• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
load this table by using "asl /loadtable DSDT_AWRDACPI.dat"

http://depositfiles.com/files/svisrqatc

make sure it loaded and try modded drivers then post
Hi, didn't work. You have only changed SLI cert from DFI to ASUS. I had test this combination before with same results.

At this point I don't think the dsdt is the problem, but the chipset manufactor ID (AMD vs INTEL) i guess.:confused:

Thanks for try.:toast:
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Hi, didn't work. You have only changed SLI cert from DFI to ASUS. I had test this combination before with same results.

At this point I don't think the dsdt is the problem, but the chipset manufactor ID (AMD vs INTEL) i guess.:confused:

Thanks for try.:toast:
it's not working at all? i think i can do something to test. wait for a while please
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64

soundood

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
151 (0.05/day)
Likes
33
Location
Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
wow, so is this a garenteed way to enable SLI on AMD chipsets? or is it custom to your board?

if it is generic, can you please give me quote me the two files needed (that you used) for sli string and halmod (mod or manual insert)

again wow, and well done guys
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
wow, so is this a garenteed way to enable SLI on AMD chipsets? or is it custom to your board?

if it is generic, can you please give me quote me the two files needed (that you used) for sli string and halmod (mod or manual insert)

again wow, and well done guys
Well, if you have an ASUS SLI cert into you registry DSDT table and Win7 x64, you can use the same HALfrom last mod a see if it work for you.

http://depositfiles.com/files/c99sx9y17
 

soundood

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
151 (0.05/day)
Likes
33
Location
Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
yeah i got win 7 64 bit, and i already inserted the asus sli string, and used last halmod (not your version) it gave me x58 mobo in cpu-z, but bluescreened when i instaled unmodded drivers,

ok to give this a fair shot, im gona do a quik windows 7 instal, just so there is no toher garbage floating around that could mess it up,

see you in 45 mins
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
yeah i got win 7 64 bit, and i already inserted the asus sli string, and used last halmod (not your version) it gave me x58 mobo in cpu-z, but bluescreened when i instaled unmodded drivers,

ok to give this a fair shot, im gona do a quik windows 7 instal, just so there is no toher garbage floating around that could mess it up,

see you in 45 mins
Cya then, I have also to go for a couple hours. It should work for you too. I'm positive about it, but for sure... only when I see your 3DMark score :p


:rockout:
 

Schlingel

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
hello guys. so here is my small problem. tried already to insert the SLIC by myself. but when using asl on the .dsl an error occurs (soundood got the same - I read it in XS). you my have a look by yourself. umodded original files are attached.

MSI 790FX-GD70 with 2x 7900GS

using the slic-installer I always get "successfully inserted" (doesnt matter if MSI or ASUS) but when I get the "new" .dsl by using iasl -g still no SLIC in that file. I guess the programm also has the same error when using asl.

would be nice to find a way to put in the Asus-SLIC for later using the modded nv-driver 190.62. hal could be the step after that.

here are the files:

http://rapidshare.com/files/283198637/DSDT_MSI_790FX-GD70.rar.html

@€dit: I have a guess: anatolymik entered the SLIC directly in the .DAT? So thats why its now running?
 

soundood

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
151 (0.05/day)
Likes
33
Location
Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
hello guys. so here is my small problem. tried already to insert the SLIC by myself. but when using asl on the .dsl an error occurs (soundood got the same - I read it in XS). you my have a look by yourself. umodded original files are attached.

MSI 790FX-GD70 with 2x 7900GS

using the slic-installer I always get "successfully inserted" (doesnt matter if MSI or ASUS) but when I get the "new" .dsl by using iasl -g still no SLIC in that file. I guess the programm also has the same error when using asl.

would be nice to find a way to put in the Asus-SLIC for later using the modded nv-driver 190.62. hal could be the step after that.

here are the files:

http://rapidshare.com/files/283198637/DSDT_MSI_790FX-GD70.rar.html

@€dit: I have a guess: anatolymik entered the SLIC directly in the .DAT? So thats why its now running?
i think it is that, another person seemed to get it working like that, i had a look at the new dsl, and couldnt see the slic insert, but i assume it is.

also you wont be seeing me over at XS anymore, i just got banned :rolleyes: Vapor (admin) had his hitler hat on and banned a few of us, for pretty much nothing, i think Perkam got a ban too lol, that guy has over 5,000 posts there.

i will report back as to my result, when i image this drive, im getting bored doing Win 7 instals, it will be easier to just re-image it after every no-go
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
189 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
SLI on ATI boards, on the eve of the HD5800 launch,

the tin-foil hat brigade are going to love this...

