• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
I did change ASUS for DFI certs since last time, does it matter?
I will load ASUS cert again, just to make sure, and reinstall drivers.
BRB
My patch works. Ok. Now i'm thinking about make it better. It's done badly anyway. About cert, you should to put cert of your manufacturer.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
My patch works. Ok. Now i'm thinking about make it better. It's done badly anyway. About cert, you should to put cert of your manufacturer.
SLI didn't enable. Used both ASUS and DFI certs.

Note: Everest still read Chipset as AMD 790.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Sorry, I have no 64bit modded driver yet.

I sent a modified 64-bit driver to TiN last night that will work for you.
Seems some confusion here :)
I have 32bit nvlddmkm for V/W7 for 190.62 only, no 64bit :)

btw



I think we deserve it :D
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,382 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,294
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64

sordido

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hey guys... great work here :)

Im a bit confused about the thing I should be doing...

ATTENTION!!! ALL STEPS DO STRONGLY SUBSEQUENT:

1. Download of course (http://rapidshare.com/files/280870551/patch.rar.html)
2. Unpack in separate folder

3. run prepare.cmd

and last you should overwrite original hal.dll (windows\system32\), but you can't see when you are in win7. you should boot to another OS and there you may overwrite file. But you should get owner of hal.dll (windows\system32) and after this get rights to read/write and so on. also make backup file if something goes wrong.

P.S. I will go crazy if i patch some hal.dll from vista and so on. to tell the truth i thought i couldn't patch. certificate. damn it.
This are all the steps for activate SLI in win 7 64 bits??... or there are more steps to follow :confused:

Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Sorry people, founded driver :)
Just forgot to copy it from download page to work dir , so thought that I haven't.

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/nvlddmkm-64bit_rev_2.rar

It's patched driver Windows 7/Vista 64bit for Forceware 190.62

You need to have ASUS valid SLIC in DSDT.

or you can try HAL-variant of mod by anatolymik. (It needs DSDT valid SLIC, and pathed HAL only, no modded driver).

To clarify things:

There is TWO different methods for enabling SLI

1. Modded Forceware driver (to detect X58 chipset everywhere) + having valid X58 ASUS SLIC block in DSDT stored in registry. Version available for XP32,Vista32,Vista64,W7-32,W7-64 yet.
2. Modded HAL dll of operating system itself + same having valid X58 ASUS SLIC block in DSDT stored in registry. Though using this method you can install any current nonmodded forceware. Version available: XP32,Vista64,W7-64 yet.


You should select and use only ONE method, not both.
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7

sordido

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
To clarify things:

There is TWO different methods for enabling SLI

1. Modded Forceware driver (to detect X58 chipset everywhere) + having valid X58 ASUS SLIC block in DSDT stored in registry. Version available for XP32,Vista32,Vista64,W7-32,W7-64 yet.
2. Modded HAL dll of operating system itself + same having valid X58 ASUS SLIC block in DSDT stored in registry. Though using this method you can install any current nonmodded forceware. Version available: XP32,Vista64,W7-64 yet.


You should select and use only ONE method, not both.

thanks! so in my case I need to do the ASUS SLIC block thing, right?
I have a Gigabyte P45 mobo, should it work anyway?
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
thanks! so in my case I need to do the ASUS SLIC block thing, right?
I have a Gigabyte P45 mobo, should it work anyway?
With the correct driver mod that would probably be the easies way.

What OS?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
sordido

Yes, ASUS vendor is hardcoded now into modded forceware dll's for vista/W7, as in rev2 version of winxp dll.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Now I'm going to sleep _at night_, first time at this week, have to getup tomorrow 8 AM, not at 5 PM, as it was last days since SLI made working :D Sorry guys, have to do some work next days, but I will do my best to respond and support.

Will add instructions and step-2-step howto and english version guide (not google traslate, huh) tomorrow too, i think.
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Now I'm going to sleep _at night_, first time at this week, have to getup tomorrow 8 AM, not at 5 PM, as it was last days since SLI made working :D Sorry guys, have to do some work next days, but I will do my best to respond and support.

Will add instructions and step-2-step howto and english version guide (not google traslate, huh) tomorrow too, i think.
Have a good sleep & easy work tomorrow.
Leave us a link here to the howto's, thanks..
I'm out for awhile got to go get a hair cut.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Sorry guys for late report.

I couldn't get SLI enable, with Win7 x64 mod drivers.

In TEST MODE - drivers didn't load ( signature invalid )

"F8" Disable Driver Signature Enforcement - Drivers loaded ok, but no SLI ( ASUS cert/ original Hall, used ).

Note: DSDT memory address dump don't show SLI SLIC table.

EDIT Another ASUS certificate

987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS P6T7 WS SC 7332-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023
 
Last edited:

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Sorry guys for late report.

I couldn't get SLI enable, with Win7 x64 mod drivers.

In TEST MODE - drivers didn't load ( signature invalid )

"F8" Disable Driver Signature Enforcement - Drivers loaded ok, but no SLI ( ASUS cert/ original Hall, used ).

Note: DSDT memory address dump don't show SLI SLIC table.

