corsair H100 with 4x120x120 fans
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2300
Video Card(s) Gainward 2xGTX660ti 3GB OC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 SSD / WD SATAII 1TB / Seagate Barracuda SATAII 320GB / Maxtor SATAI 120GB
Display(s) Dell 27"
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Mobo's built-in chip
Power Supply CORSAIR HX620W MODULAR
Software Windows 8 Pro X64
What is HyperSLI? excuse the dumb question. Is it the 3-way SLI?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
HyperSLI is the next evolution of the sli patch. No more modded drivers ect. It uses hypervisor virtualization to do it's job, and it works quite well!
And I can verify what Velvet is saying, I've seen Anatolymik actually stay up all night with no sleep working on this!