:) ;) :laugh:
 

Schlingel

New Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
lol stange day over at XS.

I guess thats the problem. I have inserted the SLIC already on my P45 without problem and I could have SLi enabled. But this stupid error while using asl on the dsl-file.... grrr
 

yeba

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Thank You for this hack. I was about to sell my Asus X38 to buy an SLI board. Been reading all the forums and I just want to confirm if my approach is correct :

1. Reinstall Windows 7 64b from scratch ( i prefer a clean install). At this point my two 9600GTs are already installed when windows 7 is installed.
2. Dowload the 64 bit 190.62 driver software from nvidia. Unpack the software, copy the hacked SLI driver to :\nvidia\displaydriver\190.62\english.
3. Run the nvidia driver install with the modified driver.
4. Do the SLIC thing steps 1-4 http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30
5. Disable UAC. Reboot ( btw, what is that 'make modified driver file have certified for OS' step mentioned in step 5 in xdevs?)
6. Press F8 at boot up, go to Test Mode
7. DONE?

Am I missing anything?

Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Thank You for this hack. I was about to sell my Asus X38 to buy an SLI board. Been reading all the forums and I just want to confirm if my approach is correct :

1. Reinstall Windows 7 64b from scratch ( i prefer a clean install). At this point my two 9600GTs are already installed when windows 7 is installed.
2. Dowload the 64 bit 190.62 driver software from nvidia. Unpack the software, copy the hacked SLI driver to :\nvidia\displaydriver\190.62\english.
3. Run the nvidia driver install with the modified driver.
4. Do the SLIC thing steps 1-4 http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30
5. Disable UAC. Reboot ( btw, what is that 'make modified driver file have certified for OS' step mentioned in step 5 in xdevs?)
6. Press F8 at boot up, go to Test Mode
7. DONE?

Am I missing anything?

Thanks.
Hi

I just did a clean OS install, this was what I had to do:

Motherboard DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH (0820a)
Graphics 2 x ASUS 9800GT
OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64

1 - Install Win7 x64.
2 - Install System and 190.62 Win7 x64 (WHQL) drivers.
3 - Disable UAC.
4 - Restart.
5 - Run SLI string installer as Admin select ASUS certificate.

6 - Run LHALMod as Admin

http://depositfiles.com/files/c99sx9y17
try to install this HAL mod:

unpack and run install.cmd from windows explorer
7 - Copy moded nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) Win7 x64 to C:\windows\system32\drivers\

Sorry people, founded driver :)
Just forgot to copy it from download page to work dir , so thought that I haven't.

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/nvlddmkm-64bit_rev_2.rar

It's patched driver Windows 7/Vista 64bit for Forceware 190.62

You need to have ASUS valid SLIC in DSDT.

....
8 - Sign the nvlddmkm.sys with:

...

Run the Driver Signature Enforcement Overrider
(http://www.ngohq.com/home.php?page=dseo)

Select "Sign a System File"
type in C:\windows\system32\drivers\nvlddmkm.sys

Reboot, and enable SLI.

:D

(Make sure you are using an ASUS SLIC)


:toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
hello guys. so here is my small problem. tried already to insert the SLIC by myself. but when using asl on the .dsl an error occurs (soundood got the same - I read it in XS). you my have a look by yourself. umodded original files are attached.

MSI 790FX-GD70 with 2x 7900GS

using the slic-installer I always get "successfully inserted" (doesnt matter if MSI or ASUS) but when I get the "new" .dsl by using iasl -g still no SLIC in that file. I guess the programm also has the same error when using asl.

would be nice to find a way to put in the Asus-SLIC for later using the modded nv-driver 190.62. hal could be the step after that.

here are the files:

http://rapidshare.com/files/283198637/DSDT_MSI_790FX-GD70.rar.html

@€dit: I have a guess: anatolymik entered the SLIC directly in the .DAT? So thats why its now running?
you have some problems with your ACPI. the matter is if you decompile your dsdt, and compile even without SLI cert, you will not able to compile it. compiler show an error message. if you have a chance reinstall your os
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
I ran this and nothing happened....
I cert is added i already checked everything, it all looks good but nothing happens...
Hi friend. Let's find out your problem. Send me please your current dsdt.
to get it use "iasl -g" and send me files what was generated