EDIT Another ASUS certificate

987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS P6T7 WS SC 7332-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023
If the insert is done correctly it should look like this: Starting point to look for in black is were you look to place & ending point in black also.
In red is the insert. nvlddmkm-64bit_rev_2 is the driver that should be used.

Device (\_SB.PCI0.EXPL)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0C02"))
Name (_UID, 0x04)
Method (_CRS, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Name (BUF0, ResourceTemplate ()
{
Memory32Fixed (ReadWrite,
0xE0000000, // Address Base
0x10000000, // Address Length
)
})
Return (BUF0)

}
}
}

Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
{
Name (SLIC, Buffer (0x9E)
{
"987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS X58 Motherboard3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)"
})
Device (WMI1)
{
Name (_HID, "pnp0c14")
Name (_UID, "MXM2")
Name (_WDG, Buffer (0x14)
{
/* 0000 */ 0x3C, 0x5C, 0xCB, 0xF6, 0xAE, 0x9C, 0xBD, 0x4E,
/* 0008 */ 0xB5, 0x77, 0x93, 0x1E, 0xA3, 0x2A, 0x2C, 0xC0,
/* 0010 */ 0x4D, 0x58, 0x01, 0x02
})
Method (WMMX, 3, NotSerialized)
{
CreateDWordField (Arg2, 0x00, FUNC)
If (LEqual (FUNC, 0x41494C53))
{
Return (\_SB.PCI0.SLIC)
}

Return (0x00)
}
}
}


OperationRegion (TEMM, SystemMemory, 0x000FF810, 0x0C)
Field (TEMM, WordAcc, NoLock, Preserve)

Edit: If you need more help getting this going, go back to page #22 & read from post #545 onward were sveetsnelda & I talk about the setup & install.
Follow what he walked me threw should get you going.

Also, you need to disable user account control (UAC) in the security control panel (to use the Driver Signature Enforcement Overrider)
Once you've done all that, install the 190.62 drivers. After they are done installing, run a command prompt and copy the file I sent you (after unpacking it) to C:\windows\system32\drivers (overwrite the old driver)

Run the Driver Signature Enforcement Overrider
(http://www.ngohq.com/home.php?page=dseo)

Select "Sign a System File"
type in C:\windows\system32\drivers\nvlddmkm.sys

Reboot, and enable SLI.

:D

(Make sure you are using an ASUS SLIC)
Should there have been a old driver to overwrite?
Wasn't a nvlddmkm.sys in C:\windows\system32\drivers\ when I copied it there.
You also didn't say if I should enable test mode when I ran dseo13b.exe.
I did choose to enable test mode, so I hope that was correct?
Test mode would have already been enabled if you ran the bcdedit commands I posted (I posted a link to a page that shows you how to do it). Picking "test mode" in DSEO wont hurt though... It'll just do the same thing again.

There should have been an old driver to overwrite. It wont show up in Windows Explorer, but you'll see it in the command prompt.

Did you disable UAC? Did you sign the driver (with DSEO)?
I learned a lesson, DON'T take short cuts.
The short cut copy of the driver was the problem.
So you others take note.. lol

Screen shot to follow...
Say the driver is in the C:\ACPI folder do copy with CMD=Command Prompt as admin: copy C:\ACPI\nvlddmkm.sys C:\windows\system32\drivers\
Make sure UAC is disabled. The SLI SLIC table above in red is the universal table to use with the rev2 driver.

To make it more simplified you can place the: nvlddmkm.sys file in the root of C: then the command you run would look like this:

copy C:\nvlddmkm.sys C:\windows\system32\drivers\ <=You can type this in the cmd prompt or copy paste it if the path is the same.


Remember this needs to be done from a Command Prompt window ran as admin. <very important.
Click Start type in search: "cmd" right click it & run as admin <=W7 way..
It will ask to overwrite answer: Yes




Had nothing better to do so I thought I place it all in one post. If there is anything I missed please let me know so I may add to this post.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Thanks

I've been closely following this thread.;)

As you know, soundood from XS could not compile the dsdt table. I had same problem, I couldn't use the "traditional" method, so my option was HEX editing the *.DAT file generated by the command iasl -g. I incerted the SLIC certificate at the end of the file, and also at (\_SB) position, in both ways SLIC was incerted fine and R&W listed them at the same position.



ATM only a clean OS install can clear up a couple more variables, but since the beginning I had the "feeling" that DSDT (SLIC cert) as to be fully loaded from BIOS, that's why I went first into that route.
 
Last edited:

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
aGeoM did you get it?
anatolymik Is the modded hal.dll for 64bit suppose to show in CPU-Z X58 like it did in XP?
I got it installed but CPU-Z still shows my board as X38
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
anatolymik Is the modded hal.dll for 64bit suppose to show in CPU-Z X58 like it did in XP?
I got it installed but CPU-Z still shows my board as X38
are you sure you did everything correctly? if everything was right then it must work.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
anatolymik Is the modded hal.dll for 64bit suppose to show in CPU-Z X58 like it did in XP?
I got it installed but CPU-Z still shows my board as X38
It shows, you can see the SS from my